Chevron Left
Retour à Exploration analytique de données

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Exploration analytique de données par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.7
étoiles
5,836 évaluations
845 avis

À propos du cours

This course covers the essential exploratory techniques for summarizing data. These techniques are typically applied before formal modeling commences and can help inform the development of more complex statistical models. Exploratory techniques are also important for eliminating or sharpening potential hypotheses about the world that can be addressed by the data. We will cover in detail the plotting systems in R as well as some of the basic principles of constructing data graphics. We will also cover some of the common multivariate statistical techniques used to visualize high-dimensional data....

Meilleurs avis

CC
28 juil. 2016

This is the second course I have taken from Roger Peng and both were outstanding. I have a strong math background, but not much of a background in stats, but this course was very approachable for me.

Y
23 sept. 2017

Very good course! It provide me the foundation in learning how to plot and interpret data. This will definitely strengthen my "R programming" to generate publication type figure for my genomics data!

Filtrer par :

576 - 600 sur 814 Avis pour Exploration analytique de données

par Yusuf S

19 mai 2016

great

par Souvik P

5 août 2020

good

par Pitak P

4 oct. 2019

Good

par Razib A K

18 déc. 2018

good

par Ganapathi N K

30 avr. 2018

Nice

par Jay B

15 août 2017

good

par Saurabh G

13 avr. 2017

nice

par Larry G

7 févr. 2017

Nice

par 刘治

17 juil. 2016

good

par Prakash M S G C

24 mai 2016

Good

par 朱荣荣

9 mars 2016

good

par 丁雪松

15 juin 2020

💯

par Amit K R

21 nov. 2017

ok

par Ganesh P

28 nov. 2017

V

par Wei W

11 sept. 2017

C

par Balinda S

11 déc. 2016

T

par Phillip K

20 mars 2018

Good stuff just as I have come to expect from this University and the courses that are part of this Signature Track.

A great deal of the lectures and work on assignments/quizzes/projects was learning and using the various plotting systems in R. Certainly this is important, but to put it into perspective, I spent four hours creating six plots for the final project, when I was able to use Tableau Desktop to create all six plots in under five minutes.

So formally learning the data exploration techniques was good, but expect much of this course to be about learning the R plotting systems.

That said, there is a point in this course (and the first time for all the courses to this point) where the topic suddenly got very, very technical. When clustering techniques were introduced it felt as if you were turned on your head as the focus suddenly went from various ways of plotting data in R to being neck deep in the explanation of clustering techniques that require a great degree of Linear Algebra knowledge.

Don't panic though. While there are questions in the guided assignments that are difficult, you don't really need to recall all of your Linear Algebra courses from college to pass this course. After all, R "has a package for that."

par Ruggero B

29 févr. 2016

My congratulations to all those people who worked to create this course although I have to pick up something I've found a bit annoying:

1- there were two video where the audio were nearly unintelligible

2- I would link the link proposed by the video to be possible to be clicked

3- Some exposition imperfection (even if they make these video more "real and human")

4- Since quiz are not so difficult to be evaluated automatically I found it a bit annoying to notice them locked by not-purchsing, even if I understand there have to be something which would make the customer to purchase.

I've found the swirl experience great although a bit annoying sometimes but I've no clue on how to possibly improve it so.

Keep up with this great work!

Bye

par Jamison C

4 juil. 2018

You'll learn some cool things like K-means clustering and creating dendrograms, as well as dimension-reduction techniques. The assignments are very easy if you have basic familiarity with R's base plotting system and the "ggplot2" package. I will say I'm very happy with this course in the overviews of R's major plotting systems (though no "ggvis" package), as well as working with color palettes. However, I wish there was more hands-on or peer-graded practice with K-means, heatmaps, dendrograms, and dimension reduction techniques like Singular Value Decomposition (SVD). If these are new to you (they were to me!), you'll certainly walk away from the course more knowledgeable.

par Miguel C

15 avr. 2020

Once again the teacher was really knowledgeable and engaging. The content was really helpful for my career. The part about clustering was challenging but still manageable. The pacing was good, not too slow (so not boring) but also not too fast (so still easy to understand). The case studies, especially the one about activity measured by smartphones, was one of the best parts of the course.

I didn't particularly enjoy some of the swirl practices. I found some of them to be very very similar (if not the same) as the examples in the lectures, so I only enjoyed the few where there was some new content.

Overall I really enjoyed the course and I would recommend it :)

par Julien N

13 juil. 2018

A good start for data analysis, this course covers the basics of plotting with the three most common packages (base R, lattice, and ggplot2).I liked the assignment which difficulty is nicely measured (it is not just applying the videos concept, you have to look around the web to find tools and documentation about what functions to use).On a less positive aspects:- I am not sure this course was the best place to introduce kmean and PCA sections...- a lot of content is outdated (wrong links, old R command parameters, ...), look likes a quick freshup update would not do harm given the number of people that keeps registering...

par Ricardo M

20 nov. 2017

It would be of the best interest to all that the content of the course be reviewed. Seeing references to data from 2012-2015 gives the idea that there's been no recent content review. Although not being the same as taking the full course at the university, this is still a paid training and a certain level of accuracy is expected.

Another note goes to the forums which should be cleansed or handled differently. It's not very helpful to check a forum to see that most of the threads are requiring reviews to the assignments, some from years back.

par Chuxing C

3 déc. 2015

I have taken the course earlier, so am somewhat familiar with the layout and the materials. Overall it is a very good course and covers a wide range of subject matters. Roger has done a very good job explaining the concepts. I certainly would recommend this course to all who's interested in the subject.

I realize that there's limitation on the time people suppose to spend each week, however, I would like to suggest adding homework, in addition to quizzes.

Several video clips have some audio issues, not sure if that's fixable.

par Joseph F

3 janv. 2021

I like the case study part which provides you an overview of the practical applications of the skills learned in this course. Learned to use the different types of plotting systems in R which got me to use my 'hacking' skills to experiment and I find it fun. The least I like about the course is the clustering part, mainly because the topic is too advanced for my current level. But I am interested to learn more about it in the future. The swirl lessons were also really helpful to strengthen my understanding of the concepts.

par Shreya S

16 avr. 2019

A great course to begin with Exploratory Data Analysis. It teaches you how to analyse data and generate visual reports. However, to actually become efficient at Data Visualization one needs to dig deep and make use of other resources apart from this course. Also K means clustering and other types are explained well in this course but it would have been useful if there were exercises to help implement it in some real problem. Overall this course leaves you confident and enthusiastic about Data Visualization.