Chevron Left
Retour à Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 par Université du Colorado à Boulder

4.9
1,150 notes
324 avis

À propos du cours

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Meilleurs avis

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

LR

Jul 05, 2018

I'm not one to write reviews - this course is fantastic and a game changer. Prof Nuttelman is a very engaging speaker and makes what could seem a very dry topic come across as interesting, fascin

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 323 Examens pour Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

par Vivek B

Mar 24, 2018

This course is brilliant and Charlie Nuttleman is an excellent instructor. This is a must take course for all interested in taking their excel skills to the next level. I only wish he had put up some lectures notes

par Hendrik K

Mar 11, 2018

Learned much more than expected, thank you. Well presented

par Gina K

Jun 26, 2018

I really have learned a lot! The class is demanding enough, but not overwhelming. Mr. Nuttelman is always available to help - via email or in the discussion forums, which is much much appreciated. He helps with hints to understand the topics and assignments better.

par DANG N K

May 22, 2018

The course was helpful and the teaching method was easy to understand

Thank you

par Hawra A S

Feb 12, 2018

This course is a mandatory to every engineering student. lots of engineering problems can be studied and solved using the techniques taught in this course. I highly recommend it.

par Alejandro M

Apr 29, 2018

Great introduction to Excel VBA... lets go for part 2

par Barak M

Jun 17, 2018

Good start !

par ILIA B

Mar 04, 2018

G

r

e

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

.

R

e

a

l

l

y

e

n

j

o

I

e

d

t

h

e

a

s

s

I

g

n

m

e

n

t

s

par Albert V R

Apr 08, 2018

I have found this course extremely interesting and I have loved week 5 too, which is optional.

I always wanted to learn VBA and I have tried on my own several times but I didn’t succeed. This course has helped me to overcome this initial barrier and know I feel confident to continue learning VBA.

The professor has always been there to help, and I have felt much accompanied in my learning experience.

Highly recommended!

par Kenneth D C

Apr 30, 2018

Excellent course to build a strong VBA foundation. The professor was very knowledgeable and responsive. A word of warning, the examples are heavily weighted towards math so be prepared to get a refresher on some Calculus concepts you may have forgotten. Stick with it and use the Discussion Board regularly!

par Elizabeth R

Jun 03, 2018

This course was absolutely outstanding!!!

par Hakim B

May 26, 2018

Very well-thought! Thanks teacher

par Sandeep K

Mar 25, 2018

Amazing Course. Only one suggestion, input more real life related coding examples and methods because one may not be using too complex formulas but need VBA for reducing the efforts.

par Sean W

Mar 13, 2018

This is a great course if you really want to use VBA beyond just recording a bunch of mouse clicks. I was already pretty familiar with Excel and some surface level VBA stuff. Thanks to this course, I have a much better handle on the available features of VBA to the point where I have already been able to implement some valuable things at work. I would imagine that this would be the case even for an Excel beginner. I would highly recommend this course for a fairly wide range of experience levels. I'm looking forward to Part 2.

par Budi N

Jun 21, 2018

nice

par Tim M

Jun 16, 2018

Absolutely enjoyed the course! Charlie is a great teacher who conveys the content in an understandable manner. The length of the videos is neither too short nor too long. Also I really liked the assignments which are challenging without getting too frustrating. As for improvements, you could maybe spice up the PowerPoint slides in the videos a little (colors, background etc.). Other than that everything's perfect about the course, highly recommend it!

par Alan A A Q

Jun 15, 2018

Great course to learn and practice VBA fundamentals

par Andrea N R S

Mar 14, 2018

Excellent course, give you tangible examples so you can get better the concepts.

par Kelvyn V S R

Apr 18, 2018

Clear and direct teaching, many applications and examples during learning

par Matt F

Feb 28, 2018

Great class! I have been looking at increasing my Excel skills and wanted to learn VBA, however, I really could find a class that had what I needed. This class was what I was looking for, even though it is more engineering based. I highly recommend it for getting into VBA. I liked the mini quizzes and the assignments. They both help you learn and retain the material. Dr. Nuttelman was also very responsive. Had been staring at my VBA code too long and wasn't able to figure out why my code wasn't working correctly on one of the assignments. I sent it to Dr. Nuttelman and he was able to look over my code and point out the problem. Very quick turnaround on getting an answer too! I will be signing up for Part 2 of this course.

par Matt K

Apr 15, 2018

The best part is I can apply the skills learner here right away! Will definitely take part 2.

par Jason J

Jun 06, 2018

Great overview of the capabilities of VBA with Excel. It is clear the professor spent a great amount of time in putting together the lecture videos - both in laying out the flow of the class as well as editing the videos to aid in comprehension. I appreciate his effort as it really aids in understanding the material.

par Zhiqing L

Mar 08, 2018

I strongly recommend this course to those who have no VBA experience and want to learn VBA. There are lots of VBA websites/forums, but they are not very useful to beginners.

A very good thing of this course is that Dr Charlie is teaching you to think in a "VBA way" to solve a problem, but not just teaching syntax.

I will definitely take part 2 and part 3. Thank Dr Charlie again for providing this VBA course.

par Andre B M

Feb 19, 2018

Very good, I highly recommend it

par yue w

Mar 18, 2018

At the beginning of the course , I asked myself, why VBA when excel can easily do these with build in buttons. I know understand a little.