Chevron Left
Retour à Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 par Université du Colorado à Boulder

4.8
étoiles
2,801 évaluations
792 avis

À propos du cours

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Meilleurs avis

MS
26 janv. 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

JH
2 avr. 2020

Very good course with clear examples throughout to help you develop. The online format of the course is great as it allows you to pause and work through the activities presented at your own speed.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 791 Avis pour Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

par Darren C

14 oct. 2018

Part 1 really exceeded my expectations. I enjoyed the math part of the course as well as functions and debugging techniques.

Most of my vba knowledge is self taught using google and youtube so it was nice to have a structured program that could help me improve my vba in Excel

par B. M

24 mars 2018

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

c

l

a

s

s

!

I've written VBA in the past for Excel by copying/pasting, and generally stumbling through it. This class really cleared up a lot of things for me and has increased my confidence and I actually feel like I know what I'm doing now! Thank you Professor Nuttleman!

par Leonardo A G J

7 août 2020

El diseño del curso es excelente, te va guiando y poniendo a prueba tus conocimientos. Algunas pruebas son complicadas pero las pistas que da el profesor son de gran utilidad. Hay videos en los que utiliza funciones más avanzadas pero no hay ejercicios que las involucren.

par Ehsanullah A

30 mars 2018

FIRST OF ALL SPECIAL THANKS TO MR. CHARLIE NUTTELMAN TO TEACH GIVE SUCH AN AWESOME LECTURE AND THANKS TO UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO BOULDER AS WELL AS THANKS TO COURSERA TO PROVIDE SUCH AN ONLINE EDUCATION ENVIRONMENT SO THAT I CAN USE MY TIME IN MEANINGFUL AND USEFUL MOMENT.

par Artur H M

21 oct. 2018

Very good Excel/VBA course for begginers. It teaches the basics for programming (variable types, loops, debugging, conditional statements, etc.). It also introduces Excel tools for optimization and targeting, as well as optimization methods in week 5. Highly recommended.

par Максим

8 août 2018

Great course for those who are familiar with programming and desire to dive into VBA quickly. It would be much better if enhanced with business examples however it is still good for starting to solve business analysis tasks and automating the basics of business routine.

par Kishore P

2 oct. 2020

Concepts are well explained and easy to understand . Exercises & quizzes are quite challenging and they are not served on a platter. one must really think and understand the concepts to solve the exercises at end. Looking forward to learning more complex VBA in part 2.

par Tomás C

13 juin 2020

I've worked with Excel previously but I did not have any idea of how to use VBA. With this first course, I feel I've constructed the very fundamentals of this great tool. I'm eager to continue with the Specialization and further develop my skills with Excel and VBA

par Gina K

26 juin 2018

I really have learned a lot! The class is demanding enough, but not overwhelming. Mr. Nuttelman is always available to help - via email or in the discussion forums, which is much much appreciated. He helps with hints to understand the topics and assignments better.

par Axel L

8 mai 2020

Excellent course, i learned a lot of clearly relevant and useful material that i look forward to implementing in my course work and career. The instructor successfully stimulated my interest in the content and i will continue to take courses from him and Coursera.

par Sucheta H

4 sept. 2019

I found course useful for learning the basics of Excel VBA. I had written few macros before taking up this course by referring to the various online help forums. But, I wanted to formally learn the the VBA language. Hence, I took up this course and it was useful.

par Víctor A M G

17 août 2019

Great program, really helped me understand VBA programming. My whole carrer, I was reluctant to learn VBA programming, because it seemed very difficult to understand. With this course, all those prejudices went away. I inted to continue with the next course of VBA

par Nikolas G

28 mai 2020

I coudn't believe how many problems you can solve with VBA. This is an excellent course and the professor extremely motivated ,clear and helpful and has organised the material of the course perfectly in my opinion. I will suggest this course to all of my friends.

par Eviatar S

1 août 2020

Effective coverage of VBA for me (a complete newbie started with VBA) but with coding experience in other computer languages. Clear delivery of webcasts and real-world engineering examples are very useful. I feed confident jumping into Excel VBA programming now!

par Ana R

17 oct. 2019

Course with (i) an excellent organization (starts with the basics and evolves to more advanced topics); (ii) easy to follow videos (concise instructor with practical examples); and (iii) challenging quizzes and assignments, that apply VBA to real world problems.

par Lan A T

13 sept. 2018

Charlie will walk you through the most basic things, from defining variables to debugging if something goes wrong with your codes. He also teaches how to think logically and how to make sure you include all possible scenarios. Highly recommended for beginners

par Srivaths J

11 août 2020

It was an excellent course with hands-on experience with Excel VBA. If you are thinking about taking this course, I can strongly say that one can go with this right away without any prerequisites. It was super fun learning this. Prof Charlie did a great job!

par Tyler H

3 févr. 2020

For beginner who are not familiar with programming, this is a good opportunity to understand and explore through Excel VBA. I recommend it not only for such a solid work in course design but also the confidence build-up during the process of problem solving.

par Erikos

17 nov. 2019

Very helpful and interesting course, mostly due to great teacher! I applied this knowledge (Do..Loop, For...Next) in my business valuation models to solve the issue with circular reference in financial statements. Will sign up for the second part definitely!

par Nadezhda K

4 août 2019

Amazing course! Unlike a lot of the online classes this one was challenging allowing for a better and more permanent understanding. At times, I feel like some computer science background is necessary to understand all things but you can manage without too.

par Kunal K K

18 avr. 2020

Course has been designed really well. Concepts are explained in ample depth and clarity. The quizzes and assignments provide the perfect opportunity to apply the assimilated concepts, commit errors and learn how to fix them. Thoroughly enjoyed the course.

par Brad H

31 déc. 2017

Great class for learning VBA basics. The lessons were well taught and moved along at a comfortable pace. I came in with no VBA experience, and was able to follow along without problem and complete the entire course. I'll definitely be taking Part 2.

par OLIVER M I

14 mai 2020

The course was difficult a few times as I haven't had to do some of the math manipulation in nearly 30 years. I appreciate that my boss gave me the opportunity to take this class, and I look forward to taking the next two courses in this specialization.

par Morufu A A

26 déc. 2018

This course was very tasking and interesting. I almost gave up at the middle but was determined to finish it. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to dig into Excel VBA. This course is rich in content. Thank you Charlie. Thank you Coursera.

par Deoras P

16 mars 2020

Well organized course. Recommended for those who want to leverage the power of VBA while working with Excel. It would take about 2-3 hrs per week. If you have any prior programming experience, then you will find the Week 5 material fun to work through.