Chevron Left
Retour à Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 par Université du Colorado à Boulder

4.9
1,152 notes
324 avis

À propos du cours

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Meilleurs avis

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

LR

Jul 05, 2018

I'm not one to write reviews - this course is fantastic and a game changer. Prof Nuttelman is a very engaging speaker and makes what could seem a very dry topic come across as interesting, fascin

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 324 Examens pour Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

par Tan K Y

Mar 14, 2018

Basic numerical calculations with VBA done very well!

par Chenglong G

May 16, 2018

Very good course for new learner to gain the experience.

par Ehsanullah A

Mar 30, 2018

FIRST OF ALL SPECIAL THANKS TO MR. CHARLIE NUTTELMAN TO TEACH GIVE SUCH AN AWESOME LECTURE AND THANKS TO UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO BOULDER AS WELL AS THANKS TO COURSERA TO PROVIDE SUCH AN ONLINE EDUCATION ENVIRONMENT SO THAT I CAN USE MY TIME IN MEANINGFUL AND USEFUL MOMENT.

par Matthew A

May 03, 2018

Fantastic course, 5-stars!

Possible improvements:

1) In section 5 when building the algorithms you could also add a check for convergence using a tolerance. The 20x for loop seems somewhat arbitrary. This is pretty easy to do, but might be a nice addition for people who haven't coded these algorithms before.

2) Not sure if this is possible, but there's a way to pass a function as a variable in VBA, then in section 5 you could build more generalized solver/optimization algorithms (as opposed to having to re-code the algorithm for each new function you encounter).

Again, great class learning a ton!

par Gary C

May 03, 2018

Thank you for this practical and useful course. I am finally able to unlock some of the powerful tools in excel that have always been a mystery. Cant wait for part 2.

par Yilun G

Jan 21, 2018

the course is well designed but need more detailed examples. I would have all working sheet alone with the screenshot to better capture the content

par Jéssica M

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I'm already familiar with some coding but I wanted simple solutions for some reports I run daily in excel. I was looking for something exactly like this: simple, useful and well structured. I think the course is perfect for small projects and daily solutions in the office as well. The magic of VBA/Excel is it can be applied for most of the knowledge areas. I would recommend for people who want automate repetitive tasks and optimize their work! Great job Charlie!

par Tudor S

Jan 29, 2018

I truly recommend this course to beginners in VBA (although prior experience with other language is very helpful). Charlie is a very good instructor, he makes every step of the learning curve seem manageable. His quizzes and assignments cover all material, so make sure you know it all before doing them! This is probably the first Coursera course that is similar in difficulty and richness-of-content to a university course.

par Siddhant G

Feb 06, 2018

I loved part 1. Very structured. Detailed. Yet easy to follow. It can also be used to learn fundamental programming. Looking forward to VBA part 2.

par Carlos A F C

Jun 14, 2018

Excelent course!!!

par Nicolas R

Apr 18, 2018

Well-constructed.

par Craig P

Jan 28, 2018

The course gave me everything that I was expecting and needed to get me on the road to VBA programming. I also learned some advanced Excel tricks that will be very useful, plus some mathematical iterative optimisation methods that I had long forgotten. I have signed on to the next course (VBA pt2)

par Emilyn D

Jul 06, 2018

Nuttelman is the man!

par Vivek B

Mar 24, 2018

This course is brilliant and Charlie Nuttleman is an excellent instructor. This is a must take course for all interested in taking their excel skills to the next level. I only wish he had put up some lectures notes

par Hendrik K

Mar 11, 2018

Learned much more than expected, thank you. Well presented

par Gina K

Jun 26, 2018

I really have learned a lot! The class is demanding enough, but not overwhelming. Mr. Nuttelman is always available to help - via email or in the discussion forums, which is much much appreciated. He helps with hints to understand the topics and assignments better.

par DANG N K

May 22, 2018

The course was helpful and the teaching method was easy to understand

Thank you

par Hawra A S

Feb 12, 2018

This course is a mandatory to every engineering student. lots of engineering problems can be studied and solved using the techniques taught in this course. I highly recommend it.

par Alejandro M

Apr 29, 2018

Great introduction to Excel VBA... lets go for part 2

par Barak M

Jun 17, 2018

Good start !

par ILIA B

Mar 04, 2018

G

r

e

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

.

R

e

a

l

l

y

e

n

j

o

I

e

d

t

h

e

a

s

s

I

g

n

m

e

n

t

s

par Albert V R

Apr 08, 2018

I have found this course extremely interesting and I have loved week 5 too, which is optional.

I always wanted to learn VBA and I have tried on my own several times but I didn’t succeed. This course has helped me to overcome this initial barrier and know I feel confident to continue learning VBA.

The professor has always been there to help, and I have felt much accompanied in my learning experience.

Highly recommended!

par Kenneth D C

Apr 30, 2018

Excellent course to build a strong VBA foundation. The professor was very knowledgeable and responsive. A word of warning, the examples are heavily weighted towards math so be prepared to get a refresher on some Calculus concepts you may have forgotten. Stick with it and use the Discussion Board regularly!

par Elizabeth R

Jun 03, 2018

This course was absolutely outstanding!!!

par Hakim B

May 26, 2018

Very well-thought! Thanks teacher