Chevron Left
Retour à Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 par Université du Colorado à Boulder

4.8
étoiles
2,118 évaluations
593 avis

À propos du cours

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Meilleurs avis

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

PP

Apr 19, 2020

The pattern of course is really nice.It first teaches all the basic information in video and the assignments are designed in a way that all the taught information are used to solve the assignment.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 597 Avis pour Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

par Craig P

Jan 28, 2018

The course gave me everything that I was expecting and needed to get me on the road to VBA programming. I also learned some advanced Excel tricks that will be very useful, plus some mathematical iterative optimisation methods that I had long forgotten. I have signed on to the next course (VBA pt2)

par Bernard K

Apr 22, 2020

The course is the best entry into programming world, instructor is very responsive whenever you face a challenge on any course material. I would recommend the course to anyone who want to automate some of the repetitive excel tasks and to later advance into a more advanced programming language

par Mikhail L

May 21, 2020

The course starts from the basic concepts of the programming, and on the week five you can learn how to solve iterations in Excel using VBA. Even before finishing course, I already started to use VBA in my daily work routine. It helped me to save time and made me free from some routine tasks

par Martin V M

Mar 25, 2020

Great course in order to begin with VBA. Although, it contains some math problems related with engineer stuff, it's not hard to follow since the theory is well explained and the complexity is not too high. Also, it's interesting to see a different approach to Excel/VBA from other carreers.

par Edith S

Dec 30, 2018

If like me you are looking for an introduction to VBA because you see it on every job description of the positions that interest you, this course is what you need. It goes from a gentle introduction to strong exercise that truly make you work hard to earn that certification. 100% recommend

par Kevin J

Jun 04, 2020

The course is delivered systematically and effectively for a coding-virgin like me. It has enabled me to write my very first VBA script and apply it in my day-to-day work to help automate spreadsheets and calculation processes. I recommend this course for those who are new to Excel VBA.

par Luis A M

Feb 11, 2018

Excellent job done by Charles and Coursera. Interesting and challenging. I will be starting Part 2 very soon, it is worth every second you spend. I would like to see more material like in week 5, more math oriented towards function approximation using VBA. Thanks for all your efforts.

par 鄢然

Sep 13, 2019

This is a very fun yet helpful course. The course shows you how VBA can help you with your work from Day1. There is no dull lectures. Everything Charlie teaches is based on examples and you can always follow him in excel. I enjoyed the course and have already enrolled in part II.

par Teo Y Z

May 28, 2020

It's a really great course taught by Professor Charlie Nuttelman! Part 1 starts with the basics of the VBA environment, and gradually moving into real-world scenarios using the power of VBA, especially in week 5! The quizzes and assignments definitely help to reinforce learning!

par Darren C

Oct 14, 2018

Part 1 really exceeded my expectations. I enjoyed the math part of the course as well as functions and debugging techniques.

Most of my vba knowledge is self taught using google and youtube so it was nice to have a structured program that could help me improve my vba in Excel

par B. M

Mar 25, 2018

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

c

l

a

s

s

!

I've written VBA in the past for Excel by copying/pasting, and generally stumbling through it. This class really cleared up a lot of things for me and has increased my confidence and I actually feel like I know what I'm doing now! Thank you Professor Nuttleman!

par Ehsanullah A

Mar 30, 2018

FIRST OF ALL SPECIAL THANKS TO MR. CHARLIE NUTTELMAN TO TEACH GIVE SUCH AN AWESOME LECTURE AND THANKS TO UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO BOULDER AS WELL AS THANKS TO COURSERA TO PROVIDE SUCH AN ONLINE EDUCATION ENVIRONMENT SO THAT I CAN USE MY TIME IN MEANINGFUL AND USEFUL MOMENT.

par Artur H M H

Oct 22, 2018

Very good Excel/VBA course for begginers. It teaches the basics for programming (variable types, loops, debugging, conditional statements, etc.). It also introduces Excel tools for optimization and targeting, as well as optimization methods in week 5. Highly recommended.

par Максим

Aug 08, 2018

Great course for those who are familiar with programming and desire to dive into VBA quickly. It would be much better if enhanced with business examples however it is still good for starting to solve business analysis tasks and automating the basics of business routine.

par Tomás C

Jun 13, 2020

I've worked with Excel previously but I did not have any idea of how to use VBA. With this first course, I feel I've constructed the very fundamentals of this great tool. I'm eager to continue with the Specialization and further develop my skills with Excel and VBA

par Gina K

Jun 26, 2018

I really have learned a lot! The class is demanding enough, but not overwhelming. Mr. Nuttelman is always available to help - via email or in the discussion forums, which is much much appreciated. He helps with hints to understand the topics and assignments better.

par Axel L

May 09, 2020

Excellent course, i learned a lot of clearly relevant and useful material that i look forward to implementing in my course work and career. The instructor successfully stimulated my interest in the content and i will continue to take courses from him and Coursera.

par Sucheta H

Sep 04, 2019

I found course useful for learning the basics of Excel VBA. I had written few macros before taking up this course by referring to the various online help forums. But, I wanted to formally learn the the VBA language. Hence, I took up this course and it was useful.

par Víctor A M G

Aug 17, 2019

Great program, really helped me understand VBA programming. My whole carrer, I was reluctant to learn VBA programming, because it seemed very difficult to understand. With this course, all those prejudices went away. I inted to continue with the next course of VBA

par Nikolas G

May 28, 2020

I coudn't believe how many problems you can solve with VBA. This is an excellent course and the professor extremely motivated ,clear and helpful and has organised the material of the course perfectly in my opinion. I will suggest this course to all of my friends.

par Ana R

Oct 17, 2019

Course with (i) an excellent organization (starts with the basics and evolves to more advanced topics); (ii) easy to follow videos (concise instructor with practical examples); and (iii) challenging quizzes and assignments, that apply VBA to real world problems.

par Lan A T

Sep 13, 2018

Charlie will walk you through the most basic things, from defining variables to debugging if something goes wrong with your codes. He also teaches how to think logically and how to make sure you include all possible scenarios. Highly recommended for beginners

par Tyler H

Feb 04, 2020

For beginner who are not familiar with programming, this is a good opportunity to understand and explore through Excel VBA. I recommend it not only for such a solid work in course design but also the confidence build-up during the process of problem solving.

par Erikos

Nov 17, 2019

Very helpful and interesting course, mostly due to great teacher! I applied this knowledge (Do..Loop, For...Next) in my business valuation models to solve the issue with circular reference in financial statements. Will sign up for the second part definitely!

par Nadezhda K

Aug 04, 2019

Amazing course! Unlike a lot of the online classes this one was challenging allowing for a better and more permanent understanding. At times, I feel like some computer science background is necessary to understand all things but you can manage without too.