Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel par Université de Rice

4.7
étoiles
7,505 évaluations
1,715 avis

À propos du cours

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Meilleurs avis

SS
27 avr. 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

SW
25 mai 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

Filtrer par :

1351 - 1375 sur 1,695 Avis pour Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

par Michael D

27 avr. 2017

a clear intro to some basic-moderate user level functions in Excel. Good for those who have yet to use functions and graphing capabilities of the software.

par Imad D

10 nov. 2020

it was great even though many questions were hard to understand, but so far thank you so much professor Sharad your way in teaching is very understandable

par Megha G

10 sept. 2020

The course is well planned, designed & communicated. However, I was looking for a higher level of difficulty in problem solving and more excel techniques.

par Jordan L

15 janv. 2019

This course instruction is very clear and easy to follow (even if you're using a different version of Excel) and covers the core concepts for using Excel.

par Andras F

30 janv. 2018

Very good course for someone who is not an experienced Excel user. For those who work with Excel every day, this course does not offer any new knowledge.

par Kezang W

28 mai 2020

Great course for anyone who uses excels in their profession. I encourage everyone to take the course as it is applicable anywhere, anytime and any work.

par Shashwat J

12 mars 2020

In the assessment part if few more details of the question or the hint would have mentioned then it would have been much more suitable in the Quizzes .

par Khwmdwn M

5 avr. 2020

Some Questions were very difficult to understand. I struggled there if that could be addressed then the course would be perfect! Thank You Mr Sharad

par Rajat g

15 juin 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course , a very good introduction to data analysis using excel , got to explore a lot of datasets and analysis techniques.

par Shraddha R

15 sept. 2018

Informative and clear. Perhaps it will be nice if there are documents with teaching notes which I can keep alongside with my own handwritten notes!

par José M N

11 juil. 2017

The course is very well explained by the teacher, but it is too introductory to deserve the name "course 1". It could be week 1 of a bigger course.

par Avadhesh Y

25 juin 2020

Really helpful for those who want to learn how to use excel as a professional. This will really teach you many simple but effective use of excel.

par Rachel G

12 oct. 2016

A good course for consolidating essential Excel skills, may be a little basic for some but a good introduction and lead in to the specialisation.

par Roosha

17 avr. 2020

This is very helpful course for one beginner. I have learned a lot from this course.but the sound quality is not so good. But overall its good.

par Aafiyah D

4 mars 2020

This part of the course helps one re-visit the basics of excel. It is extremely helpful and keeps one upto date with the workings of the same.

par ANUGAMINI P

25 sept. 2020

Its an excellent course to update your knowledge of statistics through excel. Prof Sharad has used simple yet effective ways to teach. Thanks

par Daniel J K

23 sept. 2018

Could use harder examples in problems and I feel if you pass quizzes maybe you should see what you did wrong on the questions you got wrong.

par Patrice J

26 sept. 2020

The course was fairly easy to follow. Enjoyed it. Still a bit shaky with pivot tables but I expect to understand as I keep using it more.

par Sergio

13 août 2018

Course is great, it is an overview of useful commands, formulas and so on. I gave it 4 stars because quiz questions sometimes are unclear

par Hitesh G

23 août 2020

this course is so much helpful for me and know more about excel function more and add a new skill by doing this course through coursera.

par Tashi D

18 sept. 2020

This course helped me to understand how Excel can be used to visualize data. It is helpful. Thank you for creating such useful course.

par Prachi A

10 mai 2020

This course is even ideal for people who have worked in Excel before since it revisits some of the important everyday Excel functions.

par DRUVA K G

9 mars 2019

Very helpful to learn excel especially for beginners.

Usage of key board shortcuts can be added to make this course much more fruitful.

par Adriano F d F J

30 juil. 2017

Pretty good. I recomend, specially for those who does not know well the capabilities, the functions and the advantages of using Excel.

par Claudio Z

3 mars 2019

Very useful and ehlpful and quizzes not so easy as they seam. I recommend a lot this course if your are interested in learning Excel.