Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel par Université de Rice

4.7
étoiles
8,214 évaluations
1,870 avis

À propos du cours

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Meilleurs avis

SW
25 mai 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS
27 avr. 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 1,847 Avis pour Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

par Durairaj T

7 mars 2019

The course offers an astonishing chance to develop myself in the area of data analysis! Actually, I can learn anything i want from the world's greatest minds. This is a brand new way of learning new things. Inspired by the way of learning in foreign university!!

par John U

5 nov. 2020

I am a complete novice with respect to Excel having had a medical training. The information is given in manageable and interesting segments building your knowledge incrementally and sequentially. It is a paradigm of teaching and I highly recommended the course.

par Gianina M B

10 oct. 2020

It was a very intuitive course. The fact that it was very hands-on (providing us learners many opportunities to use Excel to apply what was discussed in the videos ourselves) was very helpful in picking up what was being taught quickly and effectively

par Chris J

20 mars 2021

The professor is excellent! Learned a lot of valuable information. The class is challenging, but very doable. I think it is more structured for you to go at your own pace. I completed it in three days as I was fortunate enough to have time to do so.

par Omer M A

27 sept. 2020

This Course is very important one and is essential for everyone who is willing to do Data analysis in Excel. It really met my expectations. Many thanks goes to Rice University, Coursera & Somaliland's Ministry of Employment Social Affairs & Family.

par Rodolfo A P

22 avr. 2017

Great course that teaches you a lot of the basics in Excel. The instructor is very knowledgeable about the subject matter and explains the material in a clear way. I am now using much of the stuff that I learned in this course during my daily work.

par ravi k

24 juil. 2020

Really well put together course and i love how much information is packed in small videos.The best thing about the course is the assignments can be really tricky even if they seem simple and it challenges you to think.Highly recommend this course.

par Milind P

30 mai 2020

It was a well crafted course, Videos & Study material was to the point. Course contents will be helpful in handling large database in very efficient manner. Instructors mastery over the subject & teaching skills are really appreciable. Thanks !!!

par Rajavel K

5 mai 2019

Many factors made me narrow down to this course.

1 Time Constraint

2 Layman Friendly

3 Problem Sets

4 Easy to Understand

Eventhough I had some experience in Excel data analysis, I learnt some extra content which I think will definitely help my career.

par OLALOYE E O

11 mai 2020

This course is so interesting and encouraging for those interested in starting a career in Data Analysis. The instructors, videos, tutorials, assessments and group discussion forums are exceptional. I will recommend this course any day, any time

par Cessna S

10 juil. 2018

I loved the course. It was explained in a very simplified and interesting manner. It kept me engaged and cleared my concepts. The Practice quizzes and questions were really helpful in determining my concepts and understanding of the concepts.

par ILOBA B

16 oct. 2020

It was a great opportunity for me, i want to appreciate the organizers of this program "LAGOS STATE EMPLOYMENT FUND" for this wonderful privilege and also, my appreciation goes to RICE University for this course, I really enjoyed it. thanks.

par Priyanshu S

8 mai 2020

One of the best courses on Data Analysis. Thank you Rice University and Sharad Borle Sir for providing such a valuable course and for great explanations. The Weekly quiz are very well designed to test your understanding of the video lessons.

par Abel R

8 nov. 2020

Sobrepasó ampliamente mis expectativas! El curso está muy bien elaborado. Las lecciones son claras y el instructor sabe transmitir su conocimiento. Los ejemplos y ejercicios son excelentes para fijar los conocimientos nuevos. Recomendado!

par JAMES O

9 avr. 2020

This course guides you step-by-step from the basics, so it is for everyone who wants to learn Excel without minimum skills. Moreover, the video and quizzes help to review the materials. Overall, the course is amazing and timely managed.

par Natalie G

23 juin 2017

This course was a good basic introduction to some useful tools in Excel. The most useful tool I learned was the VLOOKUP function and pivot tables. Will definitely be employable for any career requiring simple to complex data analysis.

par Suraj K

28 oct. 2016

Superb learning experience.If there is an advanced course to this would definitely love to do it .

Very good faculty support staff and very enthusiastic fellow students whose guidance and thought process gives a different perspective.

par Abdulsalam, S O

16 déc. 2020

I so much enjoyed every bit of the course. Thanks to Rice University for making this course available.

If you’re new to the field of Data Analysis, I recommend you take this course to learn this basics. This course is really helpful

par Katherine M R A

2 nov. 2020

I found a new love! Ever since I was a child I hated Math but this course made me realize that Math is a wonderful thing and being able to read numbers and data using Excel is such a marvelous experience. Thank you for this course.

par Karen S Z

21 juil. 2018

Solid introduction to Excel. If you are brand new to Excel, you will likely need to practice a bit and/or refer to other resources for additional skills. Even though I've been using Excel for years, I still learned some new things.

par Joel F

1 août 2017

Good for beginners, although a bit complicated to get around all the language barriers in Excel and without using the ToolPak which doesn't seem to work for my Excel. I'd recommend having google nearby throughout the course. Good

par Olayinka S O

28 août 2020

The course is really a good course. The instructor too is good at instructing.

I enjoyed learning the course and I am sure that with what I have learned I would advanced in my career and personal development.

Thank you Coursera.

par Mita M

2 févr. 2017

Very useful but not necessarily a course for beginners. Understanding the concepts isn't tough because they are explained very well but the exercises can be challenging for people who don't have a functional knowledge of excel.

par Sarthik C

27 sept. 2020

"I've never completed a course like this before and I cannot express how great the instructor was and the overall content of the material. I would Analysis Data . I will be looking into taking more of these course. Thank you!"

par A M

3 mars 2019

The course content is very good, the questions at the end of each week are also very testing, which gives the learner confidence to test his/her own learning. The instructor's way of teaching will be clear to a layman as well.