Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel par Université de Rice

4.7
étoiles
6,987 évaluations
1,602 avis

À propos du cours

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Meilleurs avis

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

SW

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 1,587 Avis pour Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

par Jay W

Sep 28, 2020

Great course - instructor is very straight to the point. Can increase playback speed if some concepts are review. Assessments are reasonable in difficulty.

par Jess A

Apr 13, 2019

Course was structured very well and the lectures and instructions were clear. Quizzes and practice questions were thought out and added value to the class.

par Murtuza B

Jul 21, 2020

Thank you so much for creating this course. Very much recommended for someone who has just started to lean Excel. Really appreciate your time and efforts.

par Aigerim M

Mar 23, 2020

This course is an excellent example of learning by doing. All the theory is explained in practical tasks. No boring lectures! Highly recommend the course.

par Prasang S

Jun 16, 2018

One of the best online course I have ever taken yet. That nice and descent explanation , practice quizzes really helped me to pass all the graded quizzes.

par R. R

Sep 11, 2020

An excellent course! This is absolutely helpful doing our research. Plus, it is engaging, easy to understand, and can be applied to real life situations.

par John D I

Aug 20, 2018

Great refresher course on Excel. In addition, I learned a number of new things about charting and Histograms. The shortcuts were appreciated as well.

par Veekshit U A

Jul 03, 2018

Wonderful course.It started from scratch and helped me reach an intermediate level.After finishing this course we learn more advanced concepts of excel.

par DingDang S

Aug 22, 2017

a great course! very suitable for those who have been using Excel to only a superficial extent and wish to deepen the knowledge of functions and charts.

par Wenna L Y Y

May 18, 2017

This course is really easy to comprehend. I managed to finish the entire course within two to three days even though I had no prior experience in Excel.

par Amanda C R

Jul 31, 2020

debe tener todos los videos con la opcion de espa;ol ya que hay algunos que no tenian subtitulos y era un poco mas dificil dar seguimiento a la clase.

par Do D K

Aug 11, 2019

Course is very meaningful and through, I was able to apply pivot, charting into current work. The certificate has also made my CV clearer and better.

par Gaurav T

Feb 28, 2019

I would like thank you for the session.i just wanted to jot you a note of thanks to say how much i enjoyed your session on Data Analysis Using Excel.

par Chandrasekaran R

Jul 29, 2017

this four week course helped me in getting some quick navigational tips for excel and also certain advanced tools such as pivot charts and histograms

par Sai S A

Aug 28, 2020

Good explanation , Easy to understand and apply , thanks to the faculty , thanks to forum ultimately helped in clarifying doubts and achieve better.

par Sandra U S

May 17, 2017

Prof Sharad makes things look simple. It was the best excel course I ever had! Great practical examples and short videos which facilitate concentrat

par Abdullah D

Sep 29, 2020

It is an excellent course for the beginners. A highly recommended course. The instructor is amazing. The pace of the course is nice and manageable.

par Steffany L

Sep 10, 2020

I really liked this course. The materials and explanations were really helpful. I learned all the necessary stuff in excel for business! Great one!

par Aleksey S

Sep 09, 2020

I've gained a lot of new and insightful skills of using excel throughout of this course and I'm satisfied to complete all the lessons and practice!

par Daniela A G D

Jun 03, 2020

Un excelente curso, todo se comprendió completamente y los ejercicios fueron sencillos de acuerdo con el nivel. Muy útil lo enseñado en este curso.

par Vishal S

Jul 27, 2017

i liked this course very much it is very effective for the buisness, but question what ever asked in the quiz and spreadsheet are a bit difficult .

par Syafiq A B M F

Oct 16, 2020

I learn a great deal of knowledge from the Professor. Really helped me as an Analyst in my day to day job. Thank you Rice University and Coursera!

par Theophilus O A

Aug 06, 2020

An eye-opening introduction. Looking forward to more exciting sections and challenging times ahead.

Grateful to be part of this learning programme.

par Chua V S

Jun 02, 2020

I learned a lot in this course, but still hopefully to review the answer of the test. Maybe can provide the answer and solution after few attempts

par Oleksii N

Jul 17, 2020

Very useful! Delivered in a highly understandable manner. Definitely recommend to everyone who would be involved in a bit deeper work with excel.