Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel par Université de Rice

4.7
étoiles
4,626 évaluations
1,043 avis

À propos du cours

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Meilleurs avis

SW

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 1,034 Avis pour Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

par SWARNAVO P

Jun 15, 2018

Dear sir,I audited this course but I must tell you that this course had helped me a lot to learn about excel.Thank you to teacher and of course to coursera for providing such a high level course to us.Cheers!

par Shady N S

Nov 26, 2018

This course is amazing. It's for beginners as well. It teaches you the basic of data analysis using Excel. While you will enjoy taking this course, I encourage you to take the whole specialization as well.

par Akshay A

Aug 02, 2017

First of all, thank you for such a wonderful course. The subject matter was explained in a perfect manner. Also the user interface on coursera is very good. In totality it was a great learning experience.

par edith

Mar 27, 2019

Instructor did an amazing job in making this course easy to follow, understand and retain. The excel spreadsheets needed for each lesson were provided and downloadable.

Will look for more of his courses

par Prem A

Sep 17, 2017

It was a great experience through this course.The course contents and the materials are very good to learn the basic of Excel. And the discussion forum is also very helpful for doing well in the course.

par Shane H T W

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.

The level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

par Indranil R

Apr 26, 2020

Dr. Borle's excellent grasp on Excel makes it really worthwhile. I needed to learn some basic functions which would help me in my data analysis using excel sheet & this course helped me do that.

par Eva A S M

Aug 02, 2018

Excelente curso, los videos cortos, buena calidad de audio y video, ayudan muchos los ejemplos y también los archivos que nos dan para nosotros practicar y el contenido es muy fácil de entender.

par Leonardo C

Oct 13, 2017

Great start....I have used basic Excel skills in the past but this class allow me to start using special V functions, pivot tables and charts, and histograms which I have never used. Awesome

par MANISH S

Apr 21, 2020

This course is beneficial to every student,mangers or worker of any firm. It can enhance their knowledge toward excel. By completing this course they will able to operate the excel easily.

par Richard S

Jul 26, 2018

It would be nice to be able to go back and review past lessons after not being able to log in for a week or two. I was only able to work on this course in between my other duties at work.

par Qianxian W

Jul 25, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. It is not very hard but is very useful in terms of learning the Excel functions that help analyse data. I really like the teaching style of the instructor.

par Tim W

Apr 05, 2020

A good introduction. Starts off very basic. But it's also a good recap on some essentials that can be easily forgotten. The data analysis with histograms part at the end was very useful.

par Gautham K K

Mar 22, 2020

Excellent course for a beginner. One can learn from scratch and cover all the important topics with ease. Everything is explained so well. My only suggestion is to include Macros as well

par Vigneshwaran N

Jan 08, 2019

Good course provides a basic basis for data analysis! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel to systematically learn excellent files from each lecture is very helpful.

par kaila v d r

Jun 11, 2017

Excellent way to learn Basic EXCEL from this COURSE. Teaching methods are easy to understand and the practice quiz after every lesson will make you to prepare for the FINAL WEEK QUIZ.

par Leonel G

Apr 26, 2020

Good course, it provides the basis for the rest of the specialization. It is basic, and it may be boring if you already know Excel, but it is necessary as part of the specialization.

par Yanjun X

Oct 08, 2019

The steps are easy to follow and the course pace is just right. However, the sentences are sometimes hard to understand because of the accent and I have to look at the scripts often.

par Sanjhal S

Jan 08, 2017

The course gives a good understanding of basics of Excel. Using various important elements of Excel it successfully shows how data analysis can be performed using this powerful tool.

par Shubham

May 20, 2018

This course gave me a very basic understanding about excel.It started with basic level and went to advanced level gradually.The course will help me to do data analysis much better.

par Ben S

Jan 27, 2017

This course will give you a great foundation in Excel if you have no previous experience. I now feel confident enough in my abilities to try higher level courses involving Excel.

par Paritosh D

Aug 31, 2018

This course opens your eyes to the potential which Excel offers! A highly recommended introductory course to "see" the big data picture. Many thanks to the Rice University team!

par Sofia L

Jun 06, 2018

I'm using excel for a while but it's good this course refresh you knowledge to ensure you will successfully succeed and accomplish the whole specialization. Thumbs up Coursera.

par beata

Dec 30, 2016

Excellent introduction to Excel. I could revise my knowledge and I learned some new formulas. Videos are very helpful and explanation is clear. I strognly recommend this course!

par Victor I A

Mar 04, 2020

This course opened my eyes to the working of Excel as it concerns data analysis. I am glad I took this course and a big thank you to Dr Borle for making the course interesting.