Chevron Left
Retour à Excel Basics for Data Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Excel Basics for Data Analysis par Réseau de compétences IBM

4.7
étoiles
4,905 évaluations

À propos du cours

Spreadsheet tools like Excel are an essential tool for working with data - whether for data analytics, business, marketing, or research. This course is designed to give you a basic working knowledge of Excel and how to use it for analyzing data. This course is suitable for those who are interested in pursuing a career in data analysis or data science, as well as anyone looking to use Excel for data analysis in their own domain. No prior experience with spreadsheets or coding is required - all you need is a device with a modern web browser and the ability to create a Microsoft account to access Excel online at no cost. If you have a desktop version of Excel, you can also easily follow along with the course. Throughout this course, you'll gain valuable experience working with data sets and spreadsheets. We'll start by introducing you to spreadsheets like Microsoft Excel and Google Sheets, and show you how to load data from multiple formats. From there, you'll learn how to perform basic data wrangling and cleansing tasks using functions, and expand your knowledge of data analysis through the use of filtering, sorting, and pivot tables. There is a strong focus on practice and applied learning in this course. With each lab, you'll have the opportunity to manipulate data and gain hands-on experience using Excel. You'll learn how to clean and format your data efficiently, and convert it into a pivot table to make it more organized and readable. The final project will allow you to showcase your newly acquired data analysis skills by working with real data sets and spreadsheets. By the end of this course, you'll have a solid foundation in using Excel for data analysis. You'll have worked with multiple data sets and spreadsheets, and will have the skills and knowledge needed to effectively clean and analyze data without having to learn any code. So let's get started!...

Meilleurs avis

JR

26 sept. 2022

Overall this was a refresher for me. I was able to reconnect with some of the Excel functions and can now apply those to my current job. The teachings and exercises I found useful and easy to follow.

FK

24 mai 2022

Wow, the practical (Hands on ) part is a boom! How did the course disigner/ instructor and the rest of the team involved manage to do that?

Also the review part....so well done and easy to follow!

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 988 Avis pour Excel Basics for Data Analysis

par Rohan N

30 janv. 2021

Great Excel basic course provided by IBM. It made me learn many things about excel and its usage in various aspects of data analysis. Only thing I didn't enjoy is the computer sound used in all the videos. Because of the computer sound/artificial sound used, it lacked the personal touch one would enjoy. So I have only 2 suggestions to give :

1) Use a teacher/professor/expert who can teach us and take us through each and every aspect.

2) The assignments are sometimes difficult to complete because certain features are not available in certain excel versions

par Doug M

30 nov. 2020

While fairly basic for people familiar with Excel, it ensures a good basis as one moves forward to have a solid foundation for data analysis. And there absolutely were a few tricks and shortcuts that I learned. Also very much appreciated that this was more hands-on than previous DA courses have been which is necessary to really gain understanding.

par Vaishnavi G

30 janv. 2021

Can I get credit for the IBM courses I completed.

I scored 97% grade for Excel basics for Data Analytics and 89% grade in Introduction to Data Analytics but it is mentioned as a non-credit course.

I have paid the fees for the courses and I need credit to be mentioned for the interview.

par Ángel M

12 janv. 2021

Muy bueno aunque le he tenido que reportar un fallo en relación a cómo hacer un ejercicio (descripción incorrecta).

par Christian

20 déc. 2020

Starts off a little slow but some useful bits as the weeks progress.

par Victoria M

10 déc. 2020

Course could have gone into more in depth intricacies of Excel

par Hans A E

8 nov. 2020

Very good and well presented with assessments and assignments

par Suraj G (

3 nov. 2020

no focus on graph and visualisation

par John O

28 oct. 2020

Just what I wanted!

par Louie D

5 oct. 2020

A great course!

par Njabulo L M

11 janv. 2021

good course

par Tori

2 juin 2021

Overly simplistic and takes a LONG time to explain the basics of Excel (3 of 5 weeks is devoted to "basic" functionality and familiarity with buttons). If this was a completely introductory course on Excel, sure, but this is for a professional certificate. I expect a little more substance and challenge. I learned a bit about PivotTables (much easier than older Excel versions), but nothing I didn't already know, and it didn't explain HOW they work and exactly WHAT they're used for and their specific benefits.

par Ian M S

9 févr. 2021

I like how the course is structured into easily identifiable parts and in sync with the data analysis process. It would be nice to have this information in a pdf too to make the information available to be read more easily which makes it easier to refer back to. There are also quite a few issues in some of the instructions/labs/assignments which I have flagged and I think should be fixed to make this a five star course.

par Abi K

3 déc. 2020

It would be great if this was an elective. I would like to receive the Data Analytics certificate and the assumption was made that people taking this series don't have basic excel skills. it would have been great to be able to opt out of this and still get the certificate as a finance professional who has been using excel for many years.

par Chase H

28 déc. 2020

Overall, this is a very good basis excel course.

But, it doesn't provide enough hands-on projects. And students aren't able to verify the result of the projects.

Also, it only shows the short cut for windows excel, not for ios excel.

It still needs some improvement to make it better for the data analysts.

par Charae G

10 sept. 2021

A lot of inconsistencies between the hands-on work instructions and the grading rubric, making it very easy to fail the labs and become confused on what you are suppose to be doing and if you are doing it right. This needs to be fixed in this course. Otherwise, it discourages people from even finishing the course at all. I got marked off on my final project during peer review solely based on a rubric that was completely different than the spreadsheet I was given for the project. I lost almost 1/3 of the points because my answers (which were right) were graded against a rubric that did not even correspond to the spreadsheet project. I understand that IBM wants to change the spreadsheets regularyl to deter cheating, but they also have to change the lab instructions to correspond with whatever version of excel is publicly available and change their grading rubric to match the new spreadsheet that they provide as well.

par Ori B

26 mars 2021

Very basic course, with nice coverage of basic functions - but relatively no coverage of actual Excel Data Analysis functions and no coverage of in-depth real case

par Akshay J

5 juin 2022

This course is suitable for students/professionals who already possess some sort of Excel knowledge. One who dont have any idea cant get it properly..

par Charles Akomba

5 mai 2022

Know i realized that becoming a data analyst without programing language skills is true with Microsoft Excel

par Michael C

19 avr. 2022

Really confusing as many aspects of the tutorial don't seem to appear in excel, which is really frustrating as this is an important aspect of Excel and I feel like I will just have to skip over this and now not feel confident going forward, will most likely have to invest in other training programs specifically for pivot tables and charts and am now put off from coursera.

par Jecris M

10 avr. 2021

I just like to make some comments about the evaluation being rendered by some students. I understand that this is a peer-graded final projects (most of the time). However, there were some student who are not really giving fair evaluation that sometimes even if it's reasonable to give a good grade, it ended up having the least grade or sometimes zero. Whenever I rate a peer project, I always bear in mind that the grade I will give is very important to the owner of the project because he/she spent time and resource in order to finish it. With that, it serves for me a guiding principle to make reasonable consideration in rendering my evaluation which demand personal responsibility to me - that I need to make sure that I fully understand the task, myself. Whether, generally or personally speaking, I would like to clarify that this is not a dispute but a reasonable comment about being fair and considerate as we all know that some students are not well verse in the evaluation task. We also need to consideration that there are those if they received a low grade they would also tend to find reasons to give low evaluation to the student's project they're evaluation. I would love to help aspiring students whom I feel striving to submit a job well done though as not exactly as evaluation letter after letter far from any form of discrimination, and of course, not being discriminated. Besides, I believe that the grades are very important or I say precious especially to one who's yet building his/her career because credentials like this also speaks for the validity of their skillset. I hope you won't mind me giving this comment, I just really have to say it. Thank you.

par Raidan

24 nov. 2022

There is a clear error in Part 2 Task 3 being asked in the peer evaluation if the table showed "like this". The next task is to sort the table in descending order and task 3 table will not look the same (unless theres another pivot table required).

I was marked zero for this question which clearly should have been 2 points as I did that except the table has been changed because the requirement is to sort it by descending order.

I think that question is unnecessary to be asked in the peer evaluation since the table will not show and it confuses the reviewers. Hoping for a fix on this.

Overall, I learned a lot which is the most important, and why I'm still marking the course 5 stars.

par Erick J A P

5 nov. 2022

Es un muy buen curso para familiarizarse con las herramientas básicas que forman parte de Excel y como aplicarlas en la Ciencia de Datos, en este curso aprendí formas de cómo darle control de calidad a la información antes de poder trabajar con ella y de este modo tener mejores resultados que estén sustentado con la información tratada de manera correcta. La opinión de los expertos es importante pues ayuda a tener un entendimiento de lo que estamos aprendiendo ya aplicado en lo laboral.

Los ejercicios prácticos ayudan a reforzar y complementar lo visto en los videos.

par Michele S

27 avr. 2021

The course was a great review. I don't love the peer review format for the final project. The first time I submitted, I could clearly see my attachments however my peer said there were none attached and gave me zero points for everything. The second attempt was better but the peer reviewer still took of points for things that weren't being graded (such as where the sums are on the worksheet, the directions did not specify where to put them and mine were in the same place as the demo video yet I still lost points. Definitely being nitpicky but it matters to me.)

par Firdous B

24 août 2022

Beneficial experiences to start your data analysis journey as a data analytics .

* Gained the basic experiences that's added to my journey in this field(Data Analysis)

* The resources are very helpful in many ways , specifically in difficult scenarios

* Especially the way these data analysis , can interperate things , so that you can have a better understanding on certain topics that could possibly challenging at times .

* Good information to start out as a junior .