Chevron Left
Retour à EU policy and implementation: making Europe work!

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour EU policy and implementation: making Europe work! par Université de Leyde

4.3
étoiles
127 évaluations
23 avis

À propos du cours

People have become more critical of EU policy and often seem to prefer local policy solutions in response to globalisation problems. How do you experience EU policy? Does it help? And if not, how can we change this? In this course, we learn how the European Union prepares and decides on policy, and how policy is transferred to member states and implemented by various authorities, including regional and local governments. We discuss the challenges of the European multi-level governance structure. We also focus on the main causes of policy failure or success. On this journey, we focus on actual policy and present the views of various experts: how easy is it to establish yourself in another EU-country? How do governments make sure that the air you breathe is clean? And who is responsible? You will be able to do research together in your own local setting. Research on implementation in which you can make comparisons between different countries or areas. If you live outside the EU, this is not a problem. We have developed assignments in such a way that you can do research in your area and compare your findings with others. This MOOC has been rated as one of the best MOOCs of 2017 and is currently in the Top 50 MOOCs of All Time of Class Central So, are you curious? Please join: 'EU policy and implementation: making Europe work'. Watch our trailer video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n3nSN9R3VR4...

Meilleurs avis

MM
16 août 2017

Great course! It offers you important knowledge about the EU policy making process and shows and explains you the tools you need for a good analysis and which will help you to get the best results.

AS
27 avr. 2017

Great course, I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot about policymaking and policy implementation.

Filtrer par :

1 - 23 sur 23 Avis pour EU policy and implementation: making Europe work!

par diana s

9 janv. 2019

First of all, I had great difficulties to understand the accent of the tutors in this course. Sometimes, the videos were not matching the subtitles.

It is a great course, however for the tasks requiring research on specific countries of EU, it was very hard to find answers to certain questions due to missing information on EUROSTAT and not only. Meanwhile i was searching for the specific information from the national institutions (it takes sometimes up to 2 weeks to have an official answer from administration), i found that the questions were totally changed, which thing added hardship to my already existent struggle. Topping up with the fact that for the following month I had to pay a renewal, right, for not completing the course within one month. So, economically speaking, to pay extra 50$ for the course and a total of 100$ is not worth.

That's my opinion about the course. Maybe others would find it different. I like EU law though and I m willing to pursue with other course.

par John C

24 mars 2020

This MOOC does not match the quality of others I have taken. The video lectures jump into decision theory and do not present any context or understanding of the EU's present-day structure except to refer publicly available material on europa.eu. In short, this course is not very coherent without significant self-study (so what's the point?). In only the first week, "European Business Law: Understanding the Fundamentals" from Lund University actually gave me a better understanding of EU, by starting with the history and looking at the various treaties and principles in them.

par Nikita S

29 mai 2020

Course could be a lot more interesting with smaller case studies, real life examples and actual data in videos and breakdown of that data, interpretation and analysis rather than having multiple research paper readings corresponding to each video. Although research papers are appreciated and are a form of great academic knowledge, too many of them don't serve the purpose of "learning" for people who are new to the entire policy formation process.

Otherwise, the course is brilliant with it's content and the depth it chooses to go into. With a few minor changes, this could get a lot more interesting.

Thank you!

par Michel V

26 déc. 2018

This course has been excellent, very well-focused and complete. Really enjoyed learning about policy making processes in the EU. All I've learnt will be very useful for the type of work I do, I'm sure.

par Mihai I M

17 août 2017

Great course! It offers you important knowledge about the EU policy making process and shows and explains you the tools you need for a good analysis and which will help you to get the best results.

par Anna L S

28 avr. 2017

Great course, I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot about policymaking and policy implementation.

par Brice G

6 juin 2017

Great course. A lot of lecture, very good speaker. Concrete exemple.

Need a high involvement.

par Βρασίδας Π

23 janv. 2018

Helped me a lot to have a clear picture of how the EU functions through it's institutions.

par Jan F

4 avr. 2018

Fantastic course. Thank you Mr Steunenberg, UL and Coursera for making this happen.

par Catrin G E

6 oct. 2020

Exactly what I expected to learn from this course, excellent!

par Vesna S

20 oct. 2017

Loved the course, it was perfect!

par Svetlana P

27 mars 2017

I like it very much

par Ana L

4 avr. 2019

amazing, i love it

par Abdulaziz S B

25 déc. 2019

Excellent

par Elisa V

26 nov. 2017

The first two lectures were a bit difficult for someone like me without any politic/socioenomic experience. i think that the course would benefit from a more detailed introduction. Overall it is a great course and I really enjoyed doing it!

par David K

11 juil. 2017

Great course, learned a lot about the mechanisms of policy formulation and implementation in EU and got excited about implementation in my area!

par Barbora S

10 sept. 2017

Great opportunity to have insights into EU decision-making process and think of it in a structured way.

par Felipe S

23 mars 2018

Great informative course!

par Borja A

30 mars 2017

The lectures made by the professor were really helpful and provided many insights into policy making within the EU. However, some tasks such as filling air pollution standards were not that insightful. Also, unsynchronized subtitles were a bit annoying same for the poor sound from invited professors in air pollution videos of chapters 4 and 5.

par Soraya B

7 juin 2020

The course was interesting but focuses a lot on theories (of decision-making and political dynamics within EU politics). The honors track allows to apply the concepts to a concrete and detailed EU policy file, but requires a lot more work.

You need to have a good understanding of the EU institutional framework to enjoy the course.

par Anthony T

26 oct. 2020

The course was good and provided me with the information I was seeking but was FAR too heavy in reading bureaucratic academic texts for my liking. Professor Steunenberg is, however, an excellent teacher on the subject and made the course worthy of taking. Thank you to both University Leiden and the professor for the course.

par Pavel C

16 nov. 2020

While the lectures are fine and the reading materials are great, I feel that the quizzes were too easy. They do not test understanding of the topic, and it is possible to complete the course in 2-3 days just by searching for answers in the reading materials. Perhaps you will feel more satisfied if you choose to go with the Honours Track, but for those who opted to do it this can be a slightly underwhelming experience