Chevron Left
Retour à Le contrôle épigénétique de l'expression des gènes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Le contrôle épigénétique de l'expression des gènes par Université de Melbourne

4.8
étoiles
646 évaluations
182 avis

À propos du cours

While the human genome sequence has transformed our understanding of human biology, it isn’t just the sequence of your DNA that matters, but also how you use it! How are some genes activated and others are silenced? How is this controlled? The answer is epigenetics. Epigenetics has been a hot topic for research over the past decade as it has become clear that aberrant epigenetic control contributes to disease (particularly to cancer). Epigenetic alterations are heritable through cell division, and in some instances are able to behave similarly to mutations in terms of their stability. Importantly, unlike genetic mutations, epigenetic modifications are reversible and therefore have the potential to be manipulated therapeutically. It has also become clear in recent years that epigenetic modifications are sensitive to the environment (for example diet), which has sparked a large amount of public debate and research. This course will give an introduction to the fundamentals of epigenetic control. We will examine epigenetic phenomena that are manifestations of epigenetic control in several organisms, with a focus on mammals. We will examine the interplay between epigenetic control and the environment and finally the role of aberrant epigenetic control in disease. All necessary information will be covered in the lectures, and recommended and required readings will be provided. There are no additional required texts for this course. For those interested, additional information can be obtained in the following textbook. Epigenetics. Allis, Jenuwein, Reinberg and Caparros. Cold Spring Harbour Laboratory Press. ISBN-13: 978-0879697242 | Edition: 1...

Meilleurs avis

MM

Oct 02, 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

GK

May 20, 2020

This course was new to me. All the concepts were explained in a very simplified manner. I am very happy to have done this course and find it a very interesting field to take upm in my future career.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 178 Avis pour Le contrôle épigénétique de l'expression des gènes

par Alagbe O A

Nov 27, 2019

The lectures were enlightening and easy to follow and understand. there were also a lot of examples that made the lectures easy to understand. I totally loved and enjoyed it

par Lusya M

Jun 19, 2016

The course is very interesting for those who like Genetics. The lectures are delivered in an understandable manner, and the motion pictures make everything clear right away.

par Arthur V L

Dec 11, 2016

Excellent course by an expert in the field. Full appreciation requires a background in biochemistry and genetics, but still a lot can be learned by anyone with interest.

par Hina K

Nov 17, 2018

This course is well taught and some important concepts are repeated over and over again during the course so the concept lingers in the brain as if it was there already.

par Andrew E M

Dec 13, 2016

A great course! I certainly learnt a lot. Please note, that if you haven't studied a scientific course before, then I think you would find this course too challenging.

par Václav B

Oct 25, 2017

This course was really inspiring and I really enjoyed the part about histone modification, X chromosome inactivation and the influence of an environment on epigenome.

par Santiago T

Sep 27, 2018

I enjoyed and learnt a lot about epigenetics by taking part in this great course. The content is clear and very well explained. The Professor is outstanding! Thanks

par Mukund K

May 11, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience! Every week was very captivating . Focus is on concepts and assignments test the understanding of them. Thank you Dr. Blewitt!!

par Bettina H

May 02, 2017

The course was great! I did not know much about epigenetics beforehand and now I feel like I could have an informed conversation. My curiosity was awakend

par Anshit S

May 24, 2020

Wonderful course. Dr. Marnie Blewitt has marvelously explained Epigenetics as a concept to every student. Will definitely help me in my future research!

par Lorenzo T I

May 19, 2020

A knowledge-packed course highly recommended for those who want to deepen his/her knowledge of the epigenetic machinery in eukaryotic cells.

par Muhammad F N

Feb 23, 2020

A great course for students of biotechnology and bioinformatics. I wish i could study in such university by the great respectable teachers.

par Ignacio S

Sep 17, 2018

If somebody bilieves tis course is gonna be an easy one, is wrong. Very detailed, well organized, clever questions. It makes you think.

par Kasturika S

Dec 24, 2017

This is an awesome course which provides intriguing yet interesting insights in epigenetics and gene regulation as well as expression!!

par Todor T G

Aug 07, 2017

One of the best course on Coursera on this topic for experts and not so. Thanks a lot and I'll be glad to see follow up on the subject.

par Julia S S d S

May 22, 2020

This course is perfect! The teacher makes epigenetics seem easy, the lectures are very clarifying. I would recommend it to everyone!

par Marija R

Dec 24, 2016

An interesting course delivered in an excellent manner, with a challenging material being explained in a way that is easy to grasp.

par BHASKAR C M R

Jul 08, 2019

This is one of the best courses in terms of science. The depth and breadth of epigenetics are well illustrated and explained.

par Mohamed A S

Aug 25, 2016

Excellent course and i can say one of the best courses when it comes gene expression and i wanna thank to Dr. Marnie Blewitt

par Cristy T B

May 15, 2020

The teaching system used is very complete and all the time keep your interest. You are satisfied with what you have learn.

par VIVEK G

Jul 04, 2018

One of the best courses I have been through. I have only one suggestion to include retrotransposons in cancer in details.

par Graciela E C A

May 06, 2020

The classes were easy to understand and the information was well-provided. I enjoyed this course and learnt a lot.

par Kuanysh S

Sep 20, 2017

In my opinion, everyone who really wish to understand the most steps of gene regulation should take this course.

par Barbara F

May 13, 2020

Excellent course. Interesting topic amazingly explained by Dr. Blewitt! I would definitely recommend it!

par Ritesh K

May 25, 2017

Very well explained. Those working on epigenetics or have interest in the subject should do this course.