Chevron Left
Retour à e-Learning Ecologies: Innovative Approaches to Teaching and Learning for the Digital Age

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour e-Learning Ecologies: Innovative Approaches to Teaching and Learning for the Digital Age par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.6
étoiles
232 évaluations
80 avis

À propos du cours

For three decades and longer we have heard educators and technologists making a case for the transformative power of technology in learning. However, despite the rhetoric, in many ways and at most institutional sites, education is still relatively untouched by technology. Even when technologies are introduced, the changes sometimes seem insignificant and the results seem disappointing. If the print textbook is replaced by an e-book, do the social relations of knowledge and learning necessarily change at all or for the better? If the pen-and-paper test is mechanized, does this change the nature of our assessment systems? Technology, in other words, need not necessarily bring significant change. Technology might not even represent a step forward in education. But what might be new? How can we use technologies to innovate in education? This course explores seven affordances of e-learning ecologies, which open up genuine possibilities for what we call New Learning – transformative, 21st century learning: 1. Ubiquitous Learning 2. Active Knowledge Making 3. Multimodal Meaning 4. Recursive Feedback 5. Collaborative Intelligence 6. Metacognition 7. Differentiated Learning These affordances, if recognized and harnessed, will prepare learners for success in a world that is increasingly dominated by digital information flows and tools for communication in the workplace, public spaces, and personal life. This course offers a wide variety of examples of learning technologies and technology implementations that, to varying degrees, demonstrate these affordances in action. -------------------------------- Recommended Background -------------------------------- This course is designed for people interested in the future of education and the "learning society," including people who may wish to join education as a profession, practicing teachers interested in exploring future directions for a vocation that is currently undergoing transformation, and community and workplace leaders who regard their mission to be in part "educative." -------------------------------- Related Resources -------------------------------- This course is based on the following book: https://www.amazon.com/Learning-Ecologies-Bill-Cope/dp/1138193720 Additional online resources are available here: https://newlearningonline.com/e-learning -------------------------------- Take this Course for Credit at the University of Illinois -------------------------------- This course has the same content and anticipates the same level of contribution by students in the e-Learning Ecologies course offered to graduate certificate, masters, and doctoral level students in the Learning Design and Leadership Program in the College of Education at the University of Illinois. Of course, in the nature of MOOCs many people will just want to view the videos and casually join some of the discussions. Some people say that these limited kinds of participation offer evidence that MOOCs suffer from low retention rates. Far from it – we say that any level of engagement is good engagement. On the other hand, if you would like to take this course for credit at the University of Illinois, you will find more information about our program here: https://newlearningonline.com/kalantzis-and-cope/learning-design-and-leadership-program And you can apply here: https://education.illinois.edu/epol/programs-degrees/ldl -------------------------------- The Learning Design and Leadership Series of MOOCs -------------------------------- This course is one of a series of eight MOOCs created by Bill Cope and Mary Kalantzis for the Learning Design and Leadership program at the University of Illinois. If you find this MOOC helpful, please join us in others! e-Learning Ecologies: Innovative Approaches to Teaching and Learning for the Digital Age https://www.coursera.org/learn/elearning New Learning: Principles and Patterns of Pedagogy https://www.coursera.org/learn/newlearning Assessment for Learning https://www.coursera.org/learn/assessmentforlearning Learning, Knowledge, and Human Development https://www.coursera.org/learn/learning-knowledge-human-development Ubiquitous Learning and Instructional Technologies https://www.coursera.org/learn/ubiquitouslearning Negotiating Learner Differences: Towards Productive Diversity in Learning https://www.coursera.org/learn/learnerdifferences Literacy Teaching and Learning: Aims, Approaches and Pedagogies https://www.coursera.org/learn/literacy-teaching-learning Multimodal Literacies: Communication and Learning in the Era of Digital Media https://www.coursera.org/learn/multimodal-literacies...

Meilleurs avis

BG

Apr 13, 2020

This course was very interesting and thought provoking. I would certainly recommend for any teacher that is now trying to work with their students from within an online forum. Thank you!!!

LR

Jul 09, 2020

This course is Amazing. The learning opportunity helps me to become more EQUIPT with the necessary information and practices that I need to be more effective in my work. Thank you so much.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 80 Avis pour e-Learning Ecologies: Innovative Approaches to Teaching and Learning for the Digital Age

par Juliette L

Mar 01, 2019

Nothing "innovative" or new in this course. Don't expect academic rigor.

The professors essentially delivered the content in ways they said NOT to deliver content (stand in front of a boring visual and talk AT your class; have students do discussion questions). I found myself skipping the videos and only reading the transcripts. It was quicker and made me realize there was nothing in any of the videos that made video a preferred medium to deliver content. Why sit through 5-15 minutes of someone talking/reading their notes when I could read the page and get more from it? What a waste.

Beyond that, the peer grading of assignments was foolish. Some of the grades/feedback I got from peers showed they did not actually read my full response or pay attention to the question asked of us. One person even said it seemed I hadn't watched the video--even though I quoted directly from the video and responded to it. In a different assignment I brought in relevant links and details that I have found/used/learned in my work as a college professor already versed in digital learning, but my classmates gave me a failing grade. When I revised my assignment to only reference Wikipedia instead, it got a full score. Baffling.

My only take-away from this course is how NOT to do an online course.

par Anna C R

Sep 27, 2018

An overview of basic best practices in education with the repeated thesis that "today's technology" enables such practices to occur to a greater extent. Lack of depth in concepts and very few concrete tools or "innovative" approaches to be utilized. If you think "e-learning ecologies" will specifically address topics and problems related to online and blended learning, you will be disappointed.

par Roberto S d O

Nov 15, 2017

This course is fantastic! I started with a level of expectation that was quickly overwhelmed and I finished got achieving much more. This extens content gave me valuable insights and a large spectrum of issues to research and learn about from now. I'm thankful to Prof. Bill Cope and Prof. Mary Kalantzis for this great course that I certainly recommend.

par Emily S L

Dec 15, 2019

almost everything were good enough to learn about elearning ecology.

but sometimes it was very hard to get a score from peers, though i had already uploaded the assignment

par Mitch H

Jan 16, 2020

The content was quite interesting. I felt the value that the instructors and Illinois brought to this topic.

The dual format (Scholar and Coursera) approach was confusing.

I did not get the sense of community with this course. Not sure how many were enrolled but there was very little contact.

There was no current content provided by the instructor during the run of the course. (on autopilot?)

In a course on eLearning I expected much more facile, innovative and creative delivery. The experience felt very much like MOOC v.1

I also felt there was too much self-emphasis placed on the Scholar format - as if the instructors were using the content to tout and promote the format. It felt disingenuous.

Rigor and assessment were very light - which is good or bad depending on your expectations.

As with any format like this, you get more out of it if you put more in.

Why is this response set up to be center justified?

par Robert R D J

Aug 12, 2017

A logically arranged course offering a cogent, insightful creative vision of learning in a time of emerging digital affordances. The course is interesting and worthwhile to take, beyond any shadow of a doubt. Highly recommended for anyone interested in teaching and learning in the 21st century, particularly e-learning, which increasingly intrudes on and mixes with "face to face" teaching and learning, as we harness the tools and media now available relatively easily, cheaply and ubiquitously. This MOOC . provides a good framework for thinking about the near future in 2017. If you take the course for a certificate or if you are considering using this course as an entree into the Champaign-Urbana graduate program, be aware that not all students take the peer review process seriously and that you may need to do one or more of the four peer-assessed tasks more than once to earn your certificate if one or more of your peers evaluates your work as inadequate or substandard, whether fairly or unfairly. In my view, for the most part, if you invest in the course and take it seriously, you will benefit significantly and gain new perspectives and skills. Not a perfect course, but it is engaging, informative, visionary and extremely well constructed.

par Fareed K K

May 27, 2020

This course is designed primarily for every teacher or learner to understand the innovative approaches to teaching and learning. The best part of it is that you will learn and review your work of peers and you need to submit your work early to get your grades faster. This course has honed my research skills and the ability to perform better in this course which was quite evident at the end of this course. A satisfaction of gaining a new approach to knowledge-making with a certificate, indeed. Thanks to Dr. William Cope and Dr. Mary Kalantzis for sharing their knowledge with us. Cheers :)

par Sebastien R

May 11, 2020

At an age when all the formal learning is moving online, it's essential to understand how to make the most of digital technologies in education (and not replicate the outdated practices that are already out there). This course helps you do this AND MORE. The contents are highly relevant and the course design is brilliant. I walk away with a clearer understanding of how to teach better in an online environment and with input from other course participants, I have been inspired by many of their ideas, on top of the research from the two experts teaching this course. 100% satisfied!

par HEATHER R P

May 21, 2020

With our university closing its doors due to the pandemic, as professors we have all been scrambling to figure out how to switch to remote instruction. Many of my colleagues are hyperfocused on which webcam to use or how to get the best audio for their lectures. Instead I asked, "How can I take advantage of this disruption to figure out how to truly teach this new generation?" This class has given me the answers I've been seeking. I'll never go back to my old way of teaching again, even after the pandemic ends.

par Craig G

Apr 30, 2020

Fantastic course! The ideas are not new, but considering how the lecturers link what is known in education to be essential pedagogical approaching to new technology in order to improve student learning, I believe this is one of the most essential courses teachers and educational leaders need to take to hep prepare themselves for the needed changes in education

par Laurie W

Jun 11, 2020

The video lectures covered concepts that were immediately applicable to my career as a high school teacher and community college instructor. I found imagination was sparked with new ideas for lessons and new approaches to classroom practices. If you care about student experience and systemic change in education, I do believe this course is worth completing.

par Victor L M d L C

May 19, 2020

An interesting approach on how current teaching technologies can serve both to repeat "more of the same" or to create a new opportunity to revolutionize teaching pedagogy. This course is a great opportunity for teachers who want to start getting used to using digital tools in teaching - a trend that is apparently guaranteed for the future of education.

par Chunyan H

May 11, 2020

I really enjoy learning this online course. It's my first time taking an entirely online course. Through this course, I learn lots of valuable new educational concepts that open my mind and benefit me in my future career. I love the online class community where I could meet global professionals who have the same passion as me. Thank you, Coursera.

par Priyank P

Feb 28, 2019

It was wonderful to attend and complete this course. Lectures and learning from Dr Bill and Dr Mary were very effective, useful and insightful. The concept of e-Learning Ecologies: Innovative Approaches to Teaching and Learning for the Digital Age and learning of eLearning Affordances are really useful and worth knowing.

par Aprisa C

Feb 12, 2019

Using affordance approach, the tutors introduce us to the e-learning ecologies. Found it interesting and obtained many takeaways from the course. I am not from education, therefore in order to do the assignments, I needed to read many papers in education and digital learning.

par Paula B L

Oct 24, 2019

This is an amazing course. I have found super interesting ideas and a totally new approach to use technology as a learning tool not only for my students but for myself too.

If you are interested in education, if you have kids or are an educator this is a must to do course.

par Nanda

Aug 11, 2020

Thank you to my instructor's for all the support. For moving ahead kindly include stem based courses for educators of primary level classes, as it is the trend now in schools and very essential for all teachers gain knowledge in this field.

Thank you once again.

par Chase H

Aug 21, 2018

Taking this course has been a very thoughtful and also mind opening experience to me. I really liked the discussion around the 7 affordances which is a solid and forward looking framework to help us undertstand what really is education in the digital age.

par Magda R

Mar 06, 2020

I have worked in education for 13 year. I have had a lot of experience working with digital tools. This course was absolutely fantastic, with high academic quality. I loved it so much Im going to take more courses from this University and Department.

par Samreid M

Apr 06, 2020

Excellent course, the lectures videos were very well done and were thoroughly engaging. I'm going to do more courses with the University of Illinois, I learnt a lot.

More assessed tasks/quizzes would be better, though.

par Rodrigo A d S

Feb 04, 2018

Curso bem estruturado. A integração com o Scholar proporciona conhecer um ambiente feito exclusivamente para o contexto educacional. O curso proporciona recursos para repensar a prática docente na cultura digital.

par Lolita G R

Jul 09, 2020

This course is Amazing. The learning opportunity helps me to become more EQUIPT with the necessary information and practices that I need to be more effective in my work. Thank you so much.

par Brenda G

Apr 13, 2020

This course was very interesting and thought provoking. I would certainly recommend for any teacher that is now trying to work with their students from within an online forum. Thank you!!!

par Andrea F H

Aug 01, 2018

Great course ! It will definitely change my way of teaching for blended classes or even for face-to-face classes. Thanks a lot to Bill and Maria and everyone of the staff of this MOOC ! 😊

par Kerri Y

Aug 08, 2020

I appreciated the well-organized format and overall the way the course was designed. Particularly the opportunity to choose our own areas of focus for assignments to learn more.