Chevron Left
Retour à Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development par Université de Genève

4.7
étoiles
318 évaluations
118 avis

À propos du cours

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

Meilleurs avis

DS

Sep 07, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

C

Jun 05, 2017

I found this course very exciting and informative!! I learned a great deal about valuing ecosystem services and its complex challenges. I will highly suggest this course to fellow learners!

Filtrer par :

101 - 118 sur 118 Avis pour Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

par Tomáš Š

May 15, 2020

TOP

par Trevor R T

Oct 23, 2017

Great introductory course to Ecosystem Services. I have two critiques, the first is that the estimated times for completing each assignment and video are not very accurate. Although the videos have are obviously a specific time length, the actual time to complete each module is longer than just the total time of all the videos and 10 minute for each assignment. Secondly, there are a lot of additional resources presented (articles and reports), which is great to add to my bibliographic library abou ES! However, there are soo many additional resources offered, yet there is only one required reading assignment for this course. I think that there should be a couple more required key readings that are selected and tested upon.

par David D

Oct 07, 2017

It's hard for me personally to rate this course as I do not have a real need to dive into the the details. I was looking for an overall perspective and what exactly this meant. Therefore I am satisfied even if I do not feel the need to complete the case study, etc.

The course was professionally presented with a wealth of experts. It still remains to be seen if this approach will make such a positive impact to promote more positive sustainable development but the protocols and methodology look well thought out and I understand many initiatives have worked out successfully, so bravo!

par Alex N

May 24, 2020

The material is good and well rounded. Some of the questions and material are a little unclear, perhaps because of translation errors. The material is interactive and the peer-reviewed writing prompts are a good idea. I didn't have any problem getting assignments reviewed. I would have liked more technical details about ecosystem services methods rather than the discussion on whether ecosystems services are a good idea/ are ethical/ are useful for conservation (I do appreciate that this is included I just feel it monopolized the course a little).

par Natàlia B P

Jun 03, 2020

Very interesting and I liked it a lot, particularly the different points of view of each of the presenters, lecturers and guests. This allows the student to understand the strengths and weaknesses of the method. However, I maybe missed a more practical module, one to actually learn how would an assessment come to be (for example, like the extra-module 6, but actually with sequences and support, because I think it's not very useful as it is - well, at least for me). But great course overall.

par Claire B

Aug 28, 2017

I have enjoyed the class very much. It is a very good introduction to Ecosystem Services. This is not an easy topic, but this is well-done, well balanced, and brings many various different views, therefore including objectivity on the matter. I appreciate this greatly!

par Shefali

Mar 31, 2020

This course does not only engage the students to understand importance of ecosystem services and different valuation techniques but also have provided great knowledge about the challenges and opportunities .

par Pallabi C

Jun 29, 2020

I could not complete the project on ecosystem services assessment of module 6 for reasons unknown. Otherwise the course is very good and it gave me deeper understanding of the concept.

par Filipe B d S

Jun 30, 2018

Is a very good course, but is not easy to understand immediatly, is necessary to dedicate and comprehend very well to get a great development.

par Noam J

Jul 05, 2018

A brief and nuanced introduction to Ecosystem Services. Very well moderated and expert speakers. Also the cases and resources are useful.

par Antoni R M

Mar 17, 2017

Really interesting and useful course to obtain great insights of the Ecosystem Services approach.

par Manisha K

Jun 03, 2020

Great course to learn the trade offs in sustainable development

par Tanja W

Apr 13, 2020

Very complex for understanding principles but great challenge.

par Sondos A C

May 09, 2018

Great!!

par Erik S

May 06, 2017

An interesting course to learn about the emergence, context, beliefs, methods, experiences and risks of the economic approach to ecological functions. It is well done, with a lot of engagement by the teaching staff, especially Dr. Schlaepfer. Sometimes a little bit to talkative, sometimes a little bit to partial or ideological, sometimes missing of forgetting that there exist other proved integrative approaches to the (e)valuation of ecologic functions – like the verbal argumentative approach in Germany’s landscape planning and EIA - and that most of the nature conservation we can observe today – from the 19th Century on - was achieved by other than economic or monetary reasoning. I would like to suggest: (first) including a better substantiation of the ecological foundations of the approach considering that the implicit assumption of nature as “capital” offering “services” has a really weak conceptual base; (second) to profound on the issue of our limited capacity to discount the future where I see an interesting option to apply economic thinking to nature conservation; and (third) to include a more modern approach to decision making in political institutions. Since the 1970’s we know in policy analysis pretty well that decision making is conditioned by consensus-conflict-processes and that information processing - even sophisticated one as proposed in the course - is considered in decision making only if it fits to the results of consensus-conflict processes. Kind regards and thanks very much.

par jon l

Sep 23, 2017

As a relatively new field, much is still to define and discover. I think the course could have been more interesting if combined with less theory and more discussion on application.

par Tamer M

Jun 09, 2018

Not completely on board with the methodology, and although may be interesting to those heavily invested, did not quite find the course material drawing me in.

par Erica S

Jul 01, 2020

Nothing but videos and the videos were long. Way too long.