Chevron Left
Retour à Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS par Université Duke

4.6
étoiles
13,535 évaluations
2,935 avis

À propos du cours

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Meilleurs avis

IS

5 oct. 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

AD

16 juil. 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 2,944 Avis pour Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

par Victoria S

14 mai 2020

There are some very good concepts and attempts at teaching here but there is a lot for frustration too. I have some experience working on GUI programming not quite the same but I understand that sometimes things just don't work the way you want... in this case though lots of concepts aren't explained or aren't linked together. We are given very specific examples without enough reference. When learning new things you build on the old, you can't just say in the last lesson we learned concept x so here is concept y. Now go figure concept z using concept x and y without any knowledge of z. It would be nice to take a few extra minutes to build from the base up so you know x+y=z. We never got that. The lectures are fairly informative and you do get the chance to learn a lot of new concepts but you aren't given enough to really implement your learning and by the time you figure it out you're usually so frustrated that you don't want to continue. The first week was awesome and I really enjoyed it. My webpage turned out well and it was easy to use but once JavaScript was added in the learning became disjointed. I'm disappointed that I didn't get to see that before I paid for the course because if week 2 was the first week I would not have taken this course.

The worst thing though is that I found that the "Try It" options came before we learned the concept! So I would grit and struggle and fail for hours (the time estimates are so far off for this course) and then finally decide to just move on, only to learn the key concept I was missing wasn't taught until the next lesson! That is so unbelievably frustrating as a learner. On top of that, some things just didn't work in the Duke Learn to Code Program for no reason causing me to have to export my code and refresh the page then reenter my code. So I would spend so much time thinking I did something wrong when I didn't.

Then when I was working in CodePen on a problem I actually did everything correctly but the files from the Duke website wouldn't come over wasting time trying to fix my code I went to the forums to find that there is a coding error on Duke's side that prevents the image library from working properly. They provided a solution but that solution does not work! I wasn't able to test something I worked on for hours and I was so frustrated. Why wasn't that issue added to the "Try It" instructions? Then I wouldn't have wasted my time.

The forums are fairly helpful because the mentors reply and are very good for the most part with their explanations; but not one of my classmates replied which is interesting to me because I saw one post where over 20 people reviewed my code and didn't know why it wasn't working. Most of the posts I saw also showed the frustration I felt with some of these concepts.

So, I think if you have some experience with JavaScript and watch the videos in order without stopping each week then go back and do the "Try It" options you will be more successful with this course. I certainly don't recommend for a person without any experience and I would reorder/restructure everything in this course to be better for the learner.

par Aaryan V

26 mai 2020

It was a good experience to learn front end development. But, I feel this course was not at a beginner level. I could understand some concepts only because I had prior knowledge, so there could have been a better clarity on topics. The discussion forum feels dead, I had to debug my code myself which is a good thing for building experience and knowledge, but it just defeats the whole point of having a discussion forum. The reading material could be improved for better readability and understandability.

I wanted to complete the specialization very badly as it would enhance my resume, but now I have doubts about it.

par Sarmīte V

11 déc. 2021

Not enough examples. For any question is only one answer - ''Go to Forum'' ( seems nobody use).

par Daniela O B

8 déc. 2021

the theory and explanations are very short compared to the proposed activities

par Kunle O

13 janv. 2022

Where to begin...

1) I'm not sure why Duke decided to have a Javascript course in the Java specialization. That's the only reason I took this course. I'll never understand that decision and it was a huge waste of my time (yes, I know I could've skipped this course, but I'm a completist and want the specialization certificate).

2) The first two weeks were actually pretty good, but Week 3 is where the wheels fell off. The lectures and the assignments started to diverge tremendously. Its normally fine in education, even encouraged, to not give students all the answers and let them figure it out on their own, buts it incredibly frustrating to do this in coding languages since they are so precise, and also since Duke seems to want to use their own special library that you can't check. Some of the assignments had written out instructions with absolutely no clues on how they should be formatted in JavaScript. WHAT?! There's no way I can figure out code formatting on my own, especially with your special functions and library. Which brings me to point 3.

3) I get why Duke uses a friendlier coding program with their own library, but it makes all the methods I've learned worthless in the real world. Why bother learning them if they don't exist anywhere else?

Overall, I dreaded have to log-in and continue this course everyday. Luckily I had other programming languages I could do to keep my spirits up while I trudged along with Javascript. Hopefully the Java portion of this specialization goes much better.

par Ksenia M

7 oct. 2015

I's not exactly class for the beginners. First half covers HTML and CSS and quite understandable and easy. Although, it might also help that I had class completely on HTML and CSS in the past, so I actually know what to do to write necessary code. The second part is on JavaScript. And here is where problem starts (at least for me). I didn't take JavaScript class in the past and it was all new for me. Professors try to explain it in few lectures 10-15 minutes each and then they expect you to write couple of programs and to make some project from scratch in few days. Sorry, maybe it's just me, but I got to have much more then about an hour of explanation to do so. I would highly recommend anyone who is new to JavaScript to take JavaScript class first and then to start this one. And no, I'm not new to programming.

par John S

26 avr. 2020

The structure and pacing of this course both feel off. In a lot of instances the projects don't seem to line up with what was taught in the videos, thereby making the tests extremely difficult.

One of the projects had me write an algorithm to identify/change the colors of pixels on an image. While interesting, I questioned the practicality, and relevance of this exercise. Algorithms can be used to edit an image on a website, but wouldn't learning how to write an algorithm that automates a task on a website have been more relevant?

Overall this is not a class for beginners as it requires a certain level of programming knowledge before starting.

par Muhmmad F u h

8 août 2016

Speaking of beginner level it is good until you are learning css in it . but as java script starts this course becomes a headache , not because javascript is difficult but they made it difficult . instead of going with basics they teach you to manipulate images . which is not every one's interest field . they should improve their javascript course . other than that it is ok .

par Jennifer B C

7 nov. 2015

HTML and CSS were GREAT. JavaScript was very confusing as it did not teach me what each part of the code meant, including the syntax --- and hence I was unable to understand anything by Week 4, despite having listened to all the lectures and participated in the all the activities. I wish JavaScript's structure was more consistent with that of HTML and CSS.

par Michael R

13 juin 2016

No consistency, from very easy web design fundamentals to advanced Javascript with no explanation videos to help over a series of quizzes and assignments in week 3 lesson 3.

par Max P Y

9 nov. 2021

I acknowledge the high level of the syllabus, it was really designed to bring some advanced contents although advertised as "for beginners". I really felt like nobody reviewed the materials - at least not as thoroughly as they should have - and, as we all know, in programming if you can't find the error very soon you become really frustrated, especially if you're a beginner. You can imagine the overwhelming feeling when you realize that the error was in the instructions, the PowerPoint slides, or in the video, as a single period or comma can really bring unnecessary anxiety and waste a lot of the students' time. Of course we are all here to learn but I did expect more care in preparing those precious materials. To top this off, numerous times I had this feeling I missed an explanation then I would watch and re-watch the videos carefully, and still could not figure it out. I didn't know teaching 20% and asking for 60% in the assessments was supposed to be productive or bring good results. In programming you learn by practicing as long as it is properly directed. So, my advice to people who are considering this course is: be prepared to give your 110% because this course is way more demanding than advertised. And it isn't as interactive as it should. You really feel very lonely in the journey because you'll be spending nights by yourself trying to figure out where is the error in your code. Good news is the forums are full of people on the same boat and there will be a lot of help from other students - sometimes, unfortunately, the only way will be asking for a good soul to post their code, after trying it by yourself for hours to an end. Or maybe the error was in the instructions. All the same.

par Alexander F

17 déc. 2019

Anyone could have taught this course because the whole thing was scripted. All the "Teachers" were doing was reading from a prompt instead of using their actual knowledge to actually teach. This course was obsessed with their own JavaScript library that they never taught basic JavaScript foundations and principles. They barely gave you what you needed to complete their assignments and then when you review their example code they have extra functions and code that isn't listed in the assignment. Yet they expect you to know it without explaining it. I cannot recommend this course unless you are specifically trying to learn the Duke Universities specific libraries. Oh and their dukelearntoprogram.com shows just how much they do not know what they are doing. The website's interface is not user-friendly and a big mess. They really show that they know nothing about useability yet they are suppose to be teaching about the foundations of programming. Yet they can't even make their own website functional. Makes me question the quality of learning at Duke University if this is how they represent themselves.

par Jonathan C

11 janv. 2016

This course is misleading in a lot of ways. It is not for beginners at all. The quizzes in the course are beyond impossible. The lecture videos give an introduction to some concepts, but you are left on your own to figure everything out. They do not provide the proper tools to enable students to understand or pass. Reading through a lot of the discussion boards, there are two types of students: 1. those like me, who have never programmed in their life, and cannot figure any of this out, and 2. Those who have all sorts of experience and write things that are way advanced for a "Beginners" course.

Do yourself a favor, and seriously do some research on appropriate programs before signing up for this one. It needs to be structured way better than what it is now.

par Cihad Ö

12 août 2016

The most terrible course I have ever seen in my life and on this site. For some of quiz questions, you feel like you are dumb because you can not make connection between lectures and quizzes. I really wanted to learn java on coursera but It seems impossible to me. Focusing on rbg values and image thingies too much and making me feel uncomfortable at quizzes after watching all those lectures are the main reasons of giving 1 star.

par Nathan w

19 juil. 2020

I didnt learn a thing after week 1. Week 2 is horrible and it just gets worse from there. The tests/quizzes tell you to go back to the videos to help understand the questions, if you got them wrong. When the videos dont answer anything in the first place.

If you think you can figure it out, by all means, try it. But i wouldnt recommend this just on how poorly done week 2 is.

par Adam P

24 mai 2016

Really poor course. Rather than starting from the basics, this course picks random information to work with. Week 1 was information anybody with a computer knows. Week 2 was really good. Week 3 and 4 were completely useless. Rather than starting from the basics they jump into picture manipulation and encoding. Don't take this class if you want to learn about coding.

par Jason H

1 mai 2017

Concentrated on image manipulation which would be ok if you wanted to build visual websites for a living. If you want to code anything like business applications (like I did) I wouldn't do this course.

Because pixel manipulation wasn't something I was interested in (in the JavaScript section) at all I found the course really boring but it was too late to pull out.

par Jordan T H

18 févr. 2017

So many better options out there to learn to code. The videos on this course had me so confused that I eventually gave up and went to another website to learn what I was supposed to be learning here. Asked a question on the forum that another student was also having a problem and nobody answered me.

Very very boring. Try somewhere else.

par Robert D C

13 janv. 2016

I wanted to learn more about programming, but instead I found myself tested on RGB combinations and building a website straight out of 1998. The course is scatter and although it claims to be for beginners, it covers programming concepts rather quickly. If i hadn't taken other programming classes, I would have been lost.

par Simion H

19 août 2019

I cannot use this course.

The learning steps are two big and not explained.

Instead of taking us with small steps, they show a bit of content (insufficient) and expect solving it without prior knowledge. In this respect I have had much better course with Udemy; would have expected better teaching skills on Coursera.

par PONDAVEN

29 mars 2016

The JAVASCRIPT part of the course was to difficult for me I didn't understand enough. I would like to see more tutorial.

par Satti K R

17 juin 2020

i want to leave

par Nancy W

28 mai 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I now feel comfortable programming in JavaScript, HTML5 and CSS3. I like most of the lectures, and the assignments progressed from simple to more interesting and interactive web pages. I liked the 7 Step Approach to solving Programming Problems. Some of my favorite exercises involved Digitally creating a filter to Grayscale Images, using a Green Screen Algorithm to alter an image's background, and creating digital filters to apply to photos - all on interactive web pages that you create in the course! I find that I want to learn more about Front End Web Development! I was glad that you could take a Quiz over again, and they keep your highest grade! I liked the optional assignments, in case you wanted extra credit, or wanted more practice. The lectures actual introduce object oriented programming concepts, without all the terminology, which I believe makes the course easier for beginners.

par Khaled H

14 août 2017

i have taken the whole specialization . so this review is for the whole specialization in general and for the capastone in particular.

the first and the second courses are very easy . but the three remaining courses are a little bit tough

so you will need to struggle and persist to complete the whole specialization especially the great project .

indeed the project is extremely great . you will use all the concept you have learned through this specialization to implement this great project .... but NOTE this specialization in general and the project in particular is NOT for a BEGINNER Programmer. it is for some one who has a background in programming . but overall you will learn a lot of great stuff and concepts .. so have fun and enjoy programming .

par darraghmerrick

16 juin 2016

I found the course both interesting and challenging and I definitely picked up new skills. On completion of this course, I am able to write a webpage with active URL links, pictures, make ordered, un-ordered lists and make tables with embedded lists and images etc. In addition I learned how to style the web page with fonts, colors and positions using CSS.

The next section was about image processing using java scripting. We did steganography , hiding images and text within images. The whole thing was finished with creating an e-Portfolio, which tested everything we learned.

I enjoyed the course and am now moving onto the next course in this specialization.

Darragh Merrick