Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science par IBM

4.3
étoiles
1,942 évaluations
431 avis

À propos du cours

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python We've been reported that some of the material in this course is too advanced. So in case you feel the same, please have a look at the following materials first before starting this course, we've been reported that this really helps. Of course, you can give this course a try first and then in case you need, take the following courses / materials. It's free... https://cognitiveclass.ai/learn/spark https://dataplatform.cloud.ibm.com/analytics/notebooks/v2/f8982db1-5e55-46d6-a272-fd11b670be38/view?access_token=533a1925cd1c4c362aabe7b3336b3eae2a99e0dc923ec0775d891c31c5bbbc68 This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Meilleurs avis

ZS
13 janv. 2021

The contents of this course are really practical and to the point. The examples and notebooks are also up to date and are very useful. i really recommend this course if you want to start with Spark.

MA
19 juin 2021

Great Course but this would have been even a better course if more concepts and details were covered in it. Anyways, still a great course for beginners

Filtrer par :

276 - 300 sur 433 Avis pour Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

par William Y

5 mai 2021

I wish the course offers more information on SparkContext and SparkConf, setMaster, wget, etc; In other word, how data is being passed around, and what component is responsible for what tasks, etc.

par Jan D

19 mars 2017

Good course with a good Instructor. It's a real basic course and good for beginners, though you need to have to dive into Python and Spark on your own to follow the course and the assignments. :)

par ADEJOKUN A

24 juin 2020

Great Introductory course for Big Data Analytics. The exercises and the assignments had the appropriate level of difficulty considering this was an advanced course. Thank you IBM and Coursera.

par Pranav N

27 août 2019

Deserves 5 Star if the contents are updated such as removing redundant codes in Video lectures, upgrading Python and Spark to latest version etc. Overall a great place to start Scalable DS.

par Daniel D S P

7 juin 2020

La semana 2 es un ladrillo, se explican los temas de ingeniería para el procesamiento masivo de datos, pero la explicación no es muy pedagógica que digamos. Por lo demás estuvo muy bien.

par Bruno N

3 sept. 2018

Very good course for a hands on overview introduction to the topic, and the associated tools (particularly Apache PiSpark).

Some issues with the auto grader encountered sometimes.

par Luca P

13 sept. 2021

Very clear explanations. Tests not too difficult. Sometime too easy for an "advance" course. I liked it and I am looking forward to learn in the next sections of the program.

par Quazi M T M

5 juil. 2020

There should be some links that are helpful towards this course, as it is an intermediate course, what courses are available in Coursera prior to this as a beginner lesson.

par Nora I

19 nov. 2020

The difference between rdd, dataframe and sql.spark could be more clear in the practical sense. But all in all excellent course. A boost in my Data Scientist profile!

par Gouri K

12 nov. 2019

Good overall,instructor was very good,but I feel more examples could be used especially when explaining multidimensional vector space and such basics of graphs

par Ivan J M

2 nov. 2019

There are a lot of not updated sections, sometimes it confuses me because in some videos he talks about how we will use Node RED but then we don't use it.

par Gerardo E G G

26 juin 2020

Great Course!

I would like to suggest to update the videos in order to reflect the operations in Python 3.x rather than 2.x but everything else was great!

par Muzamal A

10 mai 2020

Romeo is a great instructor and I love his lectures, however some of the quiz questions are very trivial and aren't explained on his video tutorials...

par Lucas M B

2 déc. 2019

Seria ótimo se atualizassem o conteúdo do vídeo para reproduzir a versão atual do sistema e do Python, porém em teoria o conteúdo não deixou a desejar.

par Parth G

4 oct. 2020

A bit on the easy side especially if you are proficient with SQL. But otherwise a decent into to spark and nice flavour of data analysis with python.

par Eric J

9 févr. 2017

Really good course to provide an overview of working within IBM's cloud platform offerings. This course provides the basics of ApacheSpark as well.

par Thomas M

12 sept. 2020

Pretty fun introduction, assignments were moslty copy-paste from instruction videos, so you don't get to 'learn' the right way in my opinion

par Kevin A H L

30 juil. 2020

I taught the course would be more advanced. Terminology is confusing at first, but besides that, the assignments aren't so challenging.

par Umer A B

18 mars 2017

The Grader template in the beginning is very confusing when doing first assignment. The response from Instructor should be quick.

par Mortaja A

4 janv. 2019

structure and instruction to setup of ibm clound and ibm watson needs improvement. overall good instructions and flow.

par Tamer M

24 sept. 2019

Most of the video's subtitles need to be synced, it was hard to fully understand the Indian accent without subtitles.

par Jaydeep K R

23 juin 2020

It was a good overview of the large scale data but I would be more interesting if they had provided more Practice.

par Norman F

13 janv. 2019

Some errors like lambdas are not working anymore with Python, some typos like in Assignment 4.1 and missing steps.

par matthew w

15 mars 2021

Content (videos and quizzes were great). I would have preferred the coding assignments to be more challenging.

par Jithil S

5 juil. 2020

A pretty good starter course for apache spark although the software version used in this course is outdated .