Chevron Left
Retour à Dog Emotion and Cognition

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Dog Emotion and Cognition par Université Duke

4.7
étoiles
4,173 évaluations
1,249 avis

À propos du cours

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Meilleurs avis

DE

13 déc. 2020

I learned valuable information about dogs. I can better understand the thought processes of my own dogs. I really like that the lecture slides were provided after the lectures, so I could review them.

LT

3 août 2019

Great course with a lot of new information, not just about dogs but even domestication of other species, including humans. The predictability of aggression in humans would be an interesting next topic

Filtrer par :

1176 - 1200 sur 1,242 Avis pour Dog Emotion and Cognition

par Amelie K

8 déc. 2015

It was a little long before getting to the REALLY interesting stuff, but it's a good course for what you pay. I wish there were a follow up one, like a level 2.

I also wish that Brian didn't refer to groups of dogs as "dog packs" as dogs are not pack animals. This leads to confusion as dog owners will then believe that they need to be a pack leader and everything that comes with that stereotype. I also wish he didn't focus so much on the idea that dogs are from wolves, because again, many people revert to "this is how wolves are so this is how i treat my dog" it leads to confusion. Just read the comments on some threads. Even while doing this course, people were saying how they need to be a pack leader and how they follow what Cesar Milan does.

However, for those of us that know there is a difference, it was interesting to learn more about the differences between wolves and dogs. I just wish the course focused more on dogs

par Marco R

30 août 2020

The beginning is very slow, I almost quit the first week because I felt this course was just an add for the website Dognition, I understand it´s a great tool and science is being done about it and you want to spread the word, but shoving it into every single lecture was too much. Instead there should be more focus on the actual content of the course, fleshing it out a bit better, recommending books and papers cited for those who want to take a more in-depth look at the studies, etc.

Having said that, the second part of the course really picked up and taught some interesting facts and studies with a more applicable knowledge, the studies on foxes and apes saved the journey, although I wonder if it's ok for them to be the highlight on a dog cognition course.

par Verena S

17 déc. 2015

I enjoyed a lot of this course, especially the parts about evolution and social intelligence. Very interesting!! However, as a professional dog trainer and having studied through the Karen Pryor Academy, I was VERY disappointed to see Brian Hare's misunderstanding of clicker training. I would be happy to chat with him about the realities of clicker training and how an event marker works, if he'd be interested ;)

Futhermore, I bought the book and paid for a certificate, but because I took over 180 days to complete the course (despite the course being "self-paced, with suggested deadlines to help you keep on track), I did not get my certificate and was informed that to get it I'd have to pay again for the same product.

par Claire C

23 juin 2020

Dog Emotion and Cognition was an overall interesting course at beginner's level with a carefully selected range of topics. I particularly enjoyed the part about the self domestication of bonobos, and Belyaev's silver fox domestication experiments. Dr Hare also loosely illustrated how experiments were designed, conducted, and how the results were interpreted, which may be valuable to those who don't already have a scientific education background. However, the repetitive self-promotion of Dr Hare's book and website (with a paywall) in multiple lecture videos was truly annoying, and it almost put me off completing the course.

par Johanna G

25 mai 2016

Interesting subject & Basic idea to have a dog defined for the exercises is nice but w/o dog hard to benefit. A bit too much talking in front of a wall ;-) Could benefit from more illustrative material. Graphs / Videos / Pictures. Why not show examples of Dogs doing the games, that would be great for people who do not (yet) own a dog. I was hoping to get some insight into problematic dog behaviour but maybe that was wrong expectation.

par Al G

16 mai 2020

This was a simple, but engaging course. Unfortunately, the main reason I took this course was to learn more about dog motivation, and that wasn't really discussed at all (which seems strange, considering that seems to be a pretty basic intersection of emotion and cognition). Aside from that oversight, I did learn some interesting things, especially in regards to how experimentation and behavioral studies are conducted.

par Nathan H

22 mars 2022

The material is reasonably interesting, but

1​. There's nothing about dog emotion in the course, and it felt like less than half of the course was about dogs.

2​. It seems like one of lecturer's primary motivations while creating the course was to promote his web site.

3​. It seemed like there was a lot of weight put on "our modern approach is so enlightened" stuff, but there's also a lot of narrative thinking.

par Amy G

16 mai 2020

Interesting new facts on dog evolution. Course said it was free. But if you are to get anything from it, you had to purchase his books then he suggested another 30 bucks to play dog games to enhance the course. Well that means it's not free anymore. I managed to find a way to get the book free. The book was good. But only by audio. Reading it would have been boring.

Still I learned stuff I did not know.

par Fabián J E F

9 avr. 2021

There was some good information here and I think that it was a great introduction to the topic of cognition in general but like many others have pointed out it was very lackluster in many aspects, the presentations weren't too great but it felt more like they were selling the "games" from their page to me at all times if not most of them, overall it was a great introduction but some parts were just bad.

par Aubrey R

15 mars 2020

As a dog trainer I was really excited about this course. But much of the content was about humans and great apes and the rest all seemed like a long-form ad for Dognition, Dr. Hare's app. I did learn a few things that are useful for my career and quite a few factoids that are just neat to know, but overall I was pretty disappointed with course content.

par Sandra O

29 oct. 2019

I hadn't heard about ecological approach to cognition, and having someone explain the different ways in which different animals can be "smart" felt helpful even if a bit oversimplified.

That said, it felt a lot like an advertisement (worked on me, I think the product is cool) and a bit rushed in places (typos, some lectures with very little substance).

par Maikel J P

10 nov. 2016

The course was good, but I think that only it's really enjoyable if you have a dog. As the professor says, both the book and the online resource Dognition isn't needed for the completion of this course. The book was really good, but I think that Dognition was too expensive, especially if you haven't a dog (not useful).

par Andreu T E

23 avr. 2020

The material that's taught is great but the name of the course is a little disappointing. It is more focused in human and ape cognition that you would expect and if you are looking to this course as a tool to help you understand your dog better I would say that this course isn't for you.

par Heather L

7 déc. 2020

To be honest this course was not what I expected. It was very science and evolution driven when I expected to learn more about how dogs think and work. A large chunk of the course information was about primates and foxes, only dabbling into the dog side here and there.

par Candy M

6 janv. 2020

Lots of the information was interesting, but I feel that a lot of the lectures spent too much time on anecdotes and examples. I don't feel as though the amount I learned was relative to the amount of time spent getting through the course.

par Abhishek G

11 août 2020

While the course certainly provided insights into Dog cognition and their relation with humans, there is much more i was looking for in this. Next, the course could cover the 'how' of dog thinking patterns, if at all that can be known.

par April D

26 août 2020

The short 5 minute videos were too short and made it difficult to follow. Often times the video would end in the middle of a sentence.

Also too much cross selling trying to get people to use the paid site.

par kelly g

28 mai 2018

I expect the course to concentrate on dog cognition and have a lot more information on dog behaviours and emotions. Although it did cover these areas i felt some weeks i didn't learn anything new about dogs

par Samantha D C

6 janv. 2016

I did enjoy this course, but at times I felt a little bored, like it was loosing my interest. Some of the information given was more about other species and I think that's what made it less gripping for me.

par Amanda S

18 août 2020

Great info but when I try to share the certificate it says signed by John Doe. I expect a mailed certificate with a seal for $50, not a crappy certificate that isn’t signed or able to be displayed.

par Mallory H

20 sept. 2020

More of a crash course but there are some very interesting topics. Reading The Genius of dogs along with the course is highly recommended. Some of the review questions are difficult to understand.

par Rosanna L

28 mai 2017

Interesting course, some of the videos were a little long for the information provided, but was good to hear about comparisons in dogs, wolves and apes and the experiments conducted.

par Rebecca r

27 mars 2019

This course was really interesting and has taught me a lot. However the first few weeks were not as focused on dogs, they tended to be more about apes and humans and evoution.

par Johana S

4 juil. 2020

An ideally inclusive offering for you and your companion to explore at home. In-depth evolutionary theory for you, and the toolkit to test the theories with your friend

par Jose L L

12 juin 2020

I learned about dogs only on the latter week 6 -8. wish you could've went with that. The history was okay but it was too dragging for me.