Chevron Left
Retour à Dog Emotion and Cognition

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Dog Emotion and Cognition par Université Duke

4.7
étoiles
4,174 évaluations
1,250 avis

À propos du cours

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Meilleurs avis

DE

13 déc. 2020

I learned valuable information about dogs. I can better understand the thought processes of my own dogs. I really like that the lecture slides were provided after the lectures, so I could review them.

LT

3 août 2019

Great course with a lot of new information, not just about dogs but even domestication of other species, including humans. The predictability of aggression in humans would be an interesting next topic

Filtrer par :

1151 - 1175 sur 1,242 Avis pour Dog Emotion and Cognition

par Darleen M

9 juin 2016

Little high on the scientific data

par yanira c c

25 janv. 2017

Un curso bastante interesante.

par Adrian P

18 août 2020

It was informative and useful

par Roxanne M

26 oct. 2016

I really liked this course!

par Dorothy N

15 nov. 2019

Great course ! Very useful

par Kathy A M

7 mars 2022

II nteresting information

par Deleted A

13 juil. 2020

Thanks for the material !

par Kelly C

12 févr. 2016

Excellent, I learned alot

par Alejandro P R

14 sept. 2016

Interesting and useful!

par Christine T

16 sept. 2020

Enjoyed the subject!

par Mimi G

26 févr. 2016

It was a lot of fun!

par FELIPE U

31 déc. 2015

So much interesting

par Stephen D

2 janv. 2016

Great class!

par Ivy C

16 août 2021

informative

par Lizbeth E V N

2 avr. 2020

Really nice

par KO K T

11 sept. 2015

should know

par Daniel A S B

23 sept. 2015

Intersting

par Yuduan L

30 mars 2016

Quite f

par Namnisha R

9 déc. 2020

Nice!

par Sara E B T

3 mai 2018

bien

par Patti A

17 mai 2022

p

par Antoinette S

18 nov. 2016

I may have gotten more out of this course if I hadn't already read "The Genius of Dogs".

I would like to suggest that the slides be subjected to more rigorous proofreading, as I came across several typographical errors. It doesn't look professional.

On quizzes, when a student is asked to select the one FALSE answer, please remove any "all of the above are TRUE" statements. A mentor replied to another student who pointed out this conumdrum on the Week 7 Forum with: "I understand where you are coming from Phil, but only one of the answers as an individual answer is incorrect. The answer "all of the above are correct" is neither true nor false, as only one of the answers in the 'all' is the exception." And I say that if I have a bouquet of roses, 11 red ones and 1 yellow and I were to say that "all of the roses in my bouquet are red" you would correct me, as one is not, and "all" demands 12 out of 12, otherwise, it is not all. Should you still feel a quibble, let me suggest that you contact the Department of Philosophy, ask for someone expert in symbolic logic and run it by him/her.

par Mai K M

25 nov. 2020

Although Professor is a dog lover, this is not a course on 'how to train your dog' rather than presenting case studies and research on behaviors in dogs, apes, wolves, etc historically through evolution. Heavy plug-in for his book and website. I appreciate the study but I wouldn't recommend it especially if you are looking for methods to train, change your dog's behavior. It's educational but lengthy, and I didn't find the content personally applicable.

PROS: I give 4 stars for enthusiastic speaker. Well organized slides. Easy 2 question quizzes after each segment.

CONS: I give 2 stars on content didn't keep me engaged. I had to take breaks and come back to digest the lecture. I did not purchase the Professor's book which (he refers to often) and the free games he mentioned were not readily available on his website Dognition to practice with my dog with purchasing a subscription. So without free tools, felt lacking the application and lost interest.

Total 3 stars. Appreciate the good info but for time-sake I would not recommend doing the whole course.

par THE C S

23 nov. 2021

I am a professional biologist, and a professional, force-free dog trainer. Overall this course was pretty good; however, I felt there was too much too much emphasis on Dognition. I liked learning about it, and where to access it if I wished, but at times this course felt like a marketing pitch for Dognition. I am in full support of citizen science data collection, but a course (that ultimately people may choose to pay for) doesn't feel like the right place for marketing.

Dr. Brian Hare's knowledge is clearly excellent and it is evident that he is well informed regarding the newest canine cognition research. However, his delivery could use improvement. The use of filler words, such as "um" and "ah" made the course almost unbearable. This was particularly surprising given that the course was pre-recorded. There would have been ample opportunity to practice the delivery and do re-takes if the delivery didn't go smoothly etc.

Overall though, a very interesting course and a great introduction to the science of dog cognition.