Chevron Left
Retour à Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
924 évaluations
225 avis

À propos du cours

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Meilleurs avis

JL

29 juil. 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH

6 avr. 2020

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 225 Avis pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

par ARUNESH N

8 juin 2020

The programming assignments could have been described more appropriately otherwise the course material was quite great.

par Juana S L

22 avr. 2018

I couldn't finish successfully last question but I don't know why. I believe I understand the meaning of the question

par Cagdas U

4 janv. 2019

The answers are stale. MEME tool results don't match what they expect. It takes a while to find students to review.

par Hariz S

4 juil. 2021

Please do Biology meet Programmer before doing this course. A bit leap even for biologist with some coding skill

par Kenny S

11 avr. 2021

the course is great, extermely informative and educational, just takes a lot of time to grok all the information

par Максим

6 mars 2017

Есть недоработки, но вместе с комментариями других учащихся, можно разобраться в сути заданий

par Amruth B

3 mai 2021

Good course! However, some parts of the honors track were too challenging for a biologist.

par Nghia L

15 août 2020

Some parts are written in a way that is very hard to understand, but overall good course

par Barby S

19 janv. 2022

NOT FOR BEGGINNERS!!!

Excellent material and teachers. I can't follow them

par TeriLynn S

9 juil. 2018

The two platform format is quite complex. But the material is excellent!

par Jack C

5 janv. 2020

The course was very informative, but at points it was very confusing.

par Aditya B

5 août 2016

Very well explained for both biologists and computer scientists.

par 정문필

7 mai 2020

Best lecture to dive into Bioinformatics first time!

par Iqra A

3 août 2020

Not made for a biologist but for a programming man.

par Shiv H

28 sept. 2018

Good Course but at times difficult to understand.

par Nikhil Y

19 avr. 2020

it was an amazing course!!

par Meng Z

4 mars 2019

The course is great!

par Shiyamaladevi R S 2

4 nov. 2021

.

par Todd T

9 nov. 2017

E

par Alejandro M H

25 avr. 2022

I liked this course more years ago, when I agreed without the possibility of having a certificate. Today I register it to have the certificate and I am surprised how much it has changed. Many videos were removed and you practically depend on reading the material on Stepik. Perhaps the biggest problem is the lack of clarity of the pseudocodes and the disaster of having to wait for someone to review your assignment to complete the course. It is unbelievable that in 2022 that will be a limitation to obtain the certificate.

par Evgeny T

9 févr. 2017

To be completely honest, I was expecting more from this course. One big setback is that the course material does not really go into biochemical fundamentals of what is going on, and instead jumps straight into algorithms. This might work for someone with enough background in biology who needs to learn to code. I, on the other side, have already had some exposure to software development and algorithms, but when Pavel mentions gene expression and transcription I have a very vague idea what he is talking about.

par Zhuoxi Y

3 mai 2021

The difficulty of this course is not at all beginners from a biologist's perspective. The difficulty of this course increases drastically from week 1 to week 2. I kindly suggest that the course coordinator to review the content as some students have pointed out that there are certain errors here and there in the stepik tool's content. Another point is that certain terminology presented in stepik are quite poorly explained.

par Wesley R

11 oct. 2020

Course was easy to follow and the explanations made sense from the instructors about half the time. The other half, the coding sections and pseudocode would be horribly confusing. The sections about random motif finding and gibbs sampling were particularly frustrating. I would say some coding experience is necessary to do well in this course in a reasonable timeframe.

par Hugo A M A

11 juin 2020

It´s too dificult. It says that this course is for beginners, and during the course they assume that we know Python or any other programming language. I passed the first week of bioinformatics 1, but I gave up with the second week. I recommend first doing the course "Biology meets programming".

par Hanna A

17 juin 2021

Die Inhalte waren verständlich und gut strukturiert, jedoch braucht man Vorkenntnisse bezüglich des Programmierens, da dies nicht wirklich erklärt, aber für die Honors-Aufgaben vorausgesetzt werden. Der Pseudocode ist leider keine Hilfe dabei.