Chevron Left
Retour à Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
925 évaluations

À propos du cours

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Meilleurs avis

JL

29 juil. 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH

6 avr. 2020

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 225 Avis pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

par Shengbo W

10 sept. 2018

It is really helpful!

par Muhammad K T

15 juin 2017

Very Informative...

par Karen G

9 févr. 2017

great introduction!

par Wenbing Y

20 oct. 2016

Great course. Learn

par Victor C

3 mars 2019

Loving it so far.

par Dmitry G

26 mai 2016

Excellent course!

par Purger T

13 sept. 2021

fantastic course

par Shreedevi B B

16 mai 2020

good experience

par Shweta C

4 août 2017

Great Course !!

par Anagha R

15 mai 2020

really helpful

par Xiaoyu Z

20 oct. 2016

Great Course!

par Ursu E

23 janv. 2017

Great course

par Ziyue L

27 oct. 2016

It is great!

par FCD S

8 juin 2020

nice course

par Rajat S 1

3 juin 2020

it was nice

par qi w

2 mars 2020

Very clear!

par Luis S M F

4 juin 2020

Super cool

par Weidong X

25 nov. 2016

very good.

par Gustavo M A A

28 août 2021

Excelente

par Greta G

11 janv. 2019

Great!

par Owen J J

4 janv. 2017

This is certainly not a course for beginners! The content of the course were rather complex and prior computer science knowledge is extremely helpful to finish this course. It was a struggle for me to finish this course without any background in computer science. However, it was definitely challenging and gave me an insight on how two different disciplines can be connected in a single field of study. The only improvement I could think of is if there were videos regarding the basic computer science knowledge that could have helped biologists such as myself. Perhaps giving an example on how things are done could be useful. There were only a handful of examples and the examples only gave the answers but did not explain how to get that answer well enough.

par Jennifer M M

30 avr. 2018

Great course. Good introduction to applying computer science to real biology problems. Only cons to this course is that it tries to split the line between biologists wanting to learn more bioinformatics and data scientists wanting to learn bioinformatics which boils down to the coding being tough and at times not well explained and there not being enough explanation for the biology part. I wouldn't take this if you don't have any coding skills because without working through the coding challenges the course isn't useful and for those with what would be more novice coding skills (like me) be prepared to spend a lot of time on this course. Well worth the challenge.

par Micheal A

25 juin 2018

I found this course incredibly enlightening and because I feel so highly of it I'm going to buy the accompanying book. My one issue is with peer evaluation of the final assignment, I don't believe in peer evaluation in situations where the peers may not be trained. What if one of the graders don't understand why they have a question wrong, despite having seen the answers. I don't think such a person should be allowed to perform evaluations. That being said,all the algorithms and the explanations behind them, super interesting and because I have taken this course and learned what I have, I am now considering graduate school in this field.

par Ludmila D

18 juil. 2020

The authors are funny guys and the explanation of material is solid. However, I found programming tasks not specified properly. I found difficulties in understanding ~25% of tasks and I had to read comments to get the task properly. In addition, there are lots of dependencies on syntaxis output which has nothing to do with answers and material understanding. Poor biologists who attempt to complete the programming section. It has to be improved (and there are tons of ideas on how to improve it in Stepik comments ). Just improve the programming part and the course will become invaluable!

par Beatrice R

27 sept. 2017

I enjoyed and learned a lot from this course. I have no background in biology or computer science. My recommendation would be that there are more examples and explanations and problem-solving activities that do not require programming. This is my first Coursera course and I realize I could have benefitted more from hearing and speaking about what I was learning. It would have helped me answer the short-answer questions of the project. I hope to complete the specialization and have already started the second course.