Chevron Left
Retour à Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
795 évaluations
180 avis

À propos du cours

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Meilleurs avis

JL
29 juil. 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH
6 avr. 2020

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 175 Avis pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

par Daniel D

11 sept. 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

par Maxwell S

1 févr. 2020

Excellent course. The Stepik grading could use a couple of tweaks and perhaps a bit more debugging, but it was an excellent blend of bioinformatics, molecular biology, and programming.

par Valeriya K

13 avr. 2020

Overall, the course is great. However, in the week 4, the quality of pseudocode is not as good, it is much harder to follow. Would love to have had a more extensive explanation.

par Qianhao L

27 juil. 2017

The algorithms mentioned in this course are explained very well. But still a little bit of programming language is needed. Look forward to the advanced courses.

par Mihai P

4 déc. 2017

Nice and recommended.

(The final exam was a bit tedious though, with many points repeatedly given simply for "uploading the logo" and not much creative leeway)

par Ahmed A

30 avr. 2020

Extremely helpful. This course is not limited to teaching us to use Bioinformatic Tools, it also helps us understand deeply the ways in which the tools work.

par Ali J

17 août 2019

Hard class

If you have problems, go ahead and take Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics (University of California San Diego)... Highly suggest that

par Andrew C

29 mars 2019

I feel this was a good introduction to bioinformatics. It can be a little confusing sometimes, but there was nothing I could not figure out in the end

par Jeet N

23 sept. 2020

Please be clear while explaining the course. it not clear what are they trying to explain and it takes a lot time for us to figure it out.

par Oluwafemi O

15 juil. 2020

I really enjoyed the course, most especially the code challenges in the honors track. Thanks to the tutors for this wonderful course!

par Mhd Y Y

11 déc. 2017

A GOOD START TO LEARN BIOINFORMATICS, AND ITS ALGORITHMS.

YOU SHOULD HAVE SOME PROGRAMMING EXPERIENCE FOR A BETTER UNDERSTANDING.

^_^

par Sumant K

8 oct. 2020

Excellent introduction of Bioinformatics to computer scientist. I am committed for the long haul now, on learning Bioinformatics.

par Sonam K

14 août 2020

Loved how hands-on and interactive this course is! I learnt python side-by-side with this course, and it was definitely worth it!

par Oscar J O R

14 août 2018

Really nice and clear course. The hands-on learning is fundamental to create a smooth transition between algorithms and biology.

par Ivo P

2 avr. 2018

Well prepared course although sometimes tough due to algorithmization tasks even for people with programming background.

par Hao-Wen S

11 févr. 2018

The course was challenging and the workload was heavy (for the honors track). Yet very rewarding in the end - thank you!

par Borislav M

9 juin 2016

This course offers in terms of knowledge and programming far more than I had expected. Very satisfied with it.

par Amila R

31 déc. 2019

This is an awesome approach to learn bioinformatics things. Very concise and detailed (not boring) teaching!!

par Patricio C G A

21 mars 2018

Excellent! Recommended for any professional in the field that needs a truly understanding of Bioinformatics.

par vibha h

12 avr. 2017

Wonderful course for anyone who wants to explore bioinformatics. I really liked the programming assignments.

par Naveen P

18 juin 2016

Very well structured and informative. Got a good understanding of motifs finding and its related algorithms

par Dr S C

29 juin 2018

A great introduction to this topic. I really felt I came away from this course with some useful skills.

par Víctor G J

15 juin 2017

I've had lots of fun and I've learnt some of the foundations of Bioinformatics. I couldn't expect more.

par Alex M

14 juin 2016

The interactive lessons are excellent! Especially with the optional break-out lessons to dive deeper.

par Olaf W

2 oct. 2018

Great content, very well structured. Loved the interactive text with the graded coding exercises.