Chevron Left
Retour à Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.7
étoiles
530 évaluations
108 avis

À propos du cours

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Meilleurs avis

JL

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

DD

Sep 11, 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 103 Avis pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

par Patricio C G A

Mar 22, 2018

Excellent! Recommended for any professional in the field that needs a truly understanding of Bioinformatics.

par vibha h

Apr 12, 2017

Wonderful course for anyone who wants to explore bioinformatics. I really liked the programming assignments.

par Naveen P

Jun 19, 2016

Very well structured and informative. Got a good understanding of motifs finding and its related algorithms

par Dr S C

Jun 29, 2018

A great introduction to this topic. I really felt I came away from this course with some useful skills.

par Víctor G J

Jun 15, 2017

I've had lots of fun and I've learnt some of the foundations of Bioinformatics. I couldn't expect more.

par Alex M

Jun 14, 2016

The interactive lessons are excellent! Especially with the optional break-out lessons to dive deeper.

par Olaf W

Oct 02, 2018

Great content, very well structured. Loved the interactive text with the graded coding exercises.

par Brian A

Feb 18, 2017

Doing the Honors track. It's hard, but extremely rewarding! Thanks for making an awesome course.

par Julian A S

Oct 16, 2018

Clear and well-formatted. No instructional support in the forums was disappointing, though.

par Mohamed E

Jul 08, 2017

An excellent Course, The course left me more enthusiastic about Bio-informatics , Thanks

par Yichi S

Mar 05, 2018

Very nice introductory course. Well designed and very interactive. I really love it.

par Hugo E C A

Sep 12, 2019

One great course, however there is not a lot of people to qualify your assignments

par John K F E

Jul 19, 2019

Great introduction to Python and Algorithms and its application to Bioinformatics

par Alina F

Jun 06, 2016

After completing only one Week I am absolutely sure that this course is amazing!

par Fish

May 13, 2019

I can learn a lot from the simple samples but I think I still have a long way.

par Jussi R

Sep 18, 2017

Cool stuff, I didn't even realize how close we are computational linguistics.

par Adrien L

Jun 26, 2016

Excellent teachers, excellent assignments. My favorite MOOC so far, congrats!

par Fabio J F

Feb 17, 2019

Some activities were unnecessary but coding up the algorithms was a treat :)

par Sri M K

Dec 04, 2016

This course has been a lot of fun. However, I would like to experience more!

par Zack X

Jul 21, 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

par ChenYuexi

Jun 22, 2017

Those pseudocode help a lot. And this course helps me start coding.

par Mare B

Jul 17, 2016

Very interesting course for those who want to learn new algorithms.

par Nicolas S V

Mar 24, 2018

Insightful and introductory course to the bioinformatics world.

par Dragica J

Sep 12, 2016

Very interesting course! I am enrolling to bioinformatics II :)

par Anil K P

Jan 10, 2017

I like the intersection of computer science and biology!