Chevron Left
Retour à Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
825 évaluations
193 avis

À propos du cours

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Meilleurs avis

JL
29 juil. 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH
6 avr. 2020

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Filtrer par :

176 - 188 sur 188 Avis pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

par Erdős G

8 août 2016

Very bad course. No videos, just an interactive textbook. The course states all you need is "high school level biology" yet you require coding knowledge for the very first quiz. there are side questions on the first week like does this algorithm runs in O(k * l * x^2) or O(xllogk) without ANY explanation. I guess you can find much much better book about bioinformatics, and as this course is nothing more then a book i recommend a better one.

par Flavien H

2 sept. 2020

Just buy their book and go to Rosalind, this course is totally useless and the book is already enough expensive ! Especially that if you are not already good at programming or in maths you will need it for a lot of "details" they will not explain because "not relevant" while it's "just" relevant to understand what you do.

par Krushna P

21 sept. 2020

The course is not for beginners at all. The course requires a previous knowledge of programming with python as they expect us to code without giving enough instructions. I found this too tough because of that.

par Akruti I

29 sept. 2020

how do i unroll ??? the course introduction explainined 'NO need of coding but needs hard coding skills' im enable to do the assignments .i want to leave the course and i cant find the option to leave.

par Johany C S G

5 janv. 2021

Este curso y la especializacion en general, no esta enfocado a biologos, biotecnologos ni otras carreras de biologia y salud. Es una estafa, me arrepiento infinitamente.

par sakshi b

13 févr. 2021

as you proceed this becomes more difficult and unexplanatory

you need proper guidance and good hands on knowledge of coding before starting this course

par Manisha R

27 août 2020

The course says no coding experience but every example has coding in it. If so they at least have explained basic coding but didn't. Poor explanation.

par Alice K

28 juin 2020

Too confusing for me right out the gate, and I even have a little programming experience. I thought it was for beginners.

par Zhenan L

26 août 2019

some technical problem, those explanation figure not working.

par Deleted A

23 août 2020

I am unable to make progress due to old deadlines ...

par Fidan Q

20 juil. 2020

too hard for understanding i want to quit

par ali f

9 juin 2020

videos are not covering quizzes.

par 우재웅

2 févr. 2021

too many things do not work