Chevron Left
Retour à Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
811 évaluations
189 avis

À propos du cours

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Meilleurs avis

JL
29 juil. 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH
6 avr. 2020

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 184 Avis pour Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

par Michael O

29 juin 2016

Very nice course and information, but backend could be more polished. Many tasks (expecially about randomized algorithms) could fail even if you do 100% right. And very little debug information provided.

par Christiane A

6 mars 2017

Fascinating subject where informatics and biology come together . By taking these courses you get a deep understanding of how research results are obtained by multidisciplinary teams.

par Dhivyaprakash N

26 sept. 2020

It was very tough and worth attempting it because I have given many numbers of attempts in all the quizzes but at every attempt, I could rectify my mistakes.

par Estefania E

28 juin 2017

A good course and introduction. Some of the computer graded homework assignments need better explanations for the desired result set, to avoid frustration.

par Немытько В А

8 févr. 2021

Основной курс находится на Stepik, здесь же непродолжительные лекции которые полностью повторяются и раскрываются на Stepik что немного странно.

par Igor K

18 août 2017

Very interesting lectures and practical assignments. But in my opinion the capstone project is not too interesting for "computer" people.

par ALF

1 mai 2020

The course was great. I would recommend it to anyone interested. There are a few things to fix, especially on the external toolkit.

par Shabnam S

14 mai 2020

Some of the Stepik material needs to be updated and put in more clear and simpler language. Otherwise, great learning curve!

par ARUNESH N

8 juin 2020

The programming assignments could have been described more appropriately otherwise the course material was quite great.

par Juana S L

22 avr. 2018

I couldn't finish successfully last question but I don't know why. I believe I understand the meaning of the question

par Cagdas U

4 janv. 2019

The answers are stale. MEME tool results don't match what they expect. It takes a while to find students to review.

par Максим

6 mars 2017

Есть недоработки, но вместе с комментариями других учащихся, можно разобраться в сути заданий

par Nghia L

15 août 2020

Some parts are written in a way that is very hard to understand, but overall good course

par TeriLynn S

9 juil. 2018

The two platform format is quite complex. But the material is excellent!

par Jack C

5 janv. 2020

The course was very informative, but at points it was very confusing.

par Aditya B

5 août 2016

Very well explained for both biologists and computer scientists.

par 정문필

7 mai 2020

Best lecture to dive into Bioinformatics first time!

par Iqra A

3 août 2020

Not made for a biologist but for a programming man.

par Shiv H

28 sept. 2018

Good Course but at times difficult to understand.

par Nikhil Y

19 avr. 2020

it was an amazing course!!

par Meng Z

4 mars 2019

The course is great!

par Todd T

9 nov. 2017

E

par Evgeny T

9 févr. 2017

To be completely honest, I was expecting more from this course. One big setback is that the course material does not really go into biochemical fundamentals of what is going on, and instead jumps straight into algorithms. This might work for someone with enough background in biology who needs to learn to code. I, on the other side, have already had some exposure to software development and algorithms, but when Pavel mentions gene expression and transcription I have a very vague idea what he is talking about.

par Wesley R

11 oct. 2020

Course was easy to follow and the explanations made sense from the instructors about half the time. The other half, the coding sections and pseudocode would be horribly confusing. The sections about random motif finding and gibbs sampling were particularly frustrating. I would say some coding experience is necessary to do well in this course in a reasonable timeframe.

par Hugo A M A

11 juin 2020

It´s too dificult. It says that this course is for beginners, and during the course they assume that we know Python or any other programming language. I passed the first week of bioinformatics 1, but I gave up with the second week. I recommend first doing the course "Biology meets programming".