Chevron Left
Retour à Optimisation discrète

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Optimisation discrète par Université de Melbourne

4.9
étoiles
493 évaluations
117 avis

À propos du cours

Tired of solving Sudokus by hand? This class teaches you how to solve complex search problems with discrete optimization concepts and algorithms, including constraint programming, local search, and mixed-integer programming. Optimization technology is ubiquitous in our society. It schedules planes and their crews, coordinates the production of steel, and organizes the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Optimization clears the day-ahead and real-time markets to deliver electricity to millions of people. It organizes kidney exchanges and cancer treatments and helps scientists understand the fundamental fabric of life, control complex chemical reactions, and design drugs that may benefit billions of individuals. This class is an introduction to discrete optimization and exposes students to some of the most fundamental concepts and algorithms in the field. It covers constraint programming, local search, and mixed-integer programming from their foundations to their applications for complex practical problems in areas such as scheduling, vehicle routing, supply-chain optimization, and resource allocation....

Meilleurs avis

SK

May 30, 2019

Exceptional coverage of optimization fundamentals. Learning of practical applied methods. Real university level course, no water down "data science". Absolutely love it! Thank you professor Pascal.

M

Jun 03, 2020

This is, without a doubt, one of the most interesting courses I have ever taken. You will be challenged to create your own ideas and you will get to know what NP hard means in practice.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 112 Avis pour Optimisation discrète

par Shihan, Z

Jul 05, 2019

I appreciate the enthusiasm from the professor's teaching. Also the quality of the homework is very high, which help me deeply understand the concept about optimization methods. I highly recommend this course to all the people who desire the basic knowledge about NP-hard problem, and optimization thought.

par Edmund L

Sep 28, 2019

Difficult course, but rewarding once you have completed the assignments. This course presents a variety of discrete optimization problems to be solved. Great course overall, although I wish the course is structured such that we don't need to read research papers to complete the assignments.

par Aliaksei K

Jul 16, 2017

One of the most challenging and interesting sources among all that I've passed so far. The lector has it's own hilarious style of teaching. All the material is carefully created and well structured. Every time that you pass the programming assignment, you feel that it's a real achievement.

par Andrew K

Oct 30, 2019

Best course I have done so far on Coursera. The assignments are the best part of the course and are very challenging but ensure that you learn and understand the material. You will want to have some programming experience as you will need to code optimization algorithms from scratch.

par Francisco J R S

Apr 12, 2020

Awesome! It was my very first course on this platform and I coudn't be more satisfied. The main instructor was hilarious sometimes and finally I terminated to love him hahaha. It's dense but this course it is perfect to any student of computer science, maths or economics.

par Leo

Jan 22, 2020

I was surprised how clear are the Lectures. It's such fun taking this course. We use the techniques (Dynamic Progrmaming, Local Search, etc) to solve those NP-complete problems. Highly recommond it to anyone who wants to refresh their optimization skills.

par Chitrang S

Mar 31, 2019

Excellent Course, I would highly recommend for all algorithmist and programmers. It step by steps teaches how to approach NP-hard problems. The way the professor teaches make this highly difficult subject easy. Of-course assignments are very challenging.

par hope

Aug 26, 2019

The best course on Coursera. Unlike the do-it-by-rote Deep Learning classes, there is much creativity and freedom in tackling all assignments. The assignments are stimulating, challenging, and approximate real life problem solving very well.

par Erick L d S

May 05, 2020

This is a really challenging and demanding course! Give me a great fundamentals of discrete optimization and make me think how to solve many classical hard problem as Traveling salesman Problem and Vehicle routing problem. It worth it!

par Carlos V

Apr 02, 2017

If you want to understand better optimization techniques, this is an excellent Course, the explanations and examples are one of the best, the Course is also very challenging but worth the time and effort, you will learn a lot.

par Mr. J

Jul 03, 2019

Brilliant examination of the basic central aspect of discrete Optimization

I found the projects to be enjoyable and challenging

I elected to not use libraries to make my solutions.

Working the projects improved my Python.

par Bharat K

Mar 23, 2020

I learned very valuable optimization skills by doing. Learning by doing is the best kind of learning. Professor Van Hentenryck's teaching style is so lively. You will keep wanting to rerun the videos and keep going!

par Masood J K

Jun 21, 2019

Great lectures and helpful homework. The assignments were really hard but it was worth it. I learned a lot from them. The only thing I can put a comment on is that the Brach and Bound method was not taught clearly.

par Florian K

Jun 28, 2020

Very interesting and very good presentation. Nice selection of topics. I loved the programming exercises. One can start right away, and doesn't need to bother with reading data and bringing it to the right form.

par Boris O

Feb 22, 2020

Wow, that was quite an experience! Beware, the assignments are so addictive, you may have a hard time forcing yourself to take breaks from coding. Thank you so much, looking forward for more from the creators!

par Devarshi R

Apr 19, 2020

This course is the best available resource to understand the fundamentals behind all the discrete optimization techniques. One can gain so much clarity on the subject by listening to the terrific tutor.

par Marko Š

Jun 03, 2020

This is, without a doubt, one of the most interesting courses I have ever taken. You will be challenged to create your own ideas and you will get to know what NP hard means in practice.

par Galley D

May 02, 2019

I just completed the course. This an amazing course with an Outstanding professor and highly interesting, although difficult, assignments. Thanks for this! I am proud to have finished

par Paul E

Jul 22, 2017

Great course, the teacher is very clear and often goes into sufficient depth for the student to understand concepts.

Assignments are challenging and help understanding course content.

par olivier h

Nov 30, 2018

I love it so much. Rather challenging , but excellent as it is clear and pushes you to improve in the fields you need (maths, modelization , programming, algorithms)

par Gibran M

Apr 07, 2020

Well-defined course and interesting lecturer. He's highly engaging although the material of the course is pretty technical. Thanks a lot for making this course!!!!

par MANJUNATHA

Aug 10, 2019

Very good course for operation research aspirants. Assignments are very good to understand the problems and the complexity of the problems.Thanks to the team

par khalid d

Sep 04, 2018

i wish there was 6 start rating so i can give this prof his due, he made a very complicated subject look very simple and easy to understand thanks a million

par Shunsuke N

Mar 26, 2020

Great course. The assignments are challenging and very interesting. I recommend trying to achieve 10/10 score, it may be very hard but you can learn a lot.

par Xin W

Jul 16, 2017

Awesome course, learned a lot for solving NP hard problem. It could be hard for people without basic algorithm and data structure background.