Chevron Left
Retour à Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs par Université HSE

4.4
étoiles
449 évaluations
123 avis

À propos du cours

The main goal of this online course is to introduce topics in Discrete Mathematics relevant to Data Analysis. We will start with a brief introduction to combinatorics, the branch of mathematics that studies how to count. Basics of this topic are critical for anyone working in Data Analysis or Computer Science. We will illustrate new knowledge, for example, by counting the number of features in data or by estimating the time required for a Python program to run. Next, we will apply our knowledge in combinatorics to study basic Probability Theory. Probability is everywhere in Data Analysis and we will study it in much more details later. Our goals for probability section in this course will be to give initial flavor of this field. Finally, we will study the combinatorial structure that is the most relevant for Data Analysis, namely graphs. Graphs can be found everywhere around us and we will provide you with numerous examples. We will mainly concentrate in this course on the graphs of social networks. We will provide you with relevant notions from the graph theory, illustrate them on the graphs of social networks and will study their basic properties. In the end of the course we will have a project related to social network graphs. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in Python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in Data Analysis, starting from motivated high school students. This Course is part of HSE University Master of Data Science degree program. Learn more about the admission into the program and how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into the program here https://inlnk.ru/rj64e....

Meilleurs avis

SS
27 févr. 2020

this is a great course i love it and i learned many things like counting , basic of probability graphs\n\nthe first four weeks are amazing the last two weeks was hard to me but possible to solve

LR
30 mars 2020

The course is very understandable and assignments are very interesting and applicable. I love the way Russians teach mathematics, therefore I will continue watching courses from this University.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 127 Avis pour Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs

par k v r

4 avr. 2020

good content covered with good examples

par Yamil A M F

7 juil. 2020

Good course, sometimes hard to follow.

par YASSINE S

29 sept. 2021

THE last assignement was hard for us

par Mohammed R

27 janv. 2020

THe talking less clear for me

par Elvan V

28 sept. 2020

Nice lesson

par Gokul A S

2 juil. 2020

Good

par j s k

24 févr. 2020

good

par Adam D

28 juin 2020

This course is fairly clearly presented, but it's really three disconnected mini courses squished together. The section on combinatorics is only loosely applied in the probability section. Neither the combinatorics nor the probability parts are really necessary in the graph theory section. That said, the information presentation is fairly solid. It would be vastly improved by adding in more practice problems. I always felt like I understood the material, but I know that I will forget it quickly since I didn't have to practice it much. The final coding project was a complete joke. The hardest part was figuring out how to format the submission files (you just need two text files, one for each numeric answer. In each file, include absolutely nothing except the number)

par Nicky D

19 mars 2020

For the most part it is good and I feel like I learned a lot about subject I wasn't sure I could handle at first. The final programming was challenging which was, but since it was not that related to the rest of the course and the professors did not provide additional background on it, it took me months to complete. I just feel the course would benefit if students are gradually introduced to this assignment over the course of several weeks.

par Mário F

26 mars 2021

This course is relevant and it's a good cornerstone for someone who wants to review some of the math that's used in Data Science. I think the course was well structured and the classes' length was appropriate. In some cases, the classes aren't easy to follow, namely in the case of the 1st and 3rd instructor, who I think could improve their videos by adding more examples and explaining the steps behind their reasoning in a clearer way.

par Rohan R

5 juil. 2020

It was a good experience learning mathematics here, though i would suggest that there shall be more clarity added in the graph theory and permutation combination portion of the course. May be by introducing some more example's. Cause i really had to search through internet for certain topics in order to get clarification on them.

However it was a great experience overall.

par Rishabh K

24 août 2020

EXPLAINATIONS ARE NOT UPTO THE MARKS,I HAVE TO TAKE A LOOK TO YOUTUBE VIDEOS FOR UNDERSTANDING SOME CONCEPTS TO COMPLETE QUIZ.

par Adam P

2 janv. 2021

The tasks are pretty mundane and it doesn't really go too deep with any of the subjects.

par Ahmed E E A

7 juil. 2020

combinatorics part was amazing but graph theory part needed too much extra clarification

par Cristian B

20 avr. 2020

more empirical examples of real-world applications would have been appreciated

par Khader B S

30 juin 2020

few of the topics would have been explained nicely and with simple examples

par Chandan S

19 juin 2020

It's nice and it taught a lot about the graph with a touch of programming.

par Arockia P J B

17 juin 2020

Content is amazing, but explanations are average.

par kanppa

20 juil. 2021

too easy

par 李冠霖

6 août 2020

Lectures, quizzes and assignment descriptions are all lack of clarity. Also there's a lack of interaction with the TAs in the forum. Feel pretty frustrated taking the course. The blackboard presentation was good though which is the big reason to give the course one extra star.

par Egor

22 avr. 2020

It is good for a higher school introductory course, but why it is in that specialization I don't understand. Also, it should be called intro to discrete math, there are NO ANALYZING SOCIAL GRAPHS in this course.

par Karen H

17 mars 2021

This one was slightly better than Calculus for Data Science

par VENKATESWARA R B

14 oct. 2020

instructor voice and slang is not good.

par Stuti A

8 janv. 2021

instructors not engaging at all.

too costly according to the study material.

after completing half the course, when i opened it after 2 days, it showed course not yet started.

awful experience.

waste of money

par Zohir E

15 juil. 2020

A lot of complicated properties and rules and mat demonstration without practical usage.

Basic information missing in the description of the Quiz and assignment.