Chevron Left
Retour à Préparation aux catastrophes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Préparation aux catastrophes par Université de Pittsburgh

4.7
stars
355 évaluations
109 avis

À propos du cours

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Meilleurs avis

CH

Jan 31, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

EB

Oct 05, 2015

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 107 Avis pour Préparation aux catastrophes

par Emilio C

Mar 03, 2019

Practical, targeted course, quite based on US vision, but applicable in many other contexts. Some of the links to external material do not work any longer, it would be great if they could be reviewed. In any case, thank you very much for having compiled this useful knowledge!

par Dr N N

Jul 23, 2019

Definitely, it is a great guide line for 'disaster preparedness'. Course is well planned, very informative and interesting too.

Yet, there is scope to improve the course by providing more specific knowledge related to specific disaster.

Thank you.

par Andrea C

Oct 31, 2019

Well organized and very well presented. This course takes the learner from the fundamentals of preparedness, to designing personal preparedness plans. Very worthwhile.

par Neal B T

Jan 15, 2020

Course content was well organized, intentional and practical. I decided on this course because I wanted to additional knowledge on the factors and dynamics of disaster management and preparation, as I look to volunteer with one of the local disaster relief networks in m6 local area. On the other hand, if you’d like to increase your awareness about disaster management on a personal level to keep you and your loved ones safe, this is a great course for that as well, strongly encourage it!

par Jeffrey P S

Sep 04, 2019

The online course Disaster Preparedness is a very excellent course . The learning content is very interesting and it was presented by a learning facilitator who is an expert in his field . We are currently experiencing the impact of climate change and the Disaster plan taken at the end of the course is no less than very useful and applicable as a an adaptive measure to protect lives and minimize damage in the event of a disaster. Thank you so much !

par Yogesh G

Aug 31, 2017

This course is super useful. Many don't get the point of being prepared, others take it to extreme, often useless levels of preparation bordering debilitating paranoia. This course is grounded in reality and gives very useful, actionable tips to being prepared. Prof. Michael Beach is very effective and encouraging. Will recommend.

par BERTHIA N

Jul 19, 2019

I enjoyed the content of this course. I will recommend it to my friends and neighbours to force/ guide them to prepare their own plans. Many people I know are still 'winging' it, which is not safe. Thank you University of Pittsburgh for making this course possible.

par Justin D

Dec 03, 2015

The course was very interesting an informative. I feel much more prepared for if an unfortunate scenario is to present itself to me and the family. I'm very glad for this opportunity I received and the knowledge I now possess. Thanks.

-Justin Dougherty Winter Park, FL

par Leagaioalii M

Jan 31, 2017

Dr. Beach was engaged with students on video. I really enjoyed the interaction with other students globally on the 'Open Forum' portion. MOOCs gave me the opportunity to learn on my time frame. I highly recommend purchasing your certification, you've earned it!

par Theresa W

Oct 11, 2017

Very timely. I am grateful for the opportunity to get some good information on preparedness with out the hype of the WTSHTF ideology. Preparedness should be a common goal for any emergency, or at least the most predictable ones.

par Almaz K

Feb 29, 2016

The course helped me a lot to gain fundamental understanding of emergency preparedness plan, right attitude and awareness of how to act in a disaster. I would recommend this course!

Regards,

Almaz Kassymkulov

Astana, Kazakhstan

par RITESH G

Oct 11, 2017

Excellent Course. The case studies from Japan are really informative and give a good insight into the Disaster Management System. The modules on Personal Preparedness are a must for everyone in today's time.

par Christina H

Jan 31, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

par Alfredo P

Dec 20, 2016

Very good course that gives you the basic information about preparedness.

It would be very interesting to know how to take a practical course in disaster preparedness and survival techniques

par Emma B

Oct 05, 2015

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

par Alan C R

Dec 06, 2019

Exceptional class, very organized by the Professor and beneficial to those of us in the healthcare space AND for anyone interested in being prepared for local or regional disasters.

par Jim C

Sep 04, 2015

Very insightful course. The peer-reviewed plan was also incredibly useful, both in the exercise itself and seeing the risks (and mitigation plans) by others. Outstanding!

par Pamela W

Aug 14, 2015

I loved this course and all the interesting speakers. I learned a great deal and how much I am unprepared for a disaster, I had no idea. Well worth every minute.

par Rajeev C

Feb 02, 2016

Superb course material and presentation by Prof Michael is simply awesome. Thank you so much for providing me an opportunity to learn through this awesome platform.

par Ichsan N

Nov 21, 2019

By taking this course, I can share my knowledge with the emergency response community and all parents at my child's school about how we should respond to disasters

par ASHUTOSH T

Mar 17, 2018

A course offering multiple insights in to family Disaster Preparedness.This course will be extremely helpful in surviving any Disaster situation successfully.

par Lita L

Oct 23, 2017

Great course. Everyone should be required to take this. There are disasters just waiting to happen in all parts of the country and the world. Be Prepared!

par Miguel J R D

Jul 10, 2017

Gracias por ofrecerme la oportunidad de aprender junto con Mike a través de la plataforma de Coursera. Espero poder seguir avanzando con vosotros.

par Perumalu K

Nov 17, 2017

Great course thanks to the teachers and coursera for creating this wonderful opportunities to learn l will definitely recommend to my friends.

par Stacy M

May 19, 2016

Very informative, thorough, and interesting! Instructor very knowledgeable and communicable along with excellent guest speakers!