Chevron Left
Retour à Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support par Université du Cap

4.8
étoiles
120 évaluations
46 avis

À propos du cours

Worldwide millions of children are not able to fully participate in schooling, and this is especially a problem for children with disabilities. In this course, we explore the support that teachers need in order to meet the needs of children with severe to profound hearing, visual and intellectual disabilities. We consider how this can be done by talking with a range of experts (from teachers to activists) about inclusive education as well as sharing experiences of education. Inclusive education is only possible if teachers are supported and empowered to make the curriculum accessible to all learners. The topics in this course cover developing disability confidence and what exactly children with specific impairments need to be able to learn. This includes sharing specific classroom strategies and teaching activities for learners who are D/deaf or hard of hearing, blind or have low vision or have a severe to profound intellectual disability. By the end of the course, you will be familiar with the impairment specific needs of learners with disabilities, and how to build systems of support for inclusive education. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. This course was developed as part of the project ´Strengthening teaching for Children with profound Hearing, Visual and Intellectual Disabilities in South Africa` co-funded by Christoffel-Blinden Mission (CBM) and the European Union....

Meilleurs avis

MA
12 mai 2019

I'm truly satisfied that I followed this course. It enhanced my knowledge about Disability education and inclusion. Easy steps and instructions. Well informed. This will surely help me in my career.

VF
27 juin 2020

Thank you so much for having this kind of course it really help me on my job. Thank you for sharing your expertise and knowledge. I will apply all the things that I have learned in this course.

Filtrer par :

26 - 46 sur 46 Avis pour Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support

par Sara B R

11 sept. 2020

I loved the course and its contents, teachers, videos and resources. It helped me to consolidate my thoughts about disability and the need of a real inclusion. This course covered a wide range of relevant issues and gave us a good background and starting point to work with. Dealing with a person with disability is challenging, demanding and might be frightening, but its also a great opportunity for personal growth and self-development. Inclusion is the best and only way to approach disability and it is crucial not only to protect and take care of the most vulnerable with disability, but also to change other people´s minds and hearts. An inclusive society that embraces diversity is a better society for all its members.

As an Educational Psychologist and mother of a 3-year-old daughter with DS I feel responsible to share the word and my personal and professional experience with others (parents, teachers, friends, family…). This course gave me confidence and increased my desire to pursue my studies in this field, thank you!

par Chatematti B

9 nov. 2020

A pleasant good day to all. I have learnt so much and can now relate to persons with disability in a much appreciative way. I have this passion for a long time and how that I was given the opportunity I felt privileged to be a part of this programme A very big thank you to all who made this possible . I recently started another course Educating Deaf Children becoming an empowered teacher so far it is very inspiring I have some prerequisite knowledge from the Disability Inclusion which is very useful. Is it possible for me to have the coursera certificate(Shareable with my name on it). Stay safe you and family God blessing.

par Celia W

15 sept. 2020

Great course! Informative and helpful, with up to date information on inclusion of individuals with disabilities in education and society. I particularly enjoyed how this course advocated for social justice with a progressive lens and encourages empowerment and change. It steers away from solely looking at the medical model of disability and really focuses on the strengths of the students in the classroom, and how to design classes for all learners using the principles of Universal Design.

par Lenika V

8 juin 2020

This course was extremely insightful. As a teacher I feel that this course truly challenged me to see the classroom from the learners' perspective. I am passionate about inclusive education. Because of this fantastic course I feel more confident and better equipped to education learners with disabilities.

par Ibomeze C I

21 juil. 2020

This course was truly comprehensive in providing the knowledge required by teachers, school administrators and anyone else involved in the educational sector to begin taking steps towards disability inclusion. My appreciation to the team that led the course- Thank you so much!

par Vivien T F

28 juin 2020

Thank you so much for having this kind of course it really help me on my job. Thank you for sharing your expertise and knowledge. I will apply all the things that I have learned in this course.

par Susan A O

13 nov. 2020

I enjoyed my learning times all through. The content is so rich in empowering educators and all players in the field of disability.

par KAREN N P P

6 juil. 2020

Excellent. Fully recommended for understand the disability inclusion and the role of all stakeholders of the school community.

par Khoiri N

19 juin 2020

This course help me to more understand and engaging concept of Inclusion in Education

par Faith M

16 mars 2020

Hi

I'm done with week 1...I'm fine with week2.

Why is my profile stuck on week 1?

par TENJEI G F

25 juil. 2020

Excellent, rich and very informing. Thanks, l did not miss the course.

par JeaNMaRC S

30 août 2020

Really liked the course, opened my mind to things I would like to do.

par Lazie M N

11 juin 2020

great course. fun to complete. relevant for a teaching career

par Lina M A S

30 août 2020

it is a must for all teachers around the world

par Sunand S

18 mars 2020

I have learnt

par Ethan T B

27 avr. 2020

Excellent

par Sherif M A A A

12 juil. 2020

I'm really satisfied that I followed this course. It enhanced my information, knowledge and understanding about Disability education and inclusion.

par Sushi P

22 nov. 2019

Great course and learning

par Anastasiia P

15 mars 2020

I lost an interest to this course and never will recommend to anybody. The worse part is assignments. Why do I have to redo millions times my work which evaluation based on others objective opinion, who probably was not even reading it and just put some grades.

par Nafeeza K

14 oct. 2020

I would like to leave course because it doesn't have flexible deadlines.