Chevron Left
Retour à Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support par Université du Cap

4.8
étoiles
113 évaluations
44 avis

À propos du cours

Worldwide millions of children are not able to fully participate in schooling, and this is especially a problem for children with disabilities. In this course, we explore the support that teachers need in order to meet the needs of children with severe to profound hearing, visual and intellectual disabilities. We consider how this can be done by talking with a range of experts (from teachers to activists) about inclusive education as well as sharing experiences of education. Inclusive education is only possible if teachers are supported and empowered to make the curriculum accessible to all learners. The topics in this course cover developing disability confidence and what exactly children with specific impairments need to be able to learn. This includes sharing specific classroom strategies and teaching activities for learners who are D/deaf or hard of hearing, blind or have low vision or have a severe to profound intellectual disability. By the end of the course, you will be familiar with the impairment specific needs of learners with disabilities, and how to build systems of support for inclusive education. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. This course was developed as part of the project ´Strengthening teaching for Children with profound Hearing, Visual and Intellectual Disabilities in South Africa` co-funded by Christoffel-Blinden Mission (CBM) and the European Union....

Meilleurs avis

MA

May 13, 2019

I'm truly satisfied that I followed this course. It enhanced my knowledge about Disability education and inclusion. Easy steps and instructions. Well informed. This will surely help me in my career.

VF

Jun 28, 2020

Thank you so much for having this kind of course it really help me on my job. Thank you for sharing your expertise and knowledge. I will apply all the things that I have learned in this course.

Filtrer par :

26 - 44 sur 44 Avis pour Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support

par Sara B R

Sep 11, 2020

I loved the course and its contents, teachers, videos and resources. It helped me to consolidate my thoughts about disability and the need of a real inclusion. This course covered a wide range of relevant issues and gave us a good background and starting point to work with. Dealing with a person with disability is challenging, demanding and might be frightening, but its also a great opportunity for personal growth and self-development. Inclusion is the best and only way to approach disability and it is crucial not only to protect and take care of the most vulnerable with disability, but also to change other people´s minds and hearts. An inclusive society that embraces diversity is a better society for all its members.

As an Educational Psychologist and mother of a 3-year-old daughter with DS I feel responsible to share the word and my personal and professional experience with others (parents, teachers, friends, family…). This course gave me confidence and increased my desire to pursue my studies in this field, thank you!

par Celia W

Sep 15, 2020

Great course! Informative and helpful, with up to date information on inclusion of individuals with disabilities in education and society. I particularly enjoyed how this course advocated for social justice with a progressive lens and encourages empowerment and change. It steers away from solely looking at the medical model of disability and really focuses on the strengths of the students in the classroom, and how to design classes for all learners using the principles of Universal Design.

par Lenika V

Jun 08, 2020

This course was extremely insightful. As a teacher I feel that this course truly challenged me to see the classroom from the learners' perspective. I am passionate about inclusive education. Because of this fantastic course I feel more confident and better equipped to education learners with disabilities.

par Ibomeze C I

Jul 21, 2020

This course was truly comprehensive in providing the knowledge required by teachers, school administrators and anyone else involved in the educational sector to begin taking steps towards disability inclusion. My appreciation to the team that led the course- Thank you so much!

par Vivien T F

Jun 28, 2020

Thank you so much for having this kind of course it really help me on my job. Thank you for sharing your expertise and knowledge. I will apply all the things that I have learned in this course.

par KAREN N P P

Jul 06, 2020

Excellent. Fully recommended for understand the disability inclusion and the role of all stakeholders of the school community.

par Khoiri N

Jun 19, 2020

This course help me to more understand and engaging concept of Inclusion in Education

par Faith M

Mar 16, 2020

Hi

I'm done with week 1...I'm fine with week2.

Why is my profile stuck on week 1?

par TENJEI G F

Jul 25, 2020

Excellent, rich and very informing. Thanks, l did not miss the course.

par Jean-Marc S

Aug 30, 2020

Really liked the course, opened my mind to things I would like to do.

par Lazie M N

Jun 11, 2020

great course. fun to complete. relevant for a teaching career

par Lina M A S

Aug 30, 2020

it is a must for all teachers around the world

par Sunand S

Mar 18, 2020

I have learnt

par Ethan T B

Apr 27, 2020

Excellent

par Sherif M A A A

Jul 12, 2020

I'm really satisfied that I followed this course. It enhanced my information, knowledge and understanding about Disability education and inclusion.

par Sushi P

Nov 23, 2019

Great course and learning

par Anastasiia P

Mar 15, 2020

I lost an interest to this course and never will recommend to anybody. The worse part is assignments. Why do I have to redo millions times my work which evaluation based on others objective opinion, who probably was not even reading it and just put some grades.

par Nafeeza K

Oct 14, 2020

I would like to leave course because it doesn't have flexible deadlines.