Chevron Left
Retour à Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support par Université du Cap

4.8
étoiles
114 évaluations
44 avis

À propos du cours

Worldwide millions of children are not able to fully participate in schooling, and this is especially a problem for children with disabilities. In this course, we explore the support that teachers need in order to meet the needs of children with severe to profound hearing, visual and intellectual disabilities. We consider how this can be done by talking with a range of experts (from teachers to activists) about inclusive education as well as sharing experiences of education. Inclusive education is only possible if teachers are supported and empowered to make the curriculum accessible to all learners. The topics in this course cover developing disability confidence and what exactly children with specific impairments need to be able to learn. This includes sharing specific classroom strategies and teaching activities for learners who are D/deaf or hard of hearing, blind or have low vision or have a severe to profound intellectual disability. By the end of the course, you will be familiar with the impairment specific needs of learners with disabilities, and how to build systems of support for inclusive education. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. This course was developed as part of the project ´Strengthening teaching for Children with profound Hearing, Visual and Intellectual Disabilities in South Africa` co-funded by Christoffel-Blinden Mission (CBM) and the European Union....

Meilleurs avis

MA

May 13, 2019

I'm truly satisfied that I followed this course. It enhanced my knowledge about Disability education and inclusion. Easy steps and instructions. Well informed. This will surely help me in my career.

VF

Jun 28, 2020

Thank you so much for having this kind of course it really help me on my job. Thank you for sharing your expertise and knowledge. I will apply all the things that I have learned in this course.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 44 Avis pour Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support

par Mmabatho

Feb 23, 2019

So far am loving it,am in week 2 and the lessons get better each time I log on,I hope I get a chance to add more courses after I complete this one, very eye opening and informative.

par Maththumagala K M L A

May 13, 2019

I'm truly satisfied that I followed this course. It enhanced my knowledge about Disability education and inclusion. Easy steps and instructions. Well informed. This will surely help me in my career.

par Maya S

Apr 25, 2019

Thanks a lot to organizers of this course. Very informative, with theory and practice and a lot of resources. Will definitely recommend to others.

par Ronette P

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent! Each teacher should do this course!

par Wikus

May 10, 2019

I enjoyed the course. The videos and information is well set-out and it is easy to follow. The only problem I encounter is that I can't finish it due to there not being peer submissions for me to assess for almost two weeks since I completed and received my grading for all of the course tasks up to the end of week 5. I have also asked assistance on the help flag several times and on the discussion section with no assistance yet.

par Magdy N A

Feb 10, 2020

very excellent course , thank you for great effort

par Grace A

Feb 10, 2020

This course has been highly educational and given me many ways to accommodate my students with disabilities. I also loved the idea of people with disability being a part of the staff in order to relate better with students with disabilities.

par Alexander M

Aug 04, 2019

Well organised course with powerful content on disability and and inclusion

par Claire P

Jul 16, 2019

The course was interesting and I liked learning about practical opportunities. However, because there were few students taking the course the process of peer review for my final assignment took almost three months of me needing to check the course regularly without a notification to find out if another assignment had been posted for me to review. This was frustrating and I received no feedback from those that run the course regarding this. However, the information, knowledge and understanding I gained from the course was useful.

par Courtney K

Mar 20, 2020

I absolutely loved this course especially the fact that there weren't only videos but a text option too! This made learning so much easier for me! The only thing I found stressful/ challenging, was the peer-graded assignments. I completed this course as part of a requirement for my University of Johannesburg online module and those have different due dates for the course which means peer-graded assignments became stressful and caused mass anxiety. I think there should maybe be an option of a differentiated assignment to elevate that pressure/stress. I am so glad I have found Coursera, I will definitely be completing more in the future!

par Perumala M A

May 08, 2020

This course was highly useful for me. I deeply appreciate the efforts of everyone involved especially the tutors. This is my first experience of online studies and I have thoroughly enjoyed the course. The additional resources were good enough and very informative. Thanks to Coursera for taking up the initiative to becoming a platform for many like me to study from the comfort of our homes. I will definitely use all the strategies in my teaching with regards to the persons with disabilities.

Many Thanks.

Perumala Mary Angel.

par Jessica H

Jul 28, 2020

This is a great course it gives you information on all sorts of things relating to disability inclusion including how different disabilities affect children and methods of teaching which ensure they can still learn. I really enjoyed this course so I would highly recommend

par Magdeleen v J

Mar 24, 2020

Thank you for the effort that was put into this course. It has good, practical examples of how inclusive education can be applied. Videos are short enough to be manageable and assignments are on-topic.

Great course, thanks.

par Sarah O

Oct 13, 2019

Outstanding: relevant, mix of real-life practitioners and people who live with various impairments, sound research, and opportunities to learn with others across the globe. Highly recommended.

par Jananee B

May 31, 2020

Excellent program!

Lectures from experts on the subject on Inclusive education along with Group discussion with peers made the program a grand success .

par Jill R

May 04, 2020

Well paced. Practical suggestions and examples for how to incorporate and attend to disability in the classroom and school environment.

par Fidan F

May 04, 2020

An amazing course. I have learnt many things regarding inclusive education. thanks every instructor for their amazing work

par Jyothis T

May 11, 2020

I really enjoyed joining this course. It has helped me in a lot of ways for my professional development.

par Angélica J C C

May 11, 2020

Great course, met my expectations, has many examples and useful strategies. Totally recommended.

par zukiswa j

Mar 27, 2020

Thanks I learnt about the course opened my eyes new experiences, new informative information.

par Md A S

May 15, 2020

This course was awesome and very informative.

I have learned new things from this course.

par Thabang S

Mar 26, 2020

I learnt a lot on Inclusion and the methods of teaching disabled learners.

par Brenda

Mar 25, 2020

Excellent course. Learned a lot of valuable things.

par Victoria T

May 23, 2020

The course was very informative and enjoyable! I would have appreciated if there was also information on Individuals with physical disabilities. It has definitely increased my knowledge on how I can improve as a teacher advocating for inclusive education.

par Pamphile N K

Jul 02, 2020

1- In English

This course opened my eyes to a great social injustice that African society seems to be ignored. I learned a lot both about learners' disabilities and the quality of a support system.

The community and in particular the members of the education system should be better educated themselves about the true meaning of inclusive education. The establishment of a support system by education managers is desirable and urgent. We must take ownership of the principles of inclusive education and integrate the functioning of our education system.

2- En français

Ce cours m'a ouvert les yeux sur une grande injustice sociale que la société africaine semble ignorée. J'ai beaucoup appris tant sur les deficiences des apprenants que sur la qualité d'un système de soutien.

La communauté et en particulier les membres du système educatif devraient etre mieux éduqués eux-meme sur la vrai signification de l'education inclusive. La mise en place d'un système de soutient par les gestionnaires de l'éducation est souhaitable et urgente. Nous devons nous approprier les principes de l'education inclusive et les intégrer dans le fonctionnement de notre système éducatif.