Chevron Left
Retour à Dino 101: paléobiologie des dinosaures

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Dino 101: paléobiologie des dinosaures par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
stars
1,151 évaluations
380 avis

À propos du cours

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a 12-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of non-avian dinosaurs. Topics covered: anatomy, eating, locomotion, growth, environmental and behavioral adaptations, origins and extinction. Lessons are delivered from museums, fossil-preparation labs and dig sites. Estimated workload: 3-5 hrs/week....

Meilleurs avis

JH

Apr 06, 2017

Thank you for this excellent course! I really enjoyed the short videos, the concise notes, and quick quizzes (both at the end of each lesson, as well as the main point quizzes throughout the videos).

TW

Dec 16, 2017

The instructors' explanation are very clear and easy to understand. Would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in Paleontology or dinosaurs in general. I really had fun learning.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 376 Avis pour Dino 101: paléobiologie des dinosaures

par Pythor ( A

Dec 17, 2017

This is everything I've ever wanted from education. I was interested in this topic ever since middle school. My core education did not offer me such. So I had to seek out the education I want. As luck would have it. This class exists.

If anyone wishes to hone their paleontology skills or want to get into paleontology or just like dinosaurs. This is the course for you. This is a super easy class with super interesting lessons. I hopefully plan on coming to the University of Alberta to fulfill my paleontology dreams.

par Fran S

Sep 22, 2019

Although I've been fascinated by dinosaurs for years, this course offered me the chance to learn so much more about them than I had ever considered before. I especially appreciated the chance to interact with bone and skull 3D reproductions, and the lesson notes at the beginning of each section will serve as an ongoing resource, since I was able to export them as PDFs. I truly appreciate all the work that went into producing Dino 101. By the way -- I'm 72 years old. It's never too late to learn something new!

par Munawar J

Jun 18, 2017

This was a Great Learning Experience for me and my 5 year old son, Muaziz H Jatoi.

At the age 2, he been telling us that he wants to become and for a year he been claiming of being a Paleontologist, even he claimed, of being A Paleontologist, to the Researchers at Carthage Institute of Paleontology in Kenosha, WI.

Thanks a lot for such a resource & the opportunity to learn in the comfort of home. We would love to talk with Dr Philip Currie and his team of Graduate Students.

par Antonia T B

Sep 10, 2018

A really fascinating course.

I wish there would have been more drawings or skeletons when talking about a dinosaur (sometimes it was hard to follow and the pace was too fast. Also, it's always more interesting seeing pictures or maps than the face of the lecturer all the time). Also, I missed professor Philip John Currie. When he lectured the level went really high. But overall it was an excellent course.

Thanks a lot and many greetings from Spain / Antonia Tejeda Barros

par Illaria K

Dec 05, 2019

I found this course highly intriguing and was a great resource to prepare me for the Palaeontology course I am to start in September at University. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in finding out more about dinosaurs (even if you aren't going to study them). Many thanks to the Dino 101 team for putting this course together. I am very much looking forward to September so that I can wow them with the terminology and facts that I have gained.

par Brenda H

Aug 28, 2018

I took this class because the Dinosaur is the theme unit for this year's Camp Fire kids. As a leader I wanted to be knowledgeable for the questions that would come from the kids of all ages. This course offered more than answers; I enjoyed learning about dinosaurs and that has inspired me to dig further into their existence. I feel ready to give stories and lessons that will keep my kids focused on the topics I have for them this year.

par Rachel S

Feb 21, 2019

The instructors did an excellent job of explaining complex topics in an approachable, easily digested manner. It was very fun to learn how much our perceptions of dinosaurs have changed since I was a paleo-obsessed kid, and to take an even more in depth look at the science involved in classifying and discovering them. I may retake this course again in the future to try to solidify some of the more advanced concepts and facts in my mind.

par Thomas E M

Jan 03, 2017

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a fantastic introduction to the world of Dinosaurs and to some of the science which underpins our understanding of them. The course is well designed and gradually builds upon your knowledge. The information is clearly presented and easy to follow, and most importantly - learn.

I have throughly enjoyed learning from this course and would recommend it to anyone, amateur or potential professional alike.

par Carol B

Jul 01, 2017

This course is well designed to engage people with varied backgrounds. If you want to know more about dinosaurs and how they came to be, evolved, and ultimately became extinct, this is a course that will do just that. The presenters are engaging and the fossil evidence, imagery, and interactive features all make this a course to look forward to sitting down with week after week. I highly recommend this course.

par Guilherme A R

Jan 03, 2019

Curso simplesmente maravilhoso. Direto, dinâmico e bem didático. Conteúdos de visualização pratica, interação com perguntas no meio das vídeo aulas e feedback positivo ao fim dos testes. Simplesmente excedeu totalmente todas as expectativas que já eram altas vindo de um curso da University of Alberta. Parabéns as pessoas que fizeram o curso e ao Coursera por disponibilizarem esse tipo de conteúdo maravilhoso.

par Alla S

May 29, 2017

I just want to say thanks to the Dino 101 team for an incredible job. It's just an amazing course - very interesting, detailed and professional. So much effort and work was put into this course and the fact that it is available to anyone who is willing to learn is a blessing. Professor Philip Currie is just an incredible person who is deeply passionate about what he does. Special thanks to him for Dino 101!

par Siddharth B

Jul 31, 2019

It was a really enthralling journey for me, eventhough I knew a lots of concepts previously. Anyway, I strongly recommend this course as it emphasizes on most of the concepts that paleontologists require the most. Also, the dedicated mentors teach in a way that makes you understand the concept in and out.

Once again, thanks to Dr. Philip Currie and Betsy and last but not the least the Coursera community.

par Mary P

Jul 06, 2018

Very interesting course on Dinosaurs and the Earth's environment during the Age of Dinosaurs. Particularly enjoyed learning about the different Eras of time and the evolution of creatures through these periods. The presenters are engaging and the course itself was well-presented and thorough! Loved every minute- even though it dispelled any illusions I might of had of Jurassic Park becoming reality ;)

par Jessie P

Jul 15, 2017

The material in this course was fascinating and well presented. Students needed a certain amount of basic biology and geology to understand the course material, and there were units covering this information. I enjoyed those lectures presented from dig sites and in museums alongside fossils the most, as, for me, the largest attraction is simply seeing what dinosaurs and their predecessors looked like.

par Julian A

Mar 19, 2017

The amount of information I learned as well as retained was astounding. I had no idea I was going to be taking in this amount of information from an online course no less. The course it's self is well structured and allows for you to work towards the goals at your own pace. Highly recommended. I will be looking into the other paleontology courses offered here on this site by The University of Alberta.

par Evan L

Nov 10, 2018

This was a very fun and interesting course. Learning about the dinosaurs themselves, but also where they came from and the evolution from their beginning through to the birds that we know them as today was fascinating. One of the best parts though is learning about the different pieces of a 4.6 billion year puzzle and how they all fit together. It has made the world we live seem more beautiful to me.

par Alejo N

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent curse! It was not a problem for me not to have knowledge about dinosaurs and geology, because everything is explain clearly and concisely by the excellent teachers and researches. Very good videos, examples, supplementary material, images, photographs, landscapes and analogies. I really enjoyed learning about dinosaurs as well as knowing the University of Alberta. You did a very good job!

par Tyler B

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent and informative course, taken by a true dinosaur fan! Learned plenty of new facts about dinosaurs and sharpened my extant knowledge. Great presenters and well-developed MOOC. I may re-audit all of the paleontology courses offered by U. of Alberta for personal pleasure, as they were sincerely enjoyable, entertaining, and communicative! Thanks to Dr. Currie and the whole team!

par Kieran S

Dec 11, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!! As an already qualified scientist in biology this course was useful even for someone like myself with a degree. This course has the right balance between basic dinosaur science for the dinosaur "hobbiest" and more scientific information for someone like myself looking for more of a challenge. It was fun, engaging and interesting!! I only wish there was more!

par Sanoop M

May 09, 2018

This course is just awesome, and so are the instructors! It was an amazing ride over the last 12 weeks and I learned a lot about dinosaurs .The focus on the scientific method rather than just a pool of data is praiseworthy. It has given me an impetus to research further on these amazing groups of animals.

Thank you Betsy,Phil, Gavin, and the rest of the staff.. :)

Sanoop M

par Rachel G

Aug 13, 2019

I have had an exceptional time participating in this course! I've had an interest in paleontology for a while, and this was a great introduction course. The reading is super informative and very interesting. The mini quizzes within the videos are very helpful and are useful tools to keep you on track. I have loved everything about this course. I'll probably take another!

par Tim K

Jun 05, 2018

Dino 101 was well written and presented. Quality work by leaders in their field. The readings were interesting and clear though some of the lessons could use some proofing for typos and syntax edits. I have already enrolled in another palaeontology course presented by the University of Alberta and plan to take the other courses offered in palaeontology by them as well.

par Erin B

Jun 09, 2017

So much fun to learn about paleontology! I joined this course after a visit to the Museum of Natural History here in New York. I realized I could take a class for free and learn so much more than even a day at the museum could teach me. Sometimes the quizzes were challenging, but I feel like I am much more knowledgeable now and hope to learn more in the future. Thanks!

par Megan W

Jul 02, 2019

This is a fascinating course! You are sure to learn many interesting things about dinosaurs, dinosaur terminology and the time periods they lived in. Easy to follow with great instructors, and well thought out lesson structure. Quick review questions in each lesson make this course easy to comprehend. I recommend this course to anyone with an interest in Dinosaurs.