Chevron Left
Retour à Digital Systems: From Logic Gates to Processors

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Digital Systems: From Logic Gates to Processors par Université autonome de Barcelone

4.4
étoiles
568 évaluations
120 avis

À propos du cours

This course gives you a complete insight into the modern design of digital systems fundamentals from an eminently practical point of view. Unlike other more "classic" digital circuits courses, our interest focuses more on the system than on the electronics that support it. This approach will allow us to lay the foundation for the design of complex digital systems. You will learn a set of design methodologies and will use a set of (educational-oriented) computer-aided-design tools (CAD) that will allow you not only to design small and medium size circuits, but also to access to higher level courses covering so exciting topics as application specific integrated circuits (ASICs) design or computer architecture, to give just two examples. Course topics are complemented with the design of a simple processor, introduced as a transversal example of a complex digital system. This example will let you understand and feel comfortable with some fundamental computer architecture terms as the instruction set, microprograms and microinstructions. After completing this course you will be able to: * Design medium complexity digital systems. * Understand the description of digital systems using high-level languages such as VHDL. * Understand how computers operate at their most basic level (machine language)....

Meilleurs avis

RT
21 juil. 2020

This was my 4th online course and I am pretty sure this was my best experience. Everything was covered in detail and yet very precisely. Thanks to both coursera and UAB for this course.

SN
20 mars 2020

Pretty awesome, the course gives you a good understanding of all basic concepts and the practice, extra and graded problems make you intimately familiar with its applications.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 117 Avis pour Digital Systems: From Logic Gates to Processors

par Husham E K

13 nov. 2017

The course was very good in terms teaching you how to design logic gates and build a processor and use VHDL code for that. I loved this course very much and I will start now doing the other courses that will help me develop a very complex processor. This is a good start for learners. It's very well described and you should always try to use mind and brain and try develop your skills to get to know the material. I really want one thing from lecturer is at least put some examples for students regarding week 7 and week 8. Because it was very hard for me to understand the content of these two weeks. Thanks for the effort that you have done on this course and I will wait for the next course of you.

par Patrick D

4 févr. 2018

It was a good course. I had taken it as an undergrad and it was great to take it as a review. It has VHDL and some more modern techniques like Shannon's cofactoring neither of which was taught when I took this course in 1990.

Introduced me to a couple of useful tools in logisim and Logic Minimizer.

I have been working with FPGAs and writing lots of VHDL code for quite some time, but this was good to good way to go back to basics and I feel like I hit the reset button and strengthened my foundation. This was every bit as good as taking the course in person, but I like this online approach better. You don't move on until you get it right and you can take your time.

par Deleted A

2 janv. 2017

I already had done a digital logic course before. But, this course is different from that, as it is much more formal in describing a digital system. In this courses, the emphasis is on systems which is much welcome. The Processor topic is very interesting.

Although the videos could be made a little better. The content is interesting, but the presentation is a little dull.

I write this review after 4 weeks into the course. And, I personally am enjoying it.

par Saksham G

9 févr. 2020

The content of this course justifies the title, it starts from the very basic digital electronics to advanced processor architecture. It covers the whole process, from design to implementation to manufacturing. Some of the quizzes were really good and I really liked solving them. The software used to submit the circuit design related solutions could have been better.

par Amr W A R S

15 sept. 2019

This course is very useful and will build a very strong foundation to digital systems. However, I strongly recommend that the instructor tries further enhancing his teaching skills, because in most of the weeks, the quiz is very much harder than the concepts introduced in the lectures. But they're all useful.

par Vedhas W

7 août 2019

The accents get in the way of learning at times, and the quizzes are a bit more challenging than what is introduced in the lectures, but it is overall a very interesting and comprehensive course. I definitely recommend this course to anyone willing to put in the time and effort to learn this key cs skillset.

par JAYANT G

26 mars 2020

The course is very useful and must do to clear the basics of a digital system. The course is interesting also but the lecturer was very good no dought and experienced also but his voice is a little unclear due to which lectures become boring but the student can manage it by subtitles.

par Archit A

9 août 2018

A great course for someone starting out with digital design and simulation. The course work will progressively increase over the weeks but the concepts are brilliantly explained. I personally found the HDL lectures very monotonous. But other than that, the course is amazing.

par Isaac K

17 mai 2020

Good material and coverage, good interactive quizzes in videos and end quizzes. The software on the virtual machine is a little rough to navigate at first and is pretty finicky however. Would find a way of incorporating the assignments in a better software.

par Luan D

12 mars 2018

Overall, it is a helpful and nice course introducing knowledge about digital circuits. While some parts could be improved, such as more explicit examples in the videos or including some VHDL practice exercises. Thanks.

par John J V

4 mai 2020

Everything about the basics of Digital Electronics was clearly explained, touching almost all areas. I faced a little bit difficulty in following the English accent of some instructors.

par muratali m

20 mars 2017

Very nice introductory course, broad explanation of traditional logic gates and synthesis tools. Graded Exercises and Practice exercises are chosen perfectly to grasp the topic

par Arquilho E d S

4 janv. 2021

Good introductory course. It helped me to refresh my prior knowledge. I just missed a way to know which mistaques I made in some questions specially in the graded quizes.

par Pavan R

20 avr. 2017

This is a very good course for experts as well as beginners . Quiz assignments were very challenging . I like the concept of practice and solved quiz

par GAVINI H

13 mai 2020

It is really helpfull for the individuals who want to be perfect in digital design. And also can learn the basic processor design.

par praneethsharma

16 août 2020

Questions are good. It's better if they provide your way of solving the quiz questions and practice questions

par Padmakar

14 oct. 2017

Great for getting back in touch with the subject. And it's design with the industry needs in mind.

par Adhiraj H S

18 févr. 2018

the theory questions in week 6 and 8 quizes were not covered properly in the material

par KI A

17 févr. 2020

the course is very interresting to get started with digital systems design

par Alen C

2 mai 2020

The VHDL part was not upto the mark. The rest of the course was okay.

par Milind A

20 juin 2020

Helpful for basic understanding of digital circuit design

par Neha G

11 juil. 2020

basic course for understanding to digital electronics

par Little F

11 sept. 2019

It's a little hard to learn in 6,7,8 weeks.

par Yash S

25 mai 2020

Thanks for the well structured course

par Abdul A M

20 juin 2018

It was a good refresher course.