Chevron Left
Retour à Diabetes – the Essential Facts

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Diabetes – the Essential Facts par Université de Copenhague

4.7
étoiles
1,791 évaluations
451 avis

À propos du cours

Across the world more than 420 million people are living with diabetes. Two thirds of these have not yet been diagnosed. When discovered late or managed incorrectly, diabetes can damage your heart, blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, and nerves, leading to disability and premature death. In fact, more people are dying of diabetes related diseases than of diseases as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. This course will provide you with an introduction to the most recent research in the field of prevention and treatment of diabetes as well as a broader understanding of the situation in different communities, rich and poor, across the world, where diabetes threatens public health. What kind of disease is diabetes, who has it, and who is at risk of getting it? And what are the roles of medicine, exercise and nutrition when trying to prevent, delay or treat diabetes? During the course you will meet researchers and experts from Imperial College London, Emory University in Atlanta, Steno Diabetes Center in Copenhagen as well as the School of Global Health and the Center for Basic Metabolic Research at the University of Copenhagen. They work with very different aspects of diabetes, from microbiology to global public health, but what ties them together is the belief that it is a global responsibility to combat diabetes, and this fight can only be won through new knowledge and global collaboration. We hope you will join us in the course and equip yourself to take part in the ongoing discussions of this truly global and individual health challenge. This course is also part of the EIT Health programme....

Meilleurs avis

OB

4 oct. 2020

Only thing not furnished that is fasting glucose and pp glucose ranging should be furnished. And also the glucose tolerance test result and Hb1AC test result ranges to be discussed during the course.

LL

6 déc. 2017

This was an awesome short course which I would recommend to anyone who is interested in diabetes or other chronic diseases. I learned a lot about different ways you could possibly prevent diabetes.

Filtrer par :

376 - 400 sur 452 Avis pour Diabetes – the Essential Facts

par محمد ا د ب

30 mai 2022

GOOD

par sherin a

30 avr. 2022

good

par Kayitana G

2 déc. 2020

Best

par Anirban P

18 août 2020

Best

par Noura

6 juil. 2020

good

par Hemavathi.I

6 juil. 2020

Good

par Swapna A

16 juin 2020

Good

par NARAYANASAMY. K

10 juin 2020

Good

par Md S S

4 juin 2020

goog

par JISMILA K

27 mai 2020

Good

par Md H A

22 mai 2020

Nice

par Sharanabasava P

14 mai 2020

Nice

par Adithi

7 mai 2020

Nice

par Aparna s

6 janv. 2020

Nyc

par Mohammad h

29 mai 2022

ةة

par Abdirashid A

5 mars 2022

A

par Daniel A D

23 mars 2017

I

par Nita A

31 janv. 2022

I took this course to see what the current thinking was and get different perspectives from other countries.

I found the course content interesting and relevant. The readings were fairly simple to digest as they consisted mainly of consumer blogs. A great place to start if you're looking for more information as many listed references.

In regards to learning from discussions and assignments, I don't rate the peer review system for this course. I reviewed 8 submissions and there were examples of plagerism in all of them. One was almost enirely copied and pasted. There also tended to be a higher value placed on including stats into assignments despite relevance being poorly correlated. And some sort of grade exchange where other students posted requests for feedback in return for positive feedback. I was of the belief that assignments were allocated randomly but soon came to the realisation that I would never complete the course if I didn't share my assignment links.

The value of the course is in the content which was great! Grades are irrelevant for this course. However, based on the lack of moderation of this aspect, I would not pay for a course from this provider or accept a certificate from an employee as proof of professional development.

par CARLOS R A H

26 avr. 2021

The course was very informative about diabetes as a whole, and involved a lot of people that are very well prepared in the topic. What I didn't like, however, was the fact that lectures were way too long. I think they couldbe shortened into smaller videos. Also, I, as a type 1 diabetic, would like to know more about type one, but this course revolves mostly around type 2.

par Delphine L

15 sept. 2020

Very good introduction to what Diabetes is and how it is becoming a growing issue in the world. Strong focus on the power of healthy diet and exercise to reduce the risk of Diabetes Type 2. Showcased a lot of research and experts in the field and made for a strong impact in raising awareness of the issues and the potential solutions available to all of us.

par Augusto M

15 mai 2018

"Diabetes - the Essential Facts" is a great source of information for those particularly interested in the field. Current research, experts' opinion and global epidemiology discussion (all provided in an interactive fashion, quick pace). Nevertheless, I personally think it was lacking some discussion over clinical points - I am a medical student.

par Maimouna J R

23 juin 2021

I would like to thank all the researchers, professors, doctors and others involved in this course. I would like to thank Coursera for providing me with an opportunity to gain more knowledge on an often neglected major issue "diabetes". I would love to explore and learn more on various subjects.

Thank you once again.

par Alison H

22 nov. 2020

This is a great introductory course for diabetes. I would recommend everyone to take this course. This course taught me a lot more about diabetes than I had previously known. It has really changed my perspective on diabetes and diabetics.

par Zeitel B

4 mars 2021

Very informational , yet at times the speakers were dry and not very interesting to listen too. which sometimes made it extra hard to actually retain the material. Loved that last assignment.

par Maria S

22 févr. 2022

A very interesting presentation of diabetis and developing countries. The course looks at the importance of exercise in controling diabetis, in addition with the nutrition factor.