Chevron Left
Retour à User Research and Design

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour User Research and Design par Université du Minnesota

4.6
295 notes
47 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you will learn and practice techniques of user research and early UI design exploration. First, you will learn and practice several techniques for user research, including in-person research and survey and log-analysis techniques. Then, you will learn to analyze and deliver user research in forms that support UI design, including personas, use cases, tasks, and scenarios. Finally, you will learn and practice ideation techniques that start from user research and broadly generate potential design ideas....

Meilleurs avis

AS

Sep 19, 2017

Great course, thank you! I enjoy the different styles of teaching that each instructor brings to the course. And I hope to make time to do all the assignments to receive the certificate.

BR

Aug 10, 2018

Very nice lectures, but hard and time consuming assignments, so keep that in mind - it will probably take more time than stated. Helped me learn a lot.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 46 Examens pour User Research and Design

par Kris M

Sep 07, 2018

FIRST - I think this could be improved with more quizes and things to break up the video. Some of us struggle to stay conscious and attentive when things aren't interactive. This would be a great help and also a good test of knowledge and understanding. ESPECIALLY please for the love of god put some quizes or questions in to break up vids that are long like 17 mins! (even, i'd say, break up even the 7 min ones. there is no downside to quick questions that test to make sure you are understanding the material)

SECOND - the amount of time estimated for the last assignment is sorely underrated. to do 100 ideas in one hour would mean 30 seconds to type each up, and this excludes the time needed to THINK and come up with new ideas. as an individual this felt impossible. not to mention the time to draft the 5 ideas. i did sketches with notations and a scenario. all told this needs to be 2-8 hours. (i can see where someone could get away with a shorter time due to not fleshing out their scenarios, and in fact the ones I graded were a lot like this.

HOWEVER, at least one of those people also reported it took them DAYS to generate all the ideas. i agree this process is intense, and takes a LOT of time.) my grading of 2 peers took me almost an hour. (again, i could see where a person could shlep by with short responses but i was trying to really evaluate these ideas, offer cons and suggestions around them. i feel this helped my learning process also, as i was treating it like a real world approach (as if i was on a job). i did the same with drafting my 5 ideas/drawings.

par Michael G

Sep 05, 2018

The course from my point of view is missing important information about how and when to use qualitative and quantitative research methods into the project especially the when part

par Chelsea D

Aug 30, 2018

I use these techniques in my day-to-day work and you did a great job summarizing a broad set of topics into a digestible course. Thanks!

par Nicholas W

Jan 03, 2017

Good, a lot about research and collecting data.

par Enas N

Dec 30, 2018

Thank you for your great efforts, for me I'd give it 5 starts if there's more practice rather than theoretical

par Aleksander H

Aug 23, 2018

It is hard for me to rate this one, since there are two sides of this course: there is user observation, ideation and all the "creative" and "human approach" parts, which are actually great. I think that the course could prepare you a little better for the final assignment, but I would still give 5 stars for that part. But there is the "data driven" part... which is terrible. 0 Stars for that. This are just an excerpts, random pages read from some textbook... not even an interesting textbook. No practical knowledge, no assignments, and LITERALLY: ONE example that aims to explain something. Only plus side of that part is, that it is short, and you can concentrate on the second part.

par ALKESH

Dec 06, 2018

Awesome

par Artjoms L

Jan 27, 2019

I like everything, only the thing was challenging invent 100 ideas !

par Sharon E A

Jan 24, 2019

it was very tasking and i improved immensely . I loved it

par Boris R

Aug 10, 2018

Very nice lectures, but hard and time consuming assignments, so keep that in mind - it will probably take more time than stated. Helped me learn a lot.

par Victoria T

Feb 05, 2018

It was great to do some hands-on work with user observation and idea generation in this course. I felt like the work load was fairly heavy, and some projects took me longer than the recommended time, but I also learned a lot about the process.

par Elinor S

Jun 10, 2017

Amazing course. Gets one thinking and starting to talk ideas thru with others.

par Abhilash B D

Sep 21, 2017

Great help and amazing learning!

par Dauda M

Dec 16, 2017

This session gives you the core fundamentals of research and research preparations

par 科学周

Oct 25, 2016

this course is very useful and helpful, and it was made very careful, I would like to recommend it to my friends.

par Ihar M

Nov 12, 2017

Great course.

par Gabriel T

Mar 14, 2017

Very informative and helpful. Thank you for a great course!

par Serhii B

Feb 06, 2017

Nice, expesially the second part of the course.

par Priyal S

Aug 30, 2017

Its an awesome course of the specialization. Right on track.

par vasileios v

Nov 21, 2016

very practical and updated course

par Xu Y

Jul 07, 2017

all the methord are detialed, and the assignments are challengable.

par yashar k s

Nov 29, 2016

Good

par Lucia L

Dec 31, 2016

Important concepts like tasks, walkthrough scenarios, use cases, and personas are very well explained with good examples helping to understand the differences. There were methods like the quantitative analysis and ideation that I have not come across in 15 years of my professional life as a software developer - so there is certainly still a message to be spread. Questions are presented within the videos to make sure you are keeping track. A lot of hints for further reading are given. Great learning material!

There are two minor points I would like to mention although they do in no way make me downrate the course. The part on the quantitative analysis I found a little too shallow and short - but on the other hand, these methods are more common and easily accessable in statistics courses and books. The ideation assignment I found a little hard - to come up with 100 ideas alone, not in a team which the method is designed for. On the other hand, it helped experience that the method works as I could come up with several really different ideas for the given problem.

par Александр Р

Jun 11, 2018

Recommend this course for everyone who wants to dive into research methods, understand when and how to use each of them and know how to transform research data into worth UI requirements.P.S. You will know a 100% workable pattern on how to think up an original, valuable and competitive product idea.

par Vivek S

Jul 23, 2017

I learnt a lot from this course especially from the 100 ideas exercise. Thanks you