Chevron Left
Retour à The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Language of Design: Form and Meaning par California Institute of the Arts

4.6
étoiles
162 évaluations
52 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

Meilleurs avis

JB

May 07, 2020

A very thorough journey toward the very core of visual communication. It gives you the vocabulary and criteria to embark on an effective and objective design critique.

II

Apr 27, 2020

I learnt a lot about form in design and the terminology about visual hierarchy, shape and contrast etc. The course was very helpful.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 54 Avis pour The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

par Kseniia S

Nov 12, 2019

A good course in addition to Graphic Design. There are minor problems with the sound, it is interrupted between phrases and slightly cuts off the beginning of phrases, for a non-native English speaker, this complicates the process of listening.

par Minjeong K

Mar 10, 2020

This is the course I wish I had taken before I pursued a career in design! My education and work has primarily been in designing for (digital / mechanical) functionalities, and I have been wishing to become more articulate in understanding art direction and style. This course taught me how to approach looking at a piece of visual design and how to talk about it. Now that I understand the approaches, I feel more confident moving onto making work that consciously uses specific languages of visual design to convey meaning.

par Miss P

Apr 13, 2020

The only design course that looks at practical real world design, such a WOW course. All the dash dot comma dash design primers never got me anywhere. Thanks so much for this course!

par Michele R

May 05, 2020

This course is easy to follow, very clear, and very elaborated. The teachers are very good and communicates the point clearly and slow enough to understand and digest. Thanks to the nature of the course which is "design", the awesome visual contents showed in the lectures kept me interested all the way and excited to be shown the next art.

This is very recommended for people pf all ages and skills that are interested in design and want to have more vocabulary to communicate to others about a work. I learned so much and hoping to learn more from CalArts.

par Anurag B

Apr 27, 2020

I am a self-learned designer with years of professional experience, but I realized I need more knowledge and practice of articulating various elements of design to be able to work with people better. This course has been of immense help. I think if you are a designer, you will finish it faster but it will take a month of practice with different designs to get fluent with it. Thank you Coursera, Calarts, and professors for making this available.

par Bojan B

May 18, 2020

Whole course is really amazing ! I never had opportunity to learn art on that way and there is not similar course anywhere. It is unique, maybe a little short because it makes us more hungry to learn from mentors. This course is pure gold and I hope that will be more. By the way I will enroll to more CalArts content because CalArts is amazing. Thank you guys. I feel more advanced now as graphic designer.

par Taru B N

May 08, 2020

Thank you, Yasmin and Randy, for your time and expertise in giving us the knowledge for LExicon and how to use the Critique Framework. It has been very knowledgeable and interesting to see how a simple design has secrets hidden. We got the learning of how to use the right framework to understand the image. Thank you once again.

par Raquel R G

May 10, 2020

The provided material is really good. The videos are very useful: specific, short and well explained. Many references and examples of pieces of work are given, which makes it much easier to follow the course. The bibliography is diverse and interesting. I have enjoyed it and learn a lot from it.

par Ojasvee J

Apr 10, 2020

This course helped me to learn the nitty-gritty of visual communication and graphic design. Every week I have learned something new which would surely help me to improve my work. I would definitely recommend this course to everyone who is interested in learning visual communication in-depth.

par Indrakumar

Apr 07, 2020

I like this course because as a graphic designer, I learned a few important subjects and it's will very use full, well designed and explained by our tutors, I will suggest this other also for learning sole of graphic design,

note: thank you for CALARTS & Coursera

par J-Man

Oct 15, 2019

A deeper lok into graphic design which helps create a language for assessing other peoples work as well as your own. The examples used here show range of interesting works and assessing thier elements was both helpful and inspiring.

par Nicholas C

May 25, 2020

As someone who does graphics design as a side job, I really found this course useful. I can better understand and form proper criticism about other works, and explain my own works better to clients with my new jargon.

par Juan R B

May 07, 2020

A very thorough journey toward the very core of visual communication. It gives you the vocabulary and criteria to embark on an effective and objective design critique.

par Irem

Apr 27, 2020

I learnt a lot about form in design and the terminology about visual hierarchy, shape and contrast etc. The course was very helpful.

par Idaura L D

May 18, 2020

O curso é muito bom e aborda os principais aspectos da linguagem para os que estão interessados em começar a conhecer ot ema.

par Shaun V

May 01, 2020

Well presented and structured. The lectures were well put together and flowed well into each other. The lecturers were great.

par Adler A

Apr 16, 2020

This Course is as good as previous I had from CalArts, with short informative videos and tons of practice

par Aaron M A

Apr 28, 2020

Amazing course. It really helps you learn to look at designs and understand them in clearer terms.

par Andrea B

May 15, 2020

This course helped me understand the complexity of design and how to give an objective feedback.

par Siddharth M

Apr 22, 2020

Very well designed course regarding the lexicons and vocabulary used in the design industry.

par Katherine S

Apr 27, 2020

A very smooth and clear course that is making you think instead of just memorizing.

par Salman K B

May 25, 2020

I learned a lot through this MOOC. A very nice course and strongly recommended.

par Ray M S

May 21, 2020

I love it because we learn how to read the design as non-verbal communication.

par Andrés M

Apr 29, 2020

Very good content and clarity. Excellent for anyone who is in graphic design.

par Trupti B

Apr 07, 2020

Crisp and clear course for improving on vocabulary and design critique style.