Chevron Left
Retour à The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Language of Design: Form and Meaning par California Institute of the Arts

4.6
étoiles
417 évaluations
127 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

Meilleurs avis

DD
10 juil. 2020

With this course, I've learned to critique 'design work' in a meaningful framework. The course was informative and clear. The examples and explanations are helpful. Thank you for this course.

JB
6 mai 2020

A very thorough journey toward the very core of visual communication. It gives you the vocabulary and criteria to embark on an effective and objective design critique.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 126 Avis pour The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

par Pankhuri B

19 nov. 2019

The course has been great in terms of content covered and assignment case studies. I liked the faculty Jasmine's tone however the guy was an annoying distraction. I would recommend this course for anyone in touch with graphic design!

par Mary C

6 août 2020

Really enjoyed this course, completed all but one optional exercise and am still awaiting notification that I completed this course. Learning the terminology is especially helpful for my job, which entails critiquing visuals.

par Clémence L

21 mai 2020

The course was really thorough and I learned a lot.

The examples given are of interesting pieces of art (although maybe a bit too complicated sometimes) and the assignments given were of appropriate difficulty.

Thank you !

par In-Ho K

22 sept. 2020

Overall the course is well designed in terms of broad and depth. However. although the course does not have any prerequisite, it is a little bit challenging for the beginner in graphic design.

par Rohan H

28 mars 2020

During this course i learned the language of design and my perspective to see design changed a bit.

mentors also done a good job.the course is interesting and clear.

par Mahika M

1 juil. 2020

It is a good course to build your critiquing skills and be properly able to understand the intention behind certain design decisions, if a bit simplistic.

par Piyathida C

13 mai 2020

I have zero knowledge about design but I want to learn it by myself through this course. Thank you for sharing such an amazing course like this! :)

par Ana B A S

7 juin 2020

This course is great to learn the fundamentals of design's language. It's general enough to learn how to evaluate design and easy to follow.

par Patrick O

4 mai 2020

Bit more theoretical than I thought. I expected more insight on design patterns but still, it was enjoyable and illuminating nonetheless.

par yegrett

5 juil. 2020

I had a wonderful experience while doing this course. got to learn visual designing ideas.

par Vijaya B

23 juin 2020

excellent course,thanks,it help me a lot to improve my communication design work!!

par Abrar P

27 avr. 2020

It's not a starter course. But helped me a lot in understanding Design language.

par Simran

11 juil. 2020

It's good to have this course it will help you learn design in a better way

par Mahmoud A

3 mai 2020

I gained a lot of experience in this training

so, Thank you very much

par Mariam I

6 août 2020

Interesting course. definitely not for the beginners.

par Vaidehi

1 juil. 2020

i enjoyed doing the course. it very interesting.

par Loveleen G

7 mai 2020

good. it will really help me in future

par Seoyun L

7 sept. 2020

The information was useful but the presentation was quite 'read' - you could literally see the instructors reading off a prompter of sorts. This made it difficult to concentrate and not that engaging.

par Ella G

9 mai 2020

Tries so hard to be objective in the very subjective topic of design. Videos are often unbearable to watch.

par Kaylyn

5 juin 2020

It simply was not what I was looking for, and it might be what someone else is looking for.

par Henry Z

25 août 2020

I can tell the teachers are experts in their field.

But the material, the way the content is given, is void. This is two persons reading a text, there is no material here for future quick references or something. It is boring, and slow.

You are better off reading yourself than listening to them.

par hyder a k

21 juin 2020

simple and clean easy and quick shoud be there

par E L

11 août 2020

I finished all the assignments and every quiz on time but the course says it's still in progress... I've been waiting for two weeks to have my certificate but nothing happened.

Please fix this :)

par Dikshita J

28 juil. 2020

I didn't find the course interesting and i was soon bored by the videos. It didn't seem to keep me attentive and even the syllabus is quite great.