Chevron Left
Retour à The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Language of Design: Form and Meaning par California Institute of the Arts

4.6
étoiles
418 évaluations
128 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

Meilleurs avis

DD

Jul 11, 2020

With this course, I've learned to critique 'design work' in a meaningful framework. The course was informative and clear. The examples and explanations are helpful. Thank you for this course.

JB

May 07, 2020

A very thorough journey toward the very core of visual communication. It gives you the vocabulary and criteria to embark on an effective and objective design critique.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 126 Avis pour The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

par Lydia L

Jul 09, 2020

Love this course! Highly recommended!

par Ayisha L

Apr 29, 2020

Great! Enjoyed all the assignments!

par Wint K K M

Oct 02, 2020

I love to learn about this course!

par Tharaka D W

Jun 15, 2020

This is very useful course for me.

par Olimpia P

Jul 30, 2020

Very very good and useful for me

par Dharma P

May 20, 2020

this course is really educated

par piyush b

Jun 22, 2020

It was interesting learning

par Gobi D

Apr 19, 2020

Thanks for the opportunity

par Winston A W

May 08, 2020

Excellent, thank you.

par Phatcharaphan T

May 02, 2020

i love this course

par Mayurakshi C

Sep 20, 2020

Brilliant course.

par Sameh M A

Jul 19, 2020

Excellent course

par Stanzin A

Apr 26, 2020

Really helpful

par MD A R A

Aug 15, 2020

Excellent !!!

par Lobarkhon M

Jul 22, 2020

It was GREAT

par Sahejdeep k

Apr 08, 2020

Very helpful

par Muhamad R S

May 22, 2020

Insightfull

par Naren P

Aug 15, 2020

top notch

par Ravulapalli A S C

Jun 28, 2020

soo good

par Ujjwal S

Jun 02, 2020

Awesome

par Tan Y N

May 18, 2020

Great course, with distilled content and very interesting case studies. I particularly appreciated the instructors' efforts in choosing a range of case studies and going through them in great detail, which helped to put many of the taught concepts into context. However, this course would be more suitable for those with some background in design, instead of complete beginners, as a general knowledge of art styles, visual languages and the nuances of design is still needed to keep up with the assignments.

par Mireya

Jun 10, 2020

This course was a great eye opener as to how I create as an artist. I now have mroe tools. I didn't pay for the course but I worked on each of the lessons with my own prjects to practice. The instructors could have been more engaging, bring the fun that comes with creating. I would have loved to see updated samples as this was filmed a long time ago. The instructors seemed like they were just reading a script. I appreciate the course and will move forward. Thank iYou!

par Karin K

Oct 21, 2020

Overall an excellent course. If I may suggest one improvement... when asking questions about a graphic design work presented inside a module, please ensure that the image is/remains accessible in the reply frame for reference even as a background image. Having to hit the backspace to return to it in order to inspect it and then try to find my place in the video again to answer the question is awkward.

par Jason T F

May 02, 2020

The course provides great insights into developing a focused and informed analysis for reviewing design. As a designer, it generates clarity on how to create good design. As a stakeholder in the design process or consumer of the final output, the course has outlined a critique structure to better understand design work and provide feedback accordingly.

par Vasita J

Jun 01, 2020

This course introduces an insightful aspect into the world of design and critique. It is very clearly structured and broken down into small stages of learning. The in-video quizzes and weekly quizzes are thought provoking and encourage your critical thinking skills, not just merely recalling information from memory.