Chevron Left
Retour à The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Language of Design: Form and Meaning par California Institute of the Arts

4.6
étoiles
417 évaluations
127 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

Meilleurs avis

DD
10 juil. 2020

With this course, I've learned to critique 'design work' in a meaningful framework. The course was informative and clear. The examples and explanations are helpful. Thank you for this course.

JB
6 mai 2020

A very thorough journey toward the very core of visual communication. It gives you the vocabulary and criteria to embark on an effective and objective design critique.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 126 Avis pour The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

par N C

25 mai 2020

As someone who does graphics design as a side job, I really found this course useful. I can better understand and form proper criticism about other works, and explain my own works better to clients with my new jargon.

par Kyla N V

28 mai 2020

The course is a great refresher for designers. While it cannot be considered for beginners, there can still be new insights that can be learned from this course. Truly helpful in giving meaningful critique.

par Abegail B

10 juil. 2020

This was somewhat a difficult course, but it is also very fulfilling to finish this and glean much information that would enhance my design theory instead of relying on gut feelings. Thank you so much.

par doga-tn

11 juil. 2020

With this course, I've learned to critique 'design work' in a meaningful framework. The course was informative and clear. The examples and explanations are helpful. Thank you for this course.

par Fernanda F

23 juin 2020

This is a great course to gain knowledge and vocabulary on the concepts of design, You get to practice the skills learned through the videos, resources and the assignments.

par Juan R B

6 mai 2020

A very thorough journey toward the very core of visual communication. It gives you the vocabulary and criteria to embark on an effective and objective design critique.

par Sofia V

26 août 2020

Besides trying to find some form and meaning in a design of art, the course also teaches to make meaningful connections when you form and express your own thoughts.

par Rishika D

12 août 2020

It was an informative course. I totally recommend it to fellow designing students. its important to earn about lexicons and positive criticism.

par Andrea C R

16 juin 2020

Loved this course. It has helped me so much in communicating my concerns on design. Definitely a must for people in design and publicity.

par Sehresh M

25 juin 2020

I learnt a lot about form in design and the terminology about visual hierarchy, shape and contrast etc. The course was very helpful.

par Irem

27 avr. 2020

I learnt a lot about form in design and the terminology about visual hierarchy, shape and contrast etc. The course was very helpful.

par XIANGYU S

16 sept. 2020

Very good Course! I like all the design in this course so much! Thanks for providing such great lesson for us~! I learnt a lot~!

par Itza A U C

27 juil. 2020

Excellent course, I learned a lot. Is really cool to learn in detail about a design concept, and how to interpret the meaning.

par Idaura L D

18 mai 2020

O curso é muito bom e aborda os principais aspectos da linguagem para os que estão interessados em começar a conhecer ot ema.

par Shaun V

1 mai 2020

Well presented and structured. The lectures were well put together and flowed well into each other. The lecturers were great.

par Mehak M

13 juil. 2020

This course is really a great opportunity to learn something new. Thank you very much coursera and CALARTS University.

par Renata A

3 août 2020

It is fun and as a designer, it help to understand the point of view of the audience in making arts and designs

par Yudi Y S

2 juin 2020

It's really hard but challenging myself to improve my knowledge about language design. This course is great!

par Abram U

2 juin 2020

This course is amazing. I learned so much how to correctly critique design. Thumbs up to the instructors!

par Adler A

16 avr. 2020

This Course is as good as previous I had from CalArts, with short informative videos and tons of practice

par Aaron M A

28 avr. 2020

Amazing course. It really helps you learn to look at designs and understand them in clearer terms.

par Redvers F C

20 août 2020

A great course. But, I can't reset my deadlines for some reason and that means I am disappointed

par Andrea B

15 mai 2020

This course helped me understand the complexity of design and how to give an objective feedback.

par GARAH A

26 août 2020

great course and true explorative course. an exodus to the world of form and meaning in design

par Amanda E

30 juin 2020

learned about poster composition and it has inspired me to use this information in the future!