Chevron Left
Retour à Density Functional Theory

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Density Functional Theory par École polytechnique

4.9
étoiles
49 évaluations
17 avis

À propos du cours

The aim of this course is to give a thorough introduction to Density Functional Theory (DFT). DFT is today the most widely used method to study interacting electrons, and its applicability ranges from atoms to solid systems, from nuclei to quantum fluids. In this course, we introduce the most important concepts underlying DFT, its foundation, and basic ideas. We will in particular stress the features and reasons that lead DFT to become the dominant method for simulating quantum mechanical systems. The course is intended for students and researchers with knowledge of basic quantum mechanics. No experience in simulation or solid-state physics is required. We try to give a concise mathematical background when particular concepts are needed....

Meilleurs avis

NC
27 févr. 2021

Thank you to the instructors for explaining it so well and making it so interesting. i learned a lot.

SD
7 juin 2021

i am simply amazed. looking forward to another course related to the computational calculations.

Filtrer par :

1 - 24 sur 24 Avis pour Density Functional Theory

par Abdul H K

11 févr. 2021

The faculty taught with amazing passion, as if we were sitting in front.

par ARKA P S

6 mars 2021

I would have preferred some lecture notes on LDA as well. Rest of the course was inch perfect

par BARSHA B

21 mai 2021

First things first, the title music of the course was top class! Whoever composed it, has a separate amount of applause dedicated :)

Next, I thoroughly enjoyed the course, especially loved how the instructors were delivering the lectures more in a storytelling way, which, I am sure must have kept many people engaged. I am someone who has been working with DFT for a year now but I do not have a very good theoretical background of it. That's the main reason I wanted to take this course. I hope Ecole Polytechnique comes up with a more advanced version of this course.

par Nikolaos P

7 oct. 2021

An excellent course. The teachers are fantastic. They explain things in depth with simple words. Also, it seems that the whole team there put quite an effort. I have made video/recodrings before and I know is very difficult. Very explanatory and now I believe I have a solid foundation to study related papers and books. One suggestion though, maybe to include more details on the numerical details on solving the Khon-Sham equations. On the expansion on the orbitals if am not wrong.

par Ifeanyichukwu O

24 juin 2021

I enjoyed learning this course. I was exposed to the rigorous mathematics that makes up DFT, the current practical applications and limitations that DFT faces, with a dash of the historical storyline that has brought DFT this far. The instructors keep it as simple as possible, and still teach effectively. I would recommend that one should have at least a low level knowledge of calculus if they do not want to find the mathematics aspect too difficult.

par Deepak S

4 août 2021

It is a very well-prepared course. From getting the interest of students through History and Scientists of DFT to making them solve complex differential equations, this course provides it all. It is a very suitable course for a beginner in DFT.

par David G A

17 mai 2021

Great course. I will recommend it to anyone who wants to learn with rigor the basics of DFT, Kohn-Sham method and its applicability. Very good instructors give fantastic explanations in non trivial topics.

par Bruno M

9 févr. 2021

An interesting and understanding lecture thanks to subtitles, movies, exercises and references. Not easiest at all to deal with theoritical subject, but you success, thank you a lot.

par Nithin K R

9 juil. 2021

Great course. The links provided to papers( whenever details were left out during lectures) were very helpful. The lecture notes were easy to understand.

par Shravan G

17 juil. 2021

Excellent introductory course on DFT for anyone who is about to begin serious study of condensed matter physics and materials.

par Cecilia M S A

23 avr. 2021

The professors are truly good in my opinion!!! First and second week in particular were really great!!

par NIDHI C

28 févr. 2021

Thank you to the instructors for explaining it so well and making it so interesting. i learned a lot.

par SAPTARSHI G D

8 juin 2021

i am simply amazed. looking forward to another course related to the computational calculations.

par Arnab D

6 août 2021

An excellent course to learn DFT, how it emerged and how to apply DFT in real world situations.

par Siwakorn S

7 août 2021

A very informative and well-organized course for a person like me

par Marc A

15 mars 2021

I really enjoyed the course.

Great and very enthusiastic teacher.

par Guna n p

22 avr. 2021

This is very good course for learning DFT from basic to advance.

par Eduardo Z R

6 mai 2021

Goos DFT basis or guide for solids, and a bit for molecules.

par Jaén O

17 août 2021

The bare essentials of DFT are very clearly laid out.

par Christoffel J R

29 juil. 2021

E​xcellent well presented course, thank you so much!

par mohammad o

26 mars 2021

It is a very easy way to learn DFT from very basic

par Disesh

4 juil. 2021

Thankful!!

par Obadero S

14 févr. 2021

This course presented some difficult concept in DFT in a very easy way to grasp

par Bhaghyesh

3 mai 2021

Good introduction to DFT.