Chevron Left
Retour à Dense Gases, Liquids and Solids

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Dense Gases, Liquids and Solids par Université du Colorado à Boulder

4.5
étoiles
106 évaluations
15 avis

À propos du cours

Course 4 of Statistical Thermodynamics addresses dense gases, liquids, and solids. As the density of a gas is increased, intermolecular forces begin to affect behavior. For small departures from ideal gas behavior, known as the dense gas limit, one can estimate the change in properties using the concept of a configuration integral, a modification to the partition function. This leads to the development of equations of state that are expansions in density from the ideal gas limit. Inter molecular potential energy functions are introduced and it is explored how they impact P-V-T behavior. As the density is increased, there is a transition to the liquid state. We explore whether this transition is smooth or abrupt by examining the stability of a thermodynamic system to small perturbations. We then present a brief discussion regarding the determination of the thermodynamic properties of liquids using concept of the radial distribution function (RDF), and how the function relates to thermodynamic properties. Finally, we explore two simple models of crystalline solids....

Meilleurs avis

SS
1 juin 2020

Amazing course for statistical thermodynamics. Learned the origins of specific heat for solids and how they are calculated.

KM
10 avr. 2021

Great course to learn about Dense Gases, Liquids, and Solid. I highly recommend this course.

Filtrer par :

1 - 15 sur 15 Avis pour Dense Gases, Liquids and Solids

par Allan J G V

27 avr. 2020

I learned something, but most of the time it feels like the quizzes do not match the contents that are taught.

par Surya_Narayan

2 juin 2020

Amazing course for statistical thermodynamics. Learned the origins of specific heat for solids and how they are calculated.

par B S H

1 août 2020

The course syllabus is awesome, but the content should be more elaborate. Please mention the units of the answer properly. The discussion prompts should be converted to quizzes for more appropriate certificate provision.

par Kasuntha M

11 avr. 2021

Great course to learn about Dense Gases, Liquids, and Solid. I highly recommend this course.

par Benjamin C C

6 juil. 2020

I loved the course, very practical full of exercises to solve

par Egere W N

22 juil. 2020

It was interesting. Thumbs up to the professor.

par Syed M T

5 août 2020

Very Informative and Professional

par Ahmed I a a a f

7 sept. 2020

very good course

par Agbo J O

4 août 2020

Very exquisite

par Thorpe O B

7 juil. 2020

Nice course

par Odedo N B

4 juil. 2020

Thank You!

par Richard C U

17 juil. 2020

Beautiful

par Sumit M

10 juin 2020

valuable

par Jerwin J E T

20 août 2020

I like the course, it brought back the memories I had when I was taking statistical thermodynamics in undergrad. However, the problems need to be reviewed carefully. It took me a while to complete the course because as far as units are concerned, the correct answer does not match what is asked in the problem. The typographical errors (units, given values, etc.) were probably overlooked by the subject matter expert.

par Anyiam O O

29 août 2020

It is a good course. It teaches you patience and equally to work hard