Chevron Left
Retour à Database Management Essentials

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Database Management Essentials par University of Colorado System

4.6
étoiles
2,046 évaluations
507 avis

À propos du cours

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

Meilleurs avis

AS

Jun 29, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

PG

Dec 29, 2018

This course is having very knowledgeable content. It was having various factors which developed my thinking ability and how to execute the queries. This was absolutely beneficial for me.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 492 Avis pour Database Management Essentials

par Joanna P

Nov 22, 2015

Excellent course!

It was my 1st experience with Coursera and I didn't expect that online learning can be so stimulating and exciting. The biggest advantage of this course is its very practical approach and fact that each week there is assignment. The only disadvantage here is the fact that this course has been more time-consuming that I initially expected it to be hence I had to spend more time on it than estimated 3-6 hours a week. For full-time working person it was not easy to keep up with deadlines, especially the weeks with 2 assignments per week. Nevertheless - truly intensive and interestingly presented. I strongly recommend:)

par Suyash D

Sep 04, 2019

The course offered me an incredible opportunity to re-learn some of the foundations related to Relational Database Management Systems, especially some of the standard SQL commands (CREATE TABLE, INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE & SELECT), guidelines for effective query formulation, Entity Relationship, and Relational Diagrams, and normalization (especially the Boyce-Codd Normal Form)...

Professor Mannino did a fantastic job in explaining the course materials as well as the practice problems and assignment questions did allow me to strengthen and test my skills... The community was also really helpful and kind...

par Onyeabor, P O

Apr 07, 2018

The exposure in this course is mind blowing. The contents are well structured and Michael's delivery is top notch. It gives a good foundation to database management concepts, and builds from there to more advanced topics. I'm very happy I discovered and took this course. There's something about the delivery of this course that keeps luring me back to finish it up whenever I have any outstanding assignment. Thanks Columbia University and Michael for this wonderful course. I'm now more knowledgeable in this aspect and I look forward to the rest of the courses in the specialisation.

par Thibault M

May 07, 2020

Prof. Mannino is brilliant in structuring this course about Database Management Essential.

You really end up with a strong and structured understanding of the essential concepts of relational databases and a bit of practice.

You learn about: table creation, then SQL Queries, then ERDs, then translation of ERDs into tables, and about database normalisation

The concept of Functional Dependency and Normalisation is a tiny bit short in my opinion. At the end of the course, I'm not sure I really understand BCNF Normalisation... That could be improved!

THANK YOU TO PROF. MANNINO!

par Marco A C

Apr 25, 2016

Wonderful course. As an Electronic Engineer, I've always have a lack of Knowledge in Data Base structures. Nowadays, not only software applications but software based hardware solutions depend on this infra structure to warehouse data and information. Moreover, we live today in an Analytic world, deep mining knowledge to make decisions every day. This Course met all expectation I had and I want to get trough specialization track. By the way, professor Mannino is a great mentor and quality of support material (book, slides, assignment, etc.) is totally above the line.

par Florian S

Oct 14, 2019

This is a very well crafted course. The instructor clearly knows the topic and speaks fluently. The course material is easy to follow. The course covers all the essentials for database management. These are really just the essentials. I would have loved to learn and practice more about joins and more complex SQL statements. If you want to get started with database management or need a refresher, this is the course of your choice.

The extra materials (slides) are very helpful and can be understood without watching the videos again.

par Javier B

Feb 12, 2016

This course is very well put together with detailed video lectures, many realistic practice example and extensive problem sets. It requires a lot of work but it can be accomplished quickly if you are dedicated. You can quickly acknowledge the value of the course by the amount of work the professors put into creating this course. If you want a course that gives you are complete introduction and detailed development of Databases and Database Modelling incl. MySQL and Oracle. This is the course for you.

par felix n

Sep 07, 2017

I have taken a few courses on Database concepts and SQL and was never quite satisfied with the theoretical explanations. Professor Mannino does a really good job explaining important concepts like joins and some of the pitfalls to avoid. If you are like me , then you want to listen more than once to each video. His query formulation guidelines are very valuable technique to use when approaching difficult problems. I am not yet done with the course but i feel already it deserves an honest review.

par Muhammad Y H

Jun 14, 2020

Database Management Essentials can be a very helpful course for students who want to learn the basics of database design, entity relationship model, and SQL. This course has sufficient theory related materials and practice problems to not only develop a good understanding but also implementation skills. Michael Mannino has been very good instructor.

Since I have had some knowledge about SQL prior to this course, I expected to gain more than simple SQL related skills from this course.

par Денис А Д

Sep 21, 2017

Extremely usefull cource. As an intern business-analyst I've found it to be very informative, fullfilled with practical and theoretical information, which allowed me to get new skills, higly required because of need to deal with databases. It really helps in my work and gives opportunity to get a full-time permanent job. Thank You very much, professor Mannino, I'm looking forward to learning the other cources of this specialization!

par Danielle B

Jan 09, 2019

This course is very well structured with clear information provided in videos and additional PPT's. The assignments are of the right level: you can only pass them if you really studied the material. I had some practical experience, so it was very nice to get a bit more 'book smart' too.

I am going on with the module in this course!

par fatih s

Jul 18, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. I think the pace of the course was a bit fast but I could catch up with the lecturer because I was mostly familiar with the concepts. In that sense it was a great for revision. I recommend studying hard and solving lots of sample problems for newbies to benefit from the course to the full. Regards.

par Saranya S

May 18, 2020

This course helped me to refresh and further deep dive into the concepts of database management - creation of tables, basic query formulation, ERD notations and its types, how to create an ERD and convert it into logical design. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is interested to explore about the DW concepts

par Thiago V M

Jan 12, 2016

This is a very well planned course. In a few weeks, the student learn a lot of things in a way that he/she consolidates the fundamental knowledge about databases.

Congratulations to the course designers and thanks for the opportunity to learn all the concepts treated here!

Thiago from Brasil. =)

par Paweł W

Sep 15, 2019

The course is about 4,5. It provides candidate with basic understanding of database environment from business perspective. It is more like an introduction presenting how to set up data structure with the use of ERDs and DB diagrams, including first steps into SQL.

par Robert L J

Mar 05, 2016

Professor Michael Mannino presents a very well prepared course that achieves optimal results in a limited time. Given my experience, it was a bit basic for me. Nevertheless, it filled in the gaps in my knowledge and gave me confidence to take it forward.

par Luis A B E

Jul 08, 2018

Excellent course. The contents were well structured, ordered and according to the learning needs. The way to explain the themes by Michael Mannino, is very clear where his experience is remarkable. I am proud to have taken and completed this course.

par Matthew P L

Jan 04, 2017

Instructor teach well and thoroughly. Gives a good foundation for understanding databases, structure, queries, issues and applications, without excessive strain. Useful for understanding effort required at work to make changes and improvements.

par Fernando M

Jul 08, 2016

The content was very well structured, the practices were very appropiate to the concepts that the course is teaching. And the professor is very clear explaining each of the modules, one of the best courses I that have participated . Thanks !

par Laia A

Aug 13, 2016

The course is very well structured and everything is well explained. You learn a lot, but for a person with poor previous knowledge about database systems it requires more time dedication than the the 4-6 hours it says.

par Kira H

Feb 18, 2016

A good introductory course. I would recommend allowing for extra time to get the database software up and functioning so that you aren't crammed for time trying to get it configured and do the assignment in week 2.

par Petrov A Y

Oct 19, 2017

I found this course really useful. All materials follows one another in a logical way, and there isn't any redundancy. I will try other courses in specialization. Thanks to instructor Dr. Maninho and his collegues.

par Muhammad F I S

Sep 15, 2016

This course will be very help for me in my masters track. Since I am doing master in this field so I want to study all the topic in more detail. Furthermore, the course is helpful for me in my career development.

par Jasjit S

May 30, 2016

i will be applying for a bussiness intelligence job within 1 month, and within the first few lessons im feeling very much confident that taking this course is a good step towards my database management career.

par Nelson F

Jan 30, 2020

The course is fantastic. It provides practical skills and the teaches explain very well. The way how the course is organized it's almost inevitable to not acquire the required knowledge in Database Management