Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau par Université de Californie à Davis

4.5
étoiles
5,659 évaluations

À propos du cours

In this first course of this specialization, you will discover what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

HR

1 mai 2017

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.

You may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

DA

24 août 2020

Am glad I learnt a lot from this module, which I know will sharpen my skills for my chosen career path as a data scientist. Am hoping to learn more new skills to improve on my already existing skills.

Filtrer par :

1101 - 1125 sur 1,309 Avis pour Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

par K N K

17 mai 2020

Good

par N P

11 mai 2020

Good

par aparna

29 févr. 2020

good

par Umakanta P

9 déc. 2019

Good

par Vishnu N S

2 mai 2019

good

par Ravinder P S

26 mars 2019

Good

par Shantanu G

7 sept. 2020

...

par PARAS G

9 mai 2018

NA

par Khaire A

31 mai 2018

T

par Kimberly F

13 sept. 2020

Very helpful in getting familiar with Tableau. Great tips from the instructor, and a very straightforward intro to what Tableau can do. Course materials were sometimes carelessly put together, though. References were made to things in the Resources tab that are not actually there. Many of the videos were poorly edited (one repeated a significant section of dialogue), and the written assignment instructions had missing information. For example, the final assignment must be submitted to Twitter with a specific course-related hashtag, but the hashtag was not provided, it was left blank. No big deal, except that the peer graded questions ask if the correct hashtag was used. Speaking of peer grading, it's pretty useless in this course and just asks whether the instructions were followed to the letter, no feedback at all on the actual vizzes. Who cares if the right hashtag was used if the viz makes no sense?

par JASINDER K

22 sept. 2020

The structure and the material of the course were great.

Issues with the course.

1) How the grading is done- Reviewers are providing the points without providing any comments. For instance. if the reviewer has provided zero points to the assignment, there is no way for the student to know what needs to be corrected and there is no constructive feedback provided. This issue limits student ability to learn and grow. This has never been the case when the courseera started.

2) There is no way student can reach out to instructor.

I really like courseera but if this is not improved, then I might have to switch to another learning portal. I feel there is a room for improvement, how the grading is done, and how student can reach out to it's instructor.

Thanks.

par Nicole B

27 sept. 2020

The instructor and the content were great, but there was zero support even when there are supposedly mechanisms to receive it. One of my peer reviewers basically trolled me and outright lied - for example, by saying I didn't use a data set from the official list provided by the instructor - things easily proven to be false assertions. I went through Coursera's "options" for resolution, and surprise! There aren't any for such a situation. I understand how many people take Coursera courses and why that limits the amount of help that can be given, but in that case, I suggest being upfront that there will be no assistance, so that students can decide whether to proceed based on honest information.

par Jessica K

14 mai 2020

This class was informative and certainly covers the basics and principles of tableau and data visualizations, I was disappointed that there were no assignments that actually required us to make a visualization. Felt like I could have learned most of this online myself and not have to wait for other people to grade my homeworks/quizzes. would be much more engaging if we were given data sets to create 2-3 basic visualizations that were graded. I did this on my own but would have appreciated the peer review for that versus random MC Q&A

par Alexander B

18 juin 2019

A little too general and basic. The course could use more guided hands-on examples of creating visualizations with Tableau. Especially in the latter portion, it would be more helpful to actually apply the general principles of visualization to a specific example rather than just discuss them. The few hands-on exercises that are presented would benefit from more specific objectives (e.g., rather than just creating and saving "a visualization", specify a question for students to answer with that visualization.)

par George P

14 nov. 2017

It was an overall good course but I give it an average rating because it had minimal content. In comparison there are other courses in coursera where there is much more work to do, as a chance to learn, much more content available and more interaction with the rest of the students. My best suggestion is to compress the material of this course to a single week to make more sense. This is very important to keep the quality of the coursera courses to a high level. Other than that it was a good experience

par Patrick H

18 juin 2020

Everything was great about this course except the mandatory Twitter part. having to create a social media profile was a point of contention for me because I'm a private person and I had to take a separate class just to figure out how to use Twitter. if it is absolutely necessary then I recommend either that be mentioned up front so students can make an informed decision to enroll or not or that there be a general account on Twitter that every student can use.

par Drew S

10 janv. 2022

Learning material is great but I do have a problem with Courseras marketing tactics. and peer grading.

1. Peer grading, grading cant be changed by a teacher so if your submission is correct and you have idols grading you there is no recourse but to resubmit.

2. They made me post a chart to social media and without that submission I couldn't pass. So I'm paying you to let other people grade me and I'm providing you with free marketing.

par Mark A

13 mars 2018

Tableau is the tool that's used, but this course focuses primarily on the concepts needed to build visualizations. Very little direct application (i.e. opportunity to practice in Tableau). As it's advertised as a Tableau course (it's in the name), I would have preferred more hands on and course directed opportunity to apply lessons (vs. only being lectured on how to do it).

And the guest instructor is not an adept teacher.

par Dennis M

30 juin 2017

I felt the course was too basic and introductory. I think it would be better packed as an intro week to a more in depth data viz or Tableau courses instead of a stand alone course. For someone with absolutely zero knowledge of data viz or Tableau, I'm sure this course will be great, but from anyone with even a little knowledge, it's too simple. However, the instructors are engaging and the material is good for what it is.

par Juliane E

24 févr. 2022

The course itself was good so far, but I don't understand why you need a social media account to pass the course and you need to be able to use hashtags and short links. This definitely has nothing to do with the skills in Tableau. In addition, there are no responses from moderators to posts in the forum. I know that differently from other courses.​...

par Adam K

6 nov. 2016

Good for what it is: a rock-bottom basic introduction. I would have appreciated more technical instruction in how to create complex, involved visualizations and less philosophizing and design ethos. A better name might have been "What is Data Visualization? A Course In Tableau For Non-Professionals" or something like that.

par Foaad I

11 févr. 2021

Peer grading assignments are a headache because some learners do not follow instructions and there is insufficient supervision from the teaching team. I asked questions in the forum about the recordings and how the instructor added additional features between two consecutive videos but no body responded.

par Spencer H

13 mai 2022

Had to wait 4 days before I could move on because of peer graded assignments. Submitted the same assignment 4 times without making any changes and received 4 different scores. Apparently some of my "peers" believed I was not making a tweet correctly and it was very frustrating.

par Oleksii D

20 mars 2019

Data visualization context was useful, as well as interview with Shneiderman and link to his book on user interfaces design, otherwise this would be a 2 star, as the rest of the videos could be used directly from Tableau site.

Do not recommend to anybody familiar with excel.

par Lydia D

20 mars 2018

Good introduction to data viz principles if you are new to that. There are more compelling introductions (i.e., Cole Nussbaumer, Stephanie Evergreen). I was anticipating more step by step walkthroughs of visualization in Tableau.