Chevron Left
Retour à Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos par IBM

4.7
étoiles
1,138 évaluations
177 avis

À propos du cours

This course covers some of the first steps in the development of data visualizations using spreadsheets and dashboards. Begin the process of telling a story with your data by creating the many types of charts that are available in spreadsheets like Excel. Explore the different tools of a spreadsheet, such as the important pivot function and the ability to create dashboards and learn how each one has its own unique property to transform your data. Continue to gain valuable experience by becoming familiar with the popular analytics tool - IBM Cognos Analytics - to create interactive dashboards. By completing this course, you will have a basic understanding of using spreadsheets as a data visualization tool. You will gain the ability to effectively create data visualizations, such as charts or graphs, and will begin to see how they play a key role in communicating your data analysis findings. All of this can be accomplished by learning the basics of data analysis with Excel and IBM Cognos Analytics, without having to write any code. By the end of this course you will be able to describe common dashboarding tools used by a data analyst, design and create a dashboard in a cloud platform, and begin to elevate your confidence level in creating intermediate level data visualizations. Throughout this course you will encounter numerous hands-on labs and a final project. With each lab, gain hands-on experience with creating basic and advanced charts, then continue through the course and begin creating dashboards with spreadsheets and IBM Cognos Analytics. You will then end this course by creating a set of data visualizations with IBM Cognos Analytics and creating an interactive dashboard that can be shared with peers, professional communities or prospective employers. This course does not require any prior data analysis, or computer science experience. All you need to get started is basic computer literacy, high school level math, access to a modern web browser such as Chrome or Firefox, the ability to create a Microsoft account to access Excel for the Web, and a basic understanding of Excel spreadsheets....

Meilleurs avis

AO
9 avr. 2021

As an aspiring data analyst, this course gave me more information about what I am currently doing and after finishing this course I have learned a lot and gave me more interest to learn more.

GF
12 sept. 2021

i was impressed by cognos and in general the way you get into things with this course. i really like the approach methodology. final assignment was very interesting also.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 185 Avis pour Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

par NEGUSSIE G

26 janv. 2021

Very short instruction for a big software like Cognos. I had to help from other teaching platforms to begin to understand even the basics. Could be much better.

par Kyle M

2 févr. 2021

It was great to learn how to use an actual program like Cognos! And I really advanced my Excel skills as well.

par ARPINO E

15 mars 2021

Very interesting and useful for the practice parts

par Evgeniya K

15 févr. 2021

Great hands on labs. I enjoyed and learned a lot.

par boo b

28 févr. 2021

Extremely useful for beginner in data analytics

par Gonzalo R F

20 janv. 2021

Great course and kickstart to amazing tools

par J S S

9 mars 2021

useful course with good content

par Yogi H C

15 mars 2021

Great course for basics

par Rufat S

20 janv. 2021

Great Learning Path !

par Nisakorn C

14 nov. 2020

very practical

par Mindru D

4 janv. 2021

Super course!

par Niroshan G

5 mars 2021

Very Good!

par Paul A

5 févr. 2021

Excellent

par Kasi V

31 oct. 2020

Thanks

par Yo'Av D

24 juin 2021

Good overall, but of much lesser quality than the first two courses in the Data Analyst certification program.

The Cognos bit was sort of rushed, and even though the labs provided guidance for the How-Tos, the Whys and Whats weren't always clear.

As for the Excel portion, the material was important and useful. However, while I understand why the labs are designed for the Web version, I think there should be greater emphasis on teaching how to accomplish the same tasks using the Desktop version too, because it's hard to say in advance what kind of version learners would proceed to work with. On several tasks, I noticed significant differences between Desktop and Web (I use Office 365), and even on the final assignment, I had to divide the work between the the two versions, because not all features were available to me in one (I first created the charts I need the Desktop version for, and then uploaded the workbook to Web to finish the assignment there with the features I could only use there).

Both Cognos and Excel bits should be updated to reflect current terminology and layouts. On multiple occasions, I found myself looking at something that didn't match the instructions, only to realize that feature had been moved or renamed. As for the peer-assessment, please consider it mandatory for reviewers to leave a comment to explain if they dock points - I'm always happy to give full marks where applicable, but I also leave a comment to explain what was missing if I rate it anything less than the maximum (I had a strange experience with someone docking random points off my assignment with no explanation, forcing me to resubmit and wait for a second opinion, only to then receive an almost-perfect score).

par Hans F B

20 déc. 2020

The course provides a good foundation for Excel and Cognos skills. The only problem I encountered was with their support. For half a month, I couldn't access IBM Cognos and other lab instructions and thus couldn't complete the course. The support staff never replied to my concerns. Finally, I figured on my own that, for some reason, my ISP/country was being blocked by the IBM course and that a VPN solved my problem.

par Tanya H

16 févr. 2021

I enjoyed the course but really struggled to create a pdf of my final assignment on Cognos Analytics at the end, which left me feeling hugely frustrated.

par Bhavya M

22 févr. 2021

A very good course to learn and practice basics of data visualization. Only glitch is I was not able to download data files for some exercises.

par Steve C

21 nov. 2020

I think the course should have had more hands-on learning projects, but otherwise good

par Shri H

26 nov. 2020

Good course which covers all basics

par Njabulo L M

25 janv. 2021

very good course

par Suraj G

20 janv. 2021

good course

par Maria S

8 janv. 2021

While I learned how to navigate Excel and Cognos to make elegant visualizations, the videos and activities did not cover why I was completing the steps. The Hands-on activities should be more detailed. I recommend a single sentence for each visualization specifically justifying why the user would want to create each visualization in order to help their analysis.

par Ben E

23 nov. 2020

More labs if possible.

par KING H

15 juin 2021

Improve some instruction are not good enough to understand the assignments If you can provide instructions through video for assignments It might be better kindly check & resolve this issue thanks