Chevron Left
Retour à Data Structures and Design Patterns for Game Developers

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data Structures and Design Patterns for Game Developers par University of Colorado System

4.6
étoiles
91 évaluations
24 avis

À propos du cours

This course is the fourth course in the specialization about learning how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course assumes you have the prerequisite knowledge from the previous three courses in the specialization. You should make sure you have that knowledge, either by taking those previous courses or from personal experience, before tackling this course. The required prerequisite knowledge is listed in the "Who this class is for" section below. Throughout this course you'll build on your foundational C# and Unity knowledge by developing more robust games with better object-oriented designs using various data structures and design patterns. Data structures and design patterns are both general programming and software architecture topics that span all software, not just games. Although we'll discuss these ideas in the game domain, they also apply if you're writing a web app in ASP.NET, building a tool using WinForms, or any other software you decide to build. Module 1: Explore a Dynamic Array data structure and learn the basics of algorithm analysis Module 2: Learn about and use the common Linked List and Graph data structures Module 3: Learn about and use several additional data structures: Stacks, Queues, and Trees Module 4: Learn why design patterns are so useful and discover a number of design patterns useful in game development Module 5: Complete final peer review “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Meilleurs avis

DC
28 juin 2018

Some concepts were really challenging and the course was much more demanding than any other course in the specialization. In any case, it was extremely rewarding to get to the end! Thanks, Dr. T!

AB
23 oct. 2020

Excellent instructor, and I have found his general programming techniques to be quite insightful as I learn more.

Filtrer par :

1 - 24 sur 24 Avis pour Data Structures and Design Patterns for Game Developers

par Ran C

20 déc. 2018

Thanks you sooooooooooo much!!! Like this course !!!Can't found other professor so interesting as you! In Less than one month, I can do sth with AI (fundamental of course haha)and some design patterns! Amazing! (sorry for my English hhh)

par Mostafa Z

28 nov. 2020

I wish I can meet Dr Tim personally and thank him deeply for this specialization. It was a pleasure to go into this journey. I had lots of doubts that I won't make it to the end but now I can't be prouder. This course was so demanding but worth all the effort. The more you put time and effort in solving the exercises and assignments, the more you gain deep knowledge and practice in important topics of programming like object-oriented programming and design patterns.

par Nathaniel M

13 nov. 2020

Hardest course in the specialization in my opinion, but I really enjoyed it and has definitely taught me a lot. The major things that I learned in this was:

-Data Structures such as Trees, Graphs, Stacks, Linked Lists, etc.

-Get a better understanding on how to creating more time-efficient and scalable code

-How to sort arrays, List, etc.

-Basic understanding of interfaces

-Basic A.I decision making by learning how to search through graphs and trees

par Leonel E R H

20 oct. 2020

I have always loved playing videogames and my programming experience was limited to some arduino in high school. I joined this course because I wanted to learn progamming in a way I cannot not be motivated. After this course, I am able not only to create some Unity games in C#, but also some scripts for Google Apps Script (kind of java), and probably in any language, thanks to the great explanations given by Dr. T.

par Tanim J

2 nov. 2020

If you have done the previous 3 courses, definitely don't miss this course. The previous three is more of an introduction to coding and unity, but in this course algorithms and other well established structured are taught, which are not only good for game development, but also very important for any good programmer.

par Marek H

22 juil. 2020

Great course as always! This one goes much more in-depth into software engineering principles, not just for game design but for general use. It's a hard course if you're just encountering these concepts for the first time, but Dr. T is an excellent teacher and the assignments have a lot of help to make them doable.

par Ariya S

26 sept. 2020

A M A Z I N G course and specialization!

This specialization gives me a lot more confidence and experience in c# programming and Unity.

Cannot forget to mention the instructor! Dr.T! His teaching is fascinating and well-paced

par Danilo C

28 juin 2018

Some concepts were really challenging and the course was much more demanding than any other course in the specialization. In any case, it was extremely rewarding to get to the end! Thanks, Dr. T!

par Vicente L

15 juin 2020

The teacher is the best. All courses are SPECTACULAR! very good exercises, quizzes, homework and very good classes explained. is impossible not love to the Dr Tim.

par Adam B

24 oct. 2020

Excellent instructor, and I have found his general programming techniques to be quite insightful as I learn more.

par Johan S

20 nov. 2020

Excellent introduction, everything is well explained and the assignments at the appropriate level

par Zheng L

14 juil. 2018

this course contains well illustrated knowledge of coding with good depth

par Eman A

22 août 2020

I liked this course and learned a lot in it. Thank you :))

par Sergey K

27 sept. 2020

Great! Thank you! It was very interesting and useful!

par Alfonso E S P

3 juil. 2019

Super intense and interesting course

par Gabriel C G

14 juin 2020

Very interesting class!

par Pep S M

20 sept. 2018

Fantastic!

par Omid

28 févr. 2020

This was another great course by Dr.T. Studying design patterns and data structures on you own can be a little tricky so it was a great opportunity to learn about those topics in this course of the specialization. My main problem with this course (and the reason for giving it 4 stars out 5), was the lack of enough exercises. More exercises could really help with grasping the concepts. Also I think theory-based contents can be tested by exams only, so while I appreciate the weekly assignments I think a final exam could help determining if students have properly absorbed the course materials. Cheers.

par Kaushal J

29 oct. 2020

Learnt a lot about data structures. The only thing I would improve on is giving additional instruction on the last assignment. Very good course though.

par Twinkal K R

14 avr. 2019

useful lacture

par Andres G E

8 sept. 2020

This is not the best course in the series. Seriously lower level than the previous series of courses in the specialization. Help is limited, resources are limited and most of the course requires knowledge of previous concepts that are not covered. The code for the projects and exercises poorly indented.

The positives, it is the last course before the capstone project.

par Raivis J

16 mai 2019

Week2 had a particularly vaguely explained assignment, with in my opinion a bit overcomplicated waypoint, graph node and list structures. It boils down to focusing studying a particular algorithm and it's implementation in a specific pre-created game code but not the general concept of the lecture material.

par Ahmed S G

25 sept. 2020

The course contents is great and really advanced, but the assignments need a lot of explanation or another simple way, especially for those who only take that course not the whole specialization.

par Hiroki N

25 févr. 2019

The lecturer's code can induce a bug.