Chevron Left
Retour à Les outils du scientifique des données

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Les outils du scientifique des données par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.5
21,170 notes
4,225 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Points forts
Introductory course
(1056 avis)
Foundational tools
(243 avis)

Meilleurs avis

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AM

Jul 22, 2017

Great Primer for what Data Science is about. It also provides the infrastructure of tools needed. This was what I was after, a way to provide other data scientist hardware and infrastructure support.

Filtrer par :

4051 - 4075 sur 4,095 Examens pour Les outils du scientifique des données

par Rajat J

Mar 14, 2016

Good introductory course. However, an overkill as a separate course (and hence charging $30 for it). Courses 1 and 2 could have been clubbed together.

par Debajyoti N

Aug 13, 2016

This should not be a course. It's just introduction and should be condensed to one video and a handout with pointers to those who need more specific and detailed instructions for setting up their computers. This is not a learning course. All they teach you how to install git, R and Rstudio. And they take money for this (if you want to say you "completed" the course)!!! Highly unethical practice in my opinion.

The surveys are stupid too. They don't distinguish between those who completed (but not earned any credentials) and those who didn't.

In my opinion this is a very dumbed down version of an introduction to a data science course (and not a cours in itself). Definitely not worth 4 weeks!

A much more valuable course is Stanford's "Machine Learning" where you can actually learn something (and don't force you out of evaluation if you don't pay).

par Gary N A

May 09, 2017

Poorly organized. Poorly communicated. No reliable source of assistance with technical problems.

par Parth G

Jan 11, 2016

It's a course which is designed to preview the other courses. It could easily be eliminated

par Seong B P

Jul 14, 2017

nothing special here... the real stuff begins next course...

par Eric L

Oct 07, 2016

this course is very poorly structured.

par Ian H

Apr 12, 2018

Terribly run waste of money! Better off going to Data Camp!

par Chun-Fu W

Apr 11, 2016

The course does not warrant the price, it has way too little information. Very dissatisfied.

par Andrew P

Feb 09, 2016

I'm

par wonjae k

Feb 20, 2016

I think there are only few contents.

par Joao P P

May 12, 2016

Some interesting concepts, but way to simplistic in my opinion. Only reason I see to pay for it is the fact that it is a requirement in the Data Science Specialization

par Miroslaw M

Oct 28, 2016

I have absolutely no idea how could this become a separate course - and one spread over 4 weeks. It is extremely basic, extremely general and extremely high level. It should be compressed to 1-2 hours and added as an _optional prerequisite_ to other courses in this specialization. I personally feel cheated out of my 29 USD.

0.1 star.

par Ryan P T

Aug 21, 2016

$40 is way too much to spend just to learn how to install a couple pieces of software and sign up for a GitHub account. The entire course should have been the first week of the following course.

par Chaobin Y

May 08, 2017

too little materials. can finish in two nights

par Neil S

Jan 08, 2017

Very basic and boring

par Joonas S

Nov 14, 2016

Too compact and short. Should be integrated to other courses.

par SHENGNAN Y

Nov 13, 2017

I missed the entire course deadline just because I stuck in one of week 4 projects - pushing a file into GitHub. When I went to the forum, there are so many people in the same situation. The main reason is that the week 4 video did not cover the project content well. Overall, compared to other programming courses I took on Coursera, this course is not well organized at all! Instructors basically just read words in slides, no interesting examples and no hands-on practices, especially week 4 slides that look like a syntax reference document. So the entire instruction is very boring, making me wonder why I need to sit here and listen to word reading rather than buying a textbook. Also, people coming here to learn it are new learners. When the instruction skipped much and made the content not logical and complete, it is very difficult for us to understand what the video is talking about. That's why in forum there are so many people expressing their confusions. This entire specialization is the one that I've taken and feel the worst (I got lost in the R course too). I strongly recommend the instructors of this course watch and learn how the instructor of the specialization "Python for Everyone" organizes and teaches the content. He makes programming become very interesting and easy to understand. He also provides many hand-on practices to help learners understand abstract concepts. Unfortunately this specialization instruction is just about reading words in the boring slides.....

par Daniel H

Jun 08, 2017

No value as a stand alone course, as completing it provided no more knowledge, skills, or attitudes than, say a 15 minute Ted Talk would. May help prepare me for other courses in the Data Scientist Specialization, but it's difficult to say until I complete those courses. I may come back and change this review after completing other courses in the specialization.

par Marcelo S

Dec 09, 2017

This course is more of an overview of what is to come. A lot of what is presented here could just be in the format of a word or PDF with a series of links.

par Deleted A

Aug 21, 2017

I had a very bad experience with this whole course set-up. Especially the peer-grading, you have no insight on why they assigned this score to you - nothing.. ..especially when you know you did your course work correctly.. i will never come back to coursera.. waste of money !!!

par Marcelo X d N

Dec 25, 2017

Eu achei o site desorganizado, não sei se concluí ou não o curso. Não sei se executei todas as tarefas ou não. Decepcionante

par Corey H

Jun 26, 2016

In my opinion, most of this information should be free and available as a pre-req. for other classes (installing R Studio).

It was cheap, but in general, I thought I was going to be more out of this course than I did.

par Justine H

Apr 05, 2016

Not useful at all if it's audited.

par Warren

Feb 09, 2016

Not Free

par Francisco S

Mar 28, 2016

Not worth the price. Extremely basic stuff spread very thin over too much time just to be able to charge for it.