Chevron Left
Retour à Les outils du scientifique des données

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Les outils du scientifique des données par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.5
20,955 notes
4,187 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Points forts
Introductory course
(1056 avis)
Foundational tools
(243 avis)

Meilleurs avis

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AM

Jul 22, 2017

Great Primer for what Data Science is about. It also provides the infrastructure of tools needed. This was what I was after, a way to provide other data scientist hardware and infrastructure support.

Filtrer par :

4001 - 4025 sur 4,060 Examens pour Les outils du scientifique des données

par Seong B P

Jul 14, 2017

nothing special here... the real stuff begins next course...

par Francisco S

Mar 28, 2016

Not worth the price. Extremely basic stuff spread very thin over too much time just to be able to charge for it.

par Abdelrahman A

May 16, 2017

Very bad course so far. Very little detail and Assignments are very hard to solve. Worst $500 dollars spent in my life, and the course isn't worth even $10!

I'm an online instructor myself and the quality of the course isn't worth its price!

par Justine H

Apr 05, 2016

Not useful at all if it's audited.

par unteachable

May 17, 2016

By far to expansive for what you get. Anyway, thanks for the hint about swirl.

par alazarek

May 12, 2016

Quizzes were based off of extremely high level overview videos not covering anything specifically or deep diving into anything. When applying the git commands covered, numerous errors arose. Overwhelmingly academic course with very little hands on. This is not for anyone actually looking to work in this field, but for someone looking to be able to talk about this field.

par Andrew C

Sep 21, 2016

$38 is a lot to pay for tutorials about how to install software. This course takes only 20 minutes to complete. It is also obsessed with command line interfaces. There's a reason that they were left behind in the 80s. It does cover GUI software like Rstudio, which is ignored for the rest of the course. How about something on the desktop Github version? https://desktop.github.com/ So much easier to use.

par Emmett M

Jun 25, 2016

They charge you to take a class that explains how to install a few programs. If you go to the program's websites, there is directions to install it anyway, so this was completely unnecessary. Waste of money. This class should give you some early training on R before throwing it at you in the next course without enough training.

par pavani

Oct 17, 2016

very bad

par Pietro B

Jan 26, 2017

I have no idea why you called it course, since there was nothing inside.

par Anirban C

Jun 03, 2017

Worthless course. There should have been no need for this course and the fact that they charge money for this is disappointing. This module could have been easily merged with the next module (R- Programming). Just a few pages with instructions on how to install the required softwares and repositories would have sufficed.

par SHENGNAN Y

Nov 13, 2017

I missed the entire course deadline just because I stuck in one of week 4 projects - pushing a file into GitHub. When I went to the forum, there are so many people in the same situation. The main reason is that the week 4 video did not cover the project content well. Overall, compared to other programming courses I took on Coursera, this course is not well organized at all! Instructors basically just read words in slides, no interesting examples and no hands-on practices, especially week 4 slides that look like a syntax reference document. So the entire instruction is very boring, making me wonder why I need to sit here and listen to word reading rather than buying a textbook. Also, people coming here to learn it are new learners. When the instruction skipped much and made the content not logical and complete, it is very difficult for us to understand what the video is talking about. That's why in forum there are so many people expressing their confusions. This entire specialization is the one that I've taken and feel the worst (I got lost in the R course too). I strongly recommend the instructors of this course watch and learn how the instructor of the specialization "Python for Everyone" organizes and teaches the content. He makes programming become very interesting and easy to understand. He also provides many hand-on practices to help learners understand abstract concepts. Unfortunately this specialization instruction is just about reading words in the boring slides.....

par Marcelo X d N

Dec 25, 2017

Eu achei o site desorganizado, não sei se concluí ou não o curso. Não sei se executei todas as tarefas ou não. Decepcionante

par Jonas L

Mar 20, 2016

Certainly not worth paying for this course, only talks about how to install the tools.

Not able to take quizzes when you try to take the course for free.

par Aayush L

Sep 20, 2016

Is this a real course for a data scientist just installing shit and a peer reviewing for that screenshot and forking all repos ...very bad not worth to be with rest course in specialization

par sameer

Jun 07, 2016

waste of time. except for git and github ,nothing much is in it.

par Chris M

Feb 13, 2016

Not really enough content to be a course in it's own right, should be additional material as is useful, but definitely not a requirement.

par Louise S

Mar 01, 2017

A simple list of programs that needed to be installed would cover 90% of the course content. Some of this content is also repeated in other courses in the sequence. If you have any technical skills this entire course is extremely tedious.

par Andrey A

Mar 10, 2016

This course must be a part of another courseres.

par Julio C C G V

May 22, 2016

The course is not updated.

par pengwei

Apr 20, 2017

annoying

par Attila T

Jan 24, 2016

It is really basic course, I expected much more even if this is offered only for $29.. (the cheapest course in the specialisation)

par Pablo A

Feb 15, 2016

Too basic content.

I have not learned anything with this course (installing R and RStudio should not be part of exercises or lectures).

I hope R programming course will be better

par Rajat J

Mar 14, 2016

Good introductory course. However, an overkill as a separate course (and hence charging $30 for it). Courses 1 and 2 could have been clubbed together.

par Debajyoti N

Aug 13, 2016

This should not be a course. It's just introduction and should be condensed to one video and a handout with pointers to those who need more specific and detailed instructions for setting up their computers. This is not a learning course. All they teach you how to install git, R and Rstudio. And they take money for this (if you want to say you "completed" the course)!!! Highly unethical practice in my opinion.

The surveys are stupid too. They don't distinguish between those who completed (but not earned any credentials) and those who didn't.

In my opinion this is a very dumbed down version of an introduction to a data science course (and not a cours in itself). Definitely not worth 4 weeks!

A much more valuable course is Stanford's "Machine Learning" where you can actually learn something (and don't force you out of evaluation if you don't pay).