Chevron Left
Retour à Les outils du scientifique des données

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Les outils du scientifique des données par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.6
étoiles
28,688 évaluations
6,069 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Points forts
Foundational tools
(243 avis)
Introductory course
(1056 avis)

Meilleurs avis

SF

Apr 15, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 5,946 Avis pour Les outils du scientifique des données

par Md. A

Jul 08, 2020

It is irritating to hear computerized voice and also reading the files. as this is interactive learning place i do not want to read. Also I might read books reading Data Science Rather than listening your computerized voice or your lecture. So i suggest, for improving learning experience, lectures should be classified in two categories. Dynamic lectures should be tought by Human.

par Jeff

May 09, 2020

I appreciate the thought process behind the automation, but there's no way I'm sitting through that monotonous robot voice. I can just get a textbook and read it cover to cover for that sort of education, and I greatly prefer that over listening to that droning voice.

par Самойленко К В

Jan 08, 2019

A lot of common information, no real examples. may be OK os introdaction, but for scilled student useless. Bunch of very short videos — I'd prefer to see it as a text tutorial

par Steve B

Jun 06, 2018

There is imply not much substance here. Everything here can honestly be integrated into other courses or offered as a free overview course of what data science is.

par Marcelo S

Dec 09, 2017

This course is more of an overview of what is to come. A lot of what is presented here could just be in the format of a word or PDF with a series of links.

par Howie Z

Mar 30, 2020

It does nothing better than just a PDF file... I would appreciate if they actually provide a PDF file, so everything is integrated and no loading time.

par Anh T N

Jul 24, 2020

Very basic stuff and very dull, monotone computer-synthesized voice. The quizzes are also so easy you may as well not take them.

par Rebecca S

May 13, 2020

Having an instructor narrate is extremely important in a course. The robot that is narrating makes the videos unwatchable.

par Ivan Y

Oct 26, 2017

The course contains almost no valuable information. It is not required to spend 4 weeks for it.

par maryam A

Aug 21, 2019

It is unbelievable how one can learn with this boring automatic course. I can not stand it!

par Mohammad A N I

Jan 08, 2020

I do not like the voice in this course . I will can not continue the course .

par Ian H

Apr 12, 2018

Terribly run waste of money! Better off going to Data Camp!

par Kishan S

May 06, 2018

It was useless for me; as i have used R studio previously

par eduardo

Oct 04, 2018

Low quality, I didn't learn anything really.

par Steve Z J

Jun 28, 2019

Bad course. All videos are machined read.

par Lia L

Feb 19, 2019

I really don't like the automated videos.

par George K B

Aug 05, 2018

A lot of information without practice

par jonathan s

Mar 16, 2018

Seemed pretty useless to me

par Francisco J O D

Aug 09, 2020

I'm a web developer who is interested in a career in the Data field. That means I know version control and I have more than basic computer knowledge.

I read 1 star reviews' and found people saying lots of things, for example:

1) "Having a course that teaches you how to install programs is very basic and lazy"

The Data Science field sounds challenging to me. Even though I know how to install programs, this easy approach makes the course seems achievable for me. I'm thankful for this, because I guarantee this course will suit people with different academic backgrounds and since it's not really complicated or difficult, it is in fact a very welcoming introduction for a field that might scare people.

Even though I thought this course was going to dig deeper into Data Science topics, the title of the course states it clearly: Data Scientist's Tool Box.

2) "The robotic voice is so boring and distracting I couldn't finish the course"

It wasn't for me. In fact, it was better. I found it less distracting than watching a human being talking.

Also, I think the way they explained why they make the course videos this way is genius. It makes you want to learn Data Science, which I think is one of the most important things a teacher should do: get you excited about the subject.

This course is intended to be completed in 4 week, I finished it in a week.

I do think it's a good starting point and I didn't find it "too basic" at all.

Give it a try if you've never been a tech dude or dudette.

par Normand D

Dec 02, 2015

I would like to report some major issues with the new interface.

1) We don't have access to the slides anymore. This is a major issues since some of the slides content important links. These links are not shown in the transcript (I've double checked).

2) When we try to download the videos, subtitles or transcript, the resulting file name is the same for all content of the same type. More specifically, all videos are named "index.mp4", all subtitle files are named "subtitles.vtt" and all transcript files are named "subtitle.txt". This makes it more difficult for the student to save the files. In the previous version I would only right-click and saved in the right directory. Now, I have to right click, type the right name (which could be long sometimes) and then save the file.

3) In the previous interface, it was possible to see all the threads we were subscribed to. It is no more the case. It is not a problem right now, because there is not a lot of posts, but in cases where the number of post increase, it will be a pain to go through the list of threads and find the ones of interest.

Please ignore the review for now, I couldn't submit my comments without reviewing the course.

More comments may follow later...

par Isheunoziva

Apr 05, 2020

This is a recommended course for anyone serious with data science. It is highly accessible, especially for screen-reader users who may be comfortable taking lectures using text rather than videos. I was able to successfully complete assignments on my own without problems. However, the only setback I see with the course is its over-reliance on RStudio. While Rstudio is a great IDE for R programming, it is not yet fully accessible. So questions like, "Which quadrant is at the bottom right corner" are answered as a guess-work rather than full knowledge. I suggest that command-line options be considered as this is accessible for everyone. Thus, while the GUI option is left intact, there is need to also provide command-line alternative to accomplishing the same thing. Otherwise, this course is perhaps the best when it comes to introducing the concepts on data science.

par Chandra P

Mar 01, 2018

The Professor's are just amazing in their knowledge. The slow bits of information and the way testing is done is so methodical and so well planned. If anybody says they are bored then I am sure they are bluffing, as I found out how enjoyable online learning can me. I am 40, working and a father of 2 children, time is scarce and this online way of learning with financial aid, I could not ask for anything more. Coursera is helping people like me find a hope of learning at their own pace, place and with their financial aid program helping poor people from developing countries like India see the light at the end of the tunnel. I really am indebted to Coursera for changing my life and helping me dream of a career transition even at this age, as in India if you tell anyone that you are studying at the age of 40, they would laugh and make fun of you.

par Ramalakshmanan S P

Feb 23, 2016

I have completed the Data Scientist's Toolbox. I enjoyed learning this course. I learned a lot of new concepts, installation of R, R Studio, hands-on with these and GITHUB.

The lessons are well balanced and help me learn the concepts and the tool usage in a cool way. I liked the Quizzes, Assignments as these help me evaluate myself and instill confidence within me. Now, I've the confidence in work on any of these with certain amount of instructions.

However, I feel that certain guidance on progressing further with respect to R, RStudio, GITHUB could be provided as additional study material.

Thanks to Coursera for providing such a wonderful course and to Prof. Roger D. Peng, Jeff Leek and Brian D. Caffo for their meticulous effort in designing this course and helping in my learning.

Wishing my Professors and Coursera all the Success.

par Miguel C

Mar 10, 2020

The course is really well organised and challenging.

It gives a good introduction to data science, as well as some currently relevant concepts related to it, such as machine learning and big data. I found it easy to understand and I enjoyed the pacing. Moreover, I really appreciated the time this course spends on teaching some of the basic tools that are needed in data analysis, namely R (and RStudio, R Markdown) and Github.

You are constantly challenged by small quizzes to make sure you really understood the material. They're not too complicated that you would get frustrated, but also not too obvious that you'd be bored by them, and more often than not you even learn other things from these quizzes.

I definitely learned a lot and would recommend it!

par Carlos M

Jul 15, 2016

It's a good first step into getting the right programs, learning key vocabulary, and interacting with important websites/programs at a very introductory level.

If you are not from a math/statistics background you can still complete the course but you will not understand the previews for later courses completely, that is ok! But consider getting the eBook with this course.

My only complaint is the quizzes, it often feels impossible to get a 5/5 based on only what you get from the lectures, there's always 1 question that is completely over the top compared to the other 4, but you can do the quizzes 3 times every 8 hours and just trial and error the 1 gotcha question on each quiz.