Chevron Left
Retour à Les outils du scientifique des données

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Les outils du scientifique des données par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.6
étoiles
32,997 évaluations
7,048 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Points forts
Foundational tools

(243 avis)

Introductory course

(1056 avis)

Meilleurs avis

SF

14 avr. 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR

7 sept. 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filtrer par :

6851 - 6875 sur 6,947 Avis pour Les outils du scientifique des données

par Michael Y

16 avr. 2018

Git should be introduced more slowly, over multiple courses. I cannot possibly absorb all the command line instructions that were mentioned in the class. There are just too many.

Please PLEASE *PLEASE* spread out the course content on Git over 3 or 4 courses, so we can practice it as we submit assignments. I forsee numerous wasted hours fiddling with Git Bash trying to make it work, not knowing what mistake I'm making.

par Henry J

8 juil. 2021

T​his is the last John Hopkins course i will take. The automated voice is very distracting and frankly out of date with newer applications that are more realistic. Taking this approach they have lost the connection with the audience and it appears to me that they are focussed on themselves and not customer centric.

T​he advantages of recoreded classes seems to have escaped the people who developed this format.

par Andrew C

20 sept. 2016

$38 is a lot to pay for tutorials about how to install software. This course takes only 20 minutes to complete. It is also obsessed with command line interfaces. There's a reason that they were left behind in the 80s. It does cover GUI software like Rstudio, which is ignored for the rest of the course. How about something on the desktop Github version? https://desktop.github.com/ So much easier to use.

par alazarek

12 mai 2016

Quizzes were based off of extremely high level overview videos not covering anything specifically or deep diving into anything. When applying the git commands covered, numerous errors arose. Overwhelmingly academic course with very little hands on. This is not for anyone actually looking to work in this field, but for someone looking to be able to talk about this field.

par Dan H

8 juin 2017

No value as a stand alone course, as completing it provided no more knowledge, skills, or attitudes than, say a 15 minute Ted Talk would. May help prepare me for other courses in the Data Scientist Specialization, but it's difficult to say until I complete those courses. I may come back and change this review after completing other courses in the specialization.

par Wanemi E

20 févr. 2020

While it's amazing to save costs and resources by creating automated voice-overs, it would be helpful if commands on the screen match what is being said. It was quite challenging going back and forth between lecture videos and lecture notes to copy and paste commands. I find it time-consuming, and I hope this problem can be rectified for future classes.

par Miroslaw M

28 oct. 2016

I have absolutely no idea how could this become a separate course - and one spread over 4 weeks. It is extremely basic, extremely general and extremely high level. It should be compressed to 1-2 hours and added as an _optional prerequisite_ to other courses in this specialization. I personally feel cheated out of my 29 USD.

0.1 star.

par Emmett M

25 juin 2016

They charge you to take a class that explains how to install a few programs. If you go to the program's websites, there is directions to install it anyway, so this was completely unnecessary. Waste of money. This class should give you some early training on R before throwing it at you in the next course without enough training.

par Krista C

17 oct. 2020

The videos aren't videos, they are really boring slide shows. On top of that, the computer voice is really monotonous. it just keeps going and going. This approach to teaching has been a large disappointment for me. So in short this class is dull, tedious, and repetitious, and all-around lacking in variety and interest.

par Anirban C

3 juin 2017

Worthless course. There should have been no need for this course and the fact that they charge money for this is disappointing. This module could have been easily merged with the next module (R- Programming). Just a few pages with instructions on how to install the required softwares and repositories would have sufficed.

par Hsiang-Yu Y

25 mai 2017

I don't have comment on the data scientist's toolbox. However, the payment mechanism of coursera is terribly designed.

I was continually paying the course without pre notice. The worse thing is, the coursera doesn't return the money after I cancel. At the same time, they don't allow me to enter the class. Really terrible.

par Dimosthenis S

13 mai 2016

This course was a loss of time and money. Except from week 3 material, the rest can be found on the internet and should be required by everyone who wants to take that specialization. This course doesn't worth it, it's just to take extra money from anyone who wants to learn about Data Science.

par Deleted A

21 août 2017

I had a very bad experience with this whole course set-up. Especially the peer-grading, you have no insight on why they assigned this score to you - nothing.. ..especially when you know you did your course work correctly.. i will never come back to coursera.. waste of money !!!

par Jorge G B T

10 juil. 2016

Complete waste of time. This should be a course on its own, and much less be charged for. This should have been the 1st week of an actual class. This only dealt with installing a couple of software tools. Hopefully the following courses will teach something worthwhile.

par Hugo G G

30 mai 2021

The content might be good, but the machine voice in the videos makes the information unbearable to be absorbed, I was unable to complete it. I want to improve my knowledge about Data Science but I will try with another provider. I won't recommend this course.

par Abdelrahman A

16 mai 2017

Very bad course so far. Very little detail and Assignments are very hard to solve. Worst $500 dollars spent in my life, and the course isn't worth even $10!

I'm an online instructor myself and the quality of the course isn't worth its price!

par L. S

1 mars 2017

A simple list of programs that needed to be installed would cover 90% of the course content. Some of this content is also repeated in other courses in the sequence. If you have any technical skills this entire course is extremely tedious.

par Corey H

26 juin 2016

In my opinion, most of this information should be free and available as a pre-req. for other classes (installing R Studio).

It was cheap, but in general, I thought I was going to be more out of this course than I did.

par Damo A

15 juin 2021

it is confusing to move to next level. Next link is inactive , even after completing the submission, but waiting to complete peer review. But there is no peer review to complete, locking me from forward.

par YOGESH R

16 sept. 2020

Students generally move towards online course to hear a human explaining them those concepts. This new technique may be time saving for you but it was really annoying and unexpected (almost everything )

par Ryan P T

20 août 2016

$40 is way too much to spend just to learn how to install a couple pieces of software and sign up for a GitHub account. The entire course should have been the first week of the following course.

par Aayush L

20 sept. 2016

Is this a real course for a data scientist just installing shit and a peer reviewing for that screenshot and forking all repos ...very bad not worth to be with rest course in specialization

par Diana K

20 mai 2019

Good time of day! This course is great! But I can't finish it as I missed deadlines and can't switch session!!! I missed 1 month already because of this bug:(

It's so frustrating...

par Sebastian S C

10 avr. 2020

Me inscribí en el curso y solicité una ayuda económica porqué supuestamente se dictaba en castellano. Pero esto no es cierto y no puedo avanzar. Por eso mi calificación en baja.

par Uyen N

25 janv. 2022

​I can't believe all the videos are Google narrated, the voice is monotonous, and all of the videos are like 10-20 minutes long, how am I supposed to focus listening to that??