Chevron Left
Retour à Les outils du scientifique des données

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Les outils du scientifique des données par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.6
étoiles
29,981 évaluations
6,392 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Points forts
Foundational tools
(243 avis)
Introductory course
(1056 avis)

Meilleurs avis

SF
14 avr. 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
7 sept. 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filtrer par :

6001 - 6025 sur 6,250 Avis pour Les outils du scientifique des données

par Congcong Z

16 janv. 2020

too simple

par Hugh H

28 févr. 2019

very basic

par Allison W

27 mars 2018

Yawwwwnnn.

par Atul K

31 janv. 2018

Motivating

par Paulina B

17 juil. 2017

Very basic

par JUNYI L

12 juin 2017

very basic

par Xin T

23 juil. 2019

Quit easy

par Diqing F

8 mai 2017

Too easy.

par Harsh V S

27 mars 2017

too basic

par Le C V

22 avr. 2020

Thanks !

par Ilija P

26 juin 2017

To easy.

par Justin z

13 avr. 2017

too easy

par Hernán S

29 févr. 2016

Too easy

par Umesh K P

1 juin 2020

nice

par Meenakshi D

18 déc. 2019

good

par Kevin C

14 juil. 2016

good

par Haciyev M

31 août 2020

ok

par José A G R

10 janv. 2017

ok

par Mauro C V

3 juil. 2020

I

par John M

11 janv. 2016

B

par Todd H

15 juil. 2018

I am simultaneously doing a course here and one on Udacity. In comparison, this course is much less enjoyable and efficient. There are several reasons for this 1) you never see a person present the material in the videos, it is just pictures of slides. This makes it feel less personal and enjoyable. 2) The lessons are relatively long and there are not opportunities to practice in between. Udacity, for example, has short 1-2 minute videos for each concept and then ungraded practice quizzes, which make it very clear what you are supposed to learn without feeling like you failed if you make mistakes. This saves you time so you don't have to go back into a 15 minute video to hunt for an answer to something. 3) The quizzes here test a lot of minutae. They are not always focused on the main points from the lecture. This can be frustrating because you may feel like you need to spend an unreasonable amount of time looking for answers to small points or get frustrated and feel like you are failing. That does not really make sense for an overview course. 4) The instructor often rambles or has side remarks. He sometimes forgets to give the proper background information for beginners. Takeaways or action points are not always clear. 5) This course feels unnecessarily long for what it is supposed to accomplish. It could be a list of programs to download and a very short summary of things you will learn in upcoming courses. Instead, you spend hours on this and feel like you walk away with no new technical skills.

par Chloe B

29 août 2016

The course is fine, however its more an introduction than a course. The course in itself doesn't teach much, should have been the first week of subsequent courses. I went through all 4 weeks in 1 week, the whole course is mostly about downloading different tools and signing up for accounts.

What I didn't like is that the teachers seem to be really concerned about their reputation and workload. Its repeated several times that you shouldn't email the teachers with questions and that online questions should be of a certain standard, its understandable but its a bit patronizing. I think teachers should be available for questions, even if its only through the forum (which they are) Its understandable that there are a lot of students so direct emails might overwhelm but that's just part of the job, we pay for the course, we should also get support when its not working for us.

Overall I wouldn't advise taking this course if you aren't taking it as part of the specialization.

par Shawn L

18 févr. 2016

I think this course could have been done in two 30 minute videos. It jumps in with overviews but contain some high level items you won't understand until later in the course and it really doesn't give enough context to be meaningful at the time. It almost seems like it was thrown together without a clear mission of what should be in the introduction. Being a developer who has used some of the tools in this toolbox (Git, GitHub, Command Line) this intro really glosses over tools that most non developers won't understand. If I had a say in what should be in this intro it would be one video end to end of setting up the tools. The second video would be all about the history and logic and some of the applications we will be exploring without all the r formulas in the slides.

par Florence C

8 nov. 2018

I wonder if most of students who took this course would have expected to keep installing software, one after one, and seems never end. For the whole week course, there is nothing related to the course. The worst part is that once I got into trouble to get a software work, I got stuck. I spent hours and hours to search for a solution on the web. However, most of the answers are too technical for me to understand. Although I understand that data scientists have to use some computer programs to assist them to the work done, I don't think that, as a novice, at this stage I need anything like GitHub or git to help me learn the subject. Moreover, I'm not sure if I would be taking another data science course yet.

par Cándido O M

2 oct. 2017

Too basic material. I had to watch everything x2 faster to keep my attention. This course is just an overview of the topics that will be explained in the next courses, which could be much shorter in just one lesson or just avoid it. It is only useful to have R and RStudio installed and to introduce you to GitHub if you do not already know it.

I think it would be an improvement if you made the videos longer in order not to repeat yourself. Because sometimes you are constantly reintroducing a topic and never getting to explain much of it.

I hope that the rest of the courses be more direct and easier to keep my attention on, because I really what to learn about this subject!

Thank you