Chevron Left
Retour à Les outils du scientifique des données

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Les outils du scientifique des données par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.5
21,179 notes
4,227 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Points forts
Foundational tools
(243 avis)
Introductory course
(1056 avis)

Meilleurs avis

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

Filtrer par :

4051 - 4075 sur 4,100 Examens pour Les outils du scientifique des données

par SHENGNAN Y

Nov 13, 2017

I missed the entire course deadline just because I stuck in one of week 4 projects - pushing a file into GitHub. When I went to the forum, there are so many people in the same situation. The main reason is that the week 4 video did not cover the project content well. Overall, compared to other programming courses I took on Coursera, this course is not well organized at all! Instructors basically just read words in slides, no interesting examples and no hands-on practices, especially week 4 slides that look like a syntax reference document. So the entire instruction is very boring, making me wonder why I need to sit here and listen to word reading rather than buying a textbook. Also, people coming here to learn it are new learners. When the instruction skipped much and made the content not logical and complete, it is very difficult for us to understand what the video is talking about. That's why in forum there are so many people expressing their confusions. This entire specialization is the one that I've taken and feel the worst (I got lost in the R course too). I strongly recommend the instructors of this course watch and learn how the instructor of the specialization "Python for Everyone" organizes and teaches the content. He makes programming become very interesting and easy to understand. He also provides many hand-on practices to help learners understand abstract concepts. Unfortunately this specialization instruction is just about reading words in the boring slides.....

par Marcelo X d N

Dec 25, 2017

Eu achei o site desorganizado, não sei se concluí ou não o curso. Não sei se executei todas as tarefas ou não. Decepcionante

par Jonas L

Mar 20, 2016

Certainly not worth paying for this course, only talks about how to install the tools.

Not able to take quizzes when you try to take the course for free.

par Aayush L

Sep 20, 2016

Is this a real course for a data scientist just installing shit and a peer reviewing for that screenshot and forking all repos ...very bad not worth to be with rest course in specialization

par sameer

Jun 07, 2016

waste of time. except for git and github ,nothing much is in it.

par Chris M

Feb 13, 2016

Not really enough content to be a course in it's own right, should be additional material as is useful, but definitely not a requirement.

par Louise S

Mar 01, 2017

A simple list of programs that needed to be installed would cover 90% of the course content. Some of this content is also repeated in other courses in the sequence. If you have any technical skills this entire course is extremely tedious.

par Andrey A

Mar 10, 2016

This course must be a part of another courseres.

par Julio C C G V

May 22, 2016

The course is not updated.

par pengwei

Apr 20, 2017

annoying

par Attila T

Jan 24, 2016

It is really basic course, I expected much more even if this is offered only for $29.. (the cheapest course in the specialisation)

par Pablo A

Feb 15, 2016

Too basic content.

I have not learned anything with this course (installing R and RStudio should not be part of exercises or lectures).

I hope R programming course will be better

par Rajat J

Mar 14, 2016

Good introductory course. However, an overkill as a separate course (and hence charging $30 for it). Courses 1 and 2 could have been clubbed together.

par Debajyoti N

Aug 13, 2016

This should not be a course. It's just introduction and should be condensed to one video and a handout with pointers to those who need more specific and detailed instructions for setting up their computers. This is not a learning course. All they teach you how to install git, R and Rstudio. And they take money for this (if you want to say you "completed" the course)!!! Highly unethical practice in my opinion.

The surveys are stupid too. They don't distinguish between those who completed (but not earned any credentials) and those who didn't.

In my opinion this is a very dumbed down version of an introduction to a data science course (and not a cours in itself). Definitely not worth 4 weeks!

A much more valuable course is Stanford's "Machine Learning" where you can actually learn something (and don't force you out of evaluation if you don't pay).

par Antonio S

May 06, 2016

Too expensive for what you get :(

par Eric L

Oct 07, 2016

this course is very poorly structured.

par Ryan P T

Aug 21, 2016

$40 is way too much to spend just to learn how to install a couple pieces of software and sign up for a GitHub account. The entire course should have been the first week of the following course.

par Neil S

Jan 08, 2017

Very basic and boring

par Chaobin Y

May 08, 2017

too little materials. can finish in two nights

par Miroslaw M

Oct 28, 2016

I have absolutely no idea how could this become a separate course - and one spread over 4 weeks. It is extremely basic, extremely general and extremely high level. It should be compressed to 1-2 hours and added as an _optional prerequisite_ to other courses in this specialization. I personally feel cheated out of my 29 USD.

0.1 star.

par Joonas S

Nov 14, 2016

Too compact and short. Should be integrated to other courses.

par jonathan s

Mar 16, 2018

Seemed pretty useless to me

par Michael Y

Apr 16, 2018

Git should be introduced more slowly, over multiple courses. I cannot possibly absorb all the command line instructions that were mentioned in the class. There are just too many.

Please PLEASE *PLEASE* spread out the course content on Git over 3 or 4 courses, so we can practice it as we submit assignments. I forsee numerous wasted hours fiddling with Git Bash trying to make it work, not knowing what mistake I'm making.

par Jorge G B T

Jul 10, 2016

Complete waste of time. This should be a course on its own, and much less be charged for. This should have been the 1st week of an actual class. This only dealt with installing a couple of software tools. Hopefully the following courses will teach something worthwhile.

par Andre P

May 03, 2016

most part of this course is a duplicate of the "R programming" course.

microphone/sound of the teacher quality is very bad.

not original, boring, dividing this in "4 weeks" is too ridiculously long, this should be done in 1 week to enable users to take more time for the "R programming".

this course should be free. don't lose too much time on it, it's doable in a day or a weekend and move on to "R programming".

asking for so much money to see how to install R and github is a shame.

feels like this course has been added just to have a round number for the specialization.

even the survey in the end asking for feedback starts with a question not adapted to moment it's been asked "did you get a certificate?" of course i did not as i've just finish the course and now wait for my peers to review my final submission.