Chevron Left
Retour à Modernizing Data Lakes and Data Warehouses with Google Cloud

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Modernizing Data Lakes and Data Warehouses with Google Cloud par Google Cloud

4.7
étoiles
2,661 évaluations

À propos du cours

The two key components of any data pipeline are data lakes and warehouses. This course highlights use-cases for each type of storage and dives into the available data lake and warehouse solutions on Google Cloud in technical detail. Also, this course describes the role of a data engineer, the benefits of a successful data pipeline to business operations, and examines why data engineering should be done in a cloud environment. This is the first course of the Data Engineering on Google Cloud series. After completing this course, enroll in the Building Batch Data Pipelines on Google Cloud course....

Meilleurs avis

AA

14 févr. 2020

Good introduction and overview of the field of data engineering, data lakes and modern data warehouses and a hands-on walkthrough of all the technologies related to solving these problems on GCP.

LG

25 avr. 2022

This is an excellent course to understand about Data Lakes and Data Warehouses, and how to implement them with GCP. It takes you from zero to a level where you can move confidently in GCP.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 330 Avis pour Modernizing Data Lakes and Data Warehouses with Google Cloud

par Konstantin B

15 janv. 2020

Key concepts like data lake, warehouse, or ETL/ELT/EL need to be explained more precisely and in stand-alone modules. Many modules/videos repeat some information on previous topics and add some new information on that topic which gives insight and is valuable but this information is not present in the video about the specific topic. This makes it more difficult to get a good foundation of the key concepts. The labs need to be more interactive and show a more diverse set of scenarios for the given concept at hand. The demos are too unorganised, the view of the GCP interface is too small to see what is going on. The demos should probably be labs instead.

par Bragaru A

9 févr. 2020

The course offers a nice description of what modern DWH means, which are the differences between classic DWH and cloud DWH. You have the chance to work with the new cloud concept on GCP.

par Jaap K

6 avr. 2021

Demo's are presented by persons that click and scroll and click and scroll while mumbling along. Really worthless. Transcriptions below video's are full of misspellings and buggy sentences. A 'data lake' is called a 'data leg', 'disk writes' are called 'disk rights' and many, many more. Check for yourself and have a good laugh, or a cry is your career depends on this kind of rubbish. PROOF that Coursera doesn't care a fig for your learning. They never checked there product before publishing. Probably trusted Google ML/AI.

par Morgan S

12 sept. 2020

The course is not engaging. I watched "big-picture" videos. I don't need to discuss the theory of GCP. I enrolled in the course to get my hands dirty. The labs are not exercises; they are recipes to be blindly followed. I suspect my retention to be limited due to the course. The pro - GCP is a great tool!

par Ajjay

11 mai 2020

Very detailed explanation on Data Lake and Data Ware house and use cases. Concepts of the Data types such as STRUCT and ARRAYS are explained very well and beneficial in Data modeling.

par Tarun T

18 févr. 2020

Simply Extraordinary !! The way course took made me finish entire course with a continuous flow.Kudos to course faculty.

par Yuri M

8 sept. 2020

1 punto

Case studies in this course are intended to develop the skill of defining the solution while analyzing the circumstance. This is a key test-taking and job skill.

Practice Exam Questions help develop the skill of being aware of how certain you are of an answer. This is not only a test-taking skill and a job skill, but also helps you understand where you may want to study more to prepare.

This course provided an exhaustive list of basic principles and concepts and tested you repeatedly on your ability to remember them.

This course introduced "touchstone" concepts that are based on many fundamental concepts. If you don't feel confident about a "touchstone" concept, it is an indicator that you might want to study the underlying concepts and technologies.

2.

par Tawanda E

15 janv. 2020

Great course that is organised in a way that makes the concepts easy to understand. Clustering is still a little confusing in terms of how it actual works behind the scenes, but how implement it and the value it adds in making quires efficient is crystal clear.

par Humberto R

17 mai 2020

Without a doubt the best course, I have learned a lot not only from GCP but from many aspects of cloud computing and the skills necessary for a data engineer. Thank you very much for the opportunity.

par Ahmad A

15 févr. 2020

Good introduction and overview of the field of data engineering, data lakes and modern data warehouses and a hands-on walkthrough of all the technologies related to solving these problems on GCP.

par Adam S

25 oct. 2021

Lectures are much too fast. Lecturers are talking very indistinctly and subtitles are incorrect in those places. Additionally majority videos are just recording of someone talking without any visual helps - slides are not very useful. I gave 2 stars, because some labs were pretty cool to do.

par Nami K

1 sept. 2021

Limited timing on labs stresses you out and doesn't let you discover enough about various functionalities. Some links are outdated ( data engineering course folder under Evan Jones' Github does not exist on Github but shown in his video)

par Lucy P

23 mai 2020

Week 1 was great, however, the videos for week 2 were really hard to follow. It could be because of the way it was read off of the prompter. I really struggled staying focus.

par Ketaki D

6 janv. 2021

Video quality and content could be improved. Videos (especially for week 2) felt very monotonous.

par Chubareva M

18 juin 2020

I am not able to do the labs because of some qwiklabs bugs

par Bo

13 févr. 2020

Too easy...

par Tim W

25 janv. 2021

Paid for this course and received certificate, but now I am no longer paying the monthly subscription can no longer access course materials. What a complete waste of money.

Coursera has no real support system that I can see to raise this with, appears to be largely community of FAQ based. Seems they have turned it into a cash making cow with as little support as possible.

par Singhi K

9 déc. 2020

Big Query part was very clear and how to leverage it for data warehousing. While using Cloud Storage for Data Lake was at a high level. Currently Data Lake often have many laters and unless latency is a big issues data is curated and transformed into enterprise layers in a data lake itself. A more realistic use case of data lake that has already multiple layers of ETL would have helped.

par ARVIND K S

26 juin 2020

Highly recommended course for any data engineer. In addition to an introduction to data engineering, this course builds an awareness on data warehousing and goes about it in an extremely user-friendly way by demonstrating the whole thing on the GCP. Of course, programming in sql should be learnt through a dedicated course on the subject, as this course provides the required code.

par Jose L M

11 déc. 2020

Really useful, here you learn how to properly use BigQuery, and how to calculate and monitor pricing of its usage.

It's highly recommended having a solid foundation of SQL and database basic design before deep diving into BigQuery.

The Labs were pretty instructive and detailed, I will repeat the course for sure to practice and further interiorize what I've learn.

par Aniruddha S

16 mai 2020

Topics are very informative and helpful. The only thing I felt is lab time for the bigquery lab where i had to practice struc, arrays etc. was too short. I understand there are several attempts, but it could have been better to get 30mins more in a single attempt as it completes the flow and helps to understand it completely.

par Miguel F A S C

11 nov. 2020

A diferencia el curso anterior, este trae más ejemplos de como utilizar las herramientas, te da más idea de como podrás poner en práctica lo que estás aprendiendo. A que orientarte una vez terminado el curso, para poder usar los conocimientos o seguir con el siguiente curso.

par Iman R

21 mai 2020

In my opinion the explanation is very good. It's suite for a beginner and there also some explanation into the deeper topics, that included with a resource if you are interested. So I think this course is a good learning resource for beginner or advanced

par Durgesh V

26 avr. 2020

Got a good exposure to google big query and how it can be utilized for building data lake and and data warehouse.The explanation for EL ,ELT and ETL is enough for understanding data tranformtion.

Overall good course for data engineering.:)

par Abah F O

25 nov. 2020

Brilliant course! This course simplified a lot of concepts I was previously struggling with. All the demos and labs are so straightforward and easy to understand. The course instructors are wonderful! I'm so glad I signed up!