Chevron Left
Retour à Big Data, Genes, and Medicine

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Big Data, Genes, and Medicine par Université d'État de New York

4.2
étoiles
165 évaluations
52 avis

À propos du cours

This course distills for you expert knowledge and skills mastered by professionals in Health Big Data Science and Bioinformatics. You will learn exciting facts about the human body biology and chemistry, genetics, and medicine that will be intertwined with the science of Big Data and skills to harness the avalanche of data openly available at your fingertips and which we are just starting to make sense of. We’ll investigate the different steps required to master Big Data analytics on real datasets, including Next Generation Sequencing data, in a healthcare and biological context, from preparing data for analysis to completing the analysis, interpreting the results, visualizing them, and sharing the results. Needless to say, when you master these high-demand skills, you will be well positioned to apply for or move to positions in biomedical data analytics and bioinformatics. No matter what your skill levels are in biomedical or technical areas, you will gain highly valuable new or sharpened skills that will make you stand-out as a professional and want to dive even deeper in biomedical Big Data. It is my hope that this course will spark your interest in the vast possibilities offered by publicly available Big Data to better understand, prevent, and treat diseases....

Meilleurs avis

MA

May 10, 2019

Really enjoying the way she is teaching. Very easy to learn and practice. I strongly believe when I will complete the course I will gain a remarkable skill on Big Data, Genes, and Medicine.

MP

May 24, 2020

A very informative course . I learn so many things from this course and this course has very good coverage in data and its analysis. thank you so much for providing this course

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 50 Avis pour Big Data, Genes, and Medicine

par sijia X

Jan 23, 2019

课件内容很有用,逻辑分明,解答也清楚

par subiaa a y a

Oct 24, 2019

powerful course

par Miguel W

Nov 03, 2019

Great!!!

par Jakub M

Jan 24, 2018

I do like how in depth this was so that you can get a real taste of how some of this analysis is performed as well as the fundamentals behind it. Balancing all of the biology, informatics, statistics to an audience where you don't know everyone's backgrounds is very challenging but I think this course does a fairly good job of it. I do wish some of the answers were updated, as when you go through some of the analysis using the public tools they may have changed because certain answers I got were very slightly off (1-3) and I had thought it was my fault at first until I checked the forums, so that was annoying at worst. I liked all of the cbio portal lessons and the quizzes where we had to go into the code and change some numbers. The work in the jupyter notebooks felt overwhelming sometimes so I wish I all the codes were slightly more thoroughly explained, but otherwise a satisfying course.

par Siddiquee

May 29, 2020

Its a amazing course. Excellent learning materials. A great thanks to the instructor ma'am. But some content need to be updated as well as quiz answer. Jupyter Notebook is very helping to me to work. cBioPortal is excellent to learn about many things related to cancer.But its content is changing as well as some data. Update these and surely it will be the best course with no doubt in coursera regarding to this topics.

par Lesley P J W

May 04, 2020

Good information and training course for the beginner. However the content of the course should be updated constantly. For example, one of the functions like "network" as mentioned in cbioportal is no longer available since 2019. And the alternative way for that function should be provided and taught as well.

par Meher B

Oct 24, 2016

The course was fairly good and covered different topics about big data applied to genes. The resources and the course content were useful, to get a good understanding about the field.

The assignments weren't as good as I anticipated, I would have preferred more hands-on work.

par Yang L

Mar 17, 2019

The lessons are quite good, although I already got some preliminaries on bioinformatics and big data analysis. The usage of website cbioportal is quite helpful for us to obtain useful genetics information and its relation with different types of cancer

par jaime P

Apr 21, 2020

Muy buen curso introductorio, incluye un uso muy sencillo de programación con R, lo cual está muy bien para centrarse en aprender los algoritmos de análisis pero no para aprender R.

par Vasco S O L C

Aug 28, 2018

Apart form minor issues in the assessments, I really enjoyed this course as it was presented clearly and concise by professor Isabelle Bichindaritz

par Sanjan D

Dec 23, 2019

Great range of content covered! Some videos on cBioPortal are best updated since the website has changed!

par Antonenko E

Jun 16, 2018

I feel like I wanted to have practice with the material that was covered in the lecture

par KAVITHA G M

May 24, 2020

The course was good to know about bioinformatics and how this can be used. Thank You

par Peter S

Jan 04, 2017

A great introduction to the topic. It will leave you wanting to learn more.

par Luis P d C H

Oct 07, 2017

Excellent course for an introduction to Big data and bioscience.

par Justin M

May 06, 2020

The course is a nice overview of the field, but very VERY superficial in depth. Also, it's quite annoying to have so many quizzes and questions that are outdated and virtually un-answerable due to changes in the external website services referenced in the exams. Overall, it was a reasonable course and I was able to power through it in a couple days. Probably not work taking unless you're already familiar with Data Science and just looking for a brief overview.

par Yafremau N

Nov 25, 2019

In my opinion it is a good intermediate level course that explains basics of genomics and transcriptomics Big Data analysis. The only issues with this course are concerning unupdated question list which does not correlate with cBio-Portal data or it's new framework, quite easy R tasks, would have like to see more intricate objectives and questions.

par Carlos A

Mar 17, 2020

Is a good introduction for some subjects, but the practices on the data processing and the R use is merely plane.

par Pranali S D

Sep 30, 2018

I happy with the technical content of the course however there are numerous technical glitches .

par Mike B

May 09, 2019

Lots of errors within the course made for irritating troubleshooting

par Ernesto P

Sep 28, 2017

Good material but it needs practice exercises

par pietra

Jul 12, 2017

The course is boring and very difficult to follow because of the language accent of the teacher and the dept of the content.

par Marcos P

Mar 07, 2017

Difficult to understand due to her very strong accent and poor audio, meaning I spend 90% of my effort trying to make out what she's saying. As it turns out, all she does is read from the slides! no additional insight, nothing. This makes it boring to hear and she comes across with no personality (although a quick rate-my-professors search tells us a very different story, a real shame since people seem to really like her). At any rate after one week of this course and not seeing any improvement, I've decided to call it quits.

par Andyk

Mar 19, 2017

Poorly organized course. The lectures seemed to jump around from one point to another. In some cases, way too much detail; in others, not nearly enough.

The subtitles have so many errors that they are virtually useless.

par Emir H S

Dec 21, 2019

sorry but i cant understand the professor. my ears are bleeding